Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Nicholas Orthodox Christian School

Private | PK-9

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Tarpon Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2012

The school is now closed. I guess the posts by actual parents below spoke the real story. Hopefully, something possitive can come from all of this now and a "real" school with a real principle and board can be put in place. Otherwise, the building will make a nice flea market or office complex.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

I was a student recently at St. Nicholas. I am so glad my parents are not sending me back to this school. I was an A student there, but now I have tested behind in math and science at my new school. I did not enjoy one second of this school. I can't wait to go to a real school where the students are treated with kindness instead of screaming lunatics for teachers and administrators. Also, too many secrets in the school among staff about what really is going on with the heads of the school. The teachers live in fear. Not a very Christian attitude.


Posted June 30, 2011

If you love your child, keep them far away from this pathetic excuse for a school. What a complete nightmare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My children attended this school and as soon as we figured out the truth about what was really going on with the "owners", we pulled them out. They allowed one teacher to bully our child into a nervous wreck everyday. There are some good teachers at this school, but everything else about this school is a joke. Read the papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

We have been a family attending St. Nicholas Orthodox Christian School for the past 4 years. During that time I have watched my children grow academically at an amazing rate. My son is now in a public high school because St. Nicholas doesn t go to High, and he hasn t been challenged yet! My daughter (whom is at St. Nicholas) has been advanced into the next grade level in many of her academic areas! I am also ecstatic that my children have been taught to not only respect others, but to respect themselves (something that is not taught in public schools). Children are definitely priority #1. We love St. Nicholas!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

This school is GREAT! My son went to previous private schools and they do not even compare to the experience of the teachers here. My son was failing terrible and becoming withdrawn. I put him in this school and they have worked wonders with him. He has approved so much in his studies and so much more self esteem in one school year, then in two years of the other schools. Thank you so much St. Nicholas for approving my son, you have been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Our daughter has attended this school since it opened in 2003. She is an SLD/LD student. When she graduated last year she had done amazingly well. She is now attending the St. Nicholas SLD/LD for high school students, a new program at St. Nicholas, it is great. This school is dedicated to children, the children's needs and best interest come first. They have gotten fine results on the Stanford 10, ranking in the 90th percentile of all Public, Private and Parocial Schools in the Nation. Three of their most recent graduate are in the IBP programs in Pinellas and Pasco Counties. The enviornment is clean and safe. They are back to basics. Their program is accented by small class sizes. There faculty is highly qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Saint Nicholas School is a great traditional school. My three children attended it. They learned many good things, but most importantly they learned all the basics subjects very well. They excelled in reading, writing, and math very quickly. Even today as they attned public high school, they still remembr their days at the school fondly, and they still reap the benefits of all the things they learned at Saint Nicholas School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Keystone Road
Tarpon Springs, FL 34688
Phone: (727) 942-0580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Solid Rock Community School
Tarpon Springs, FL


Solid Rock Virtual School
Tarpon Springs, FL


All Sts. Christian School
Tarpon Springs, FL



East Lake High School
Tarpon Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT