Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tarpon Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 637 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

My children have both loved this school and the teachers. The classrooms are very spacious and everything is new and up to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I have three children and one is now in middle school while the other two are still at TSES. This is an awesome school. The teachers and staff are caring and wonderful. More parents should become involved in this school by joining the PTA or SAC. Remember it takes a village to raise a child. I would not think of any other school I would want to send my children. The music department is out of this world. The concerts the children put on is wonderful. The children have created great works of art from the art department. There are monthly meetings to bring families together to learn how to help their children with school work and also a time to have fun. TSES is a great school. Come in and see!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Our experience with Tarpon Springs Elementary has been exemplary so far. Meeting the teachers for the new school year on Friday... and will post an update later.


Posted February 1, 2012

My daughter has been coming here for two years now and I just love this school. The teachers really do care about the kids and take the time to answer any questions you have. Don't let the low grade rating for the school fool you. They have a lot of rentals around here and people come and go out of the area. So that affects it. The techniques they have for every little thing is great - good or bad. The teachers work with the kids that need extra enrichment as well as those that need the extra help. They do it in a way that none of the other kids knows what is really going on. I also like the fact they have P.E. classes out side everyday (except during bad weather of course). Just can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

all three of my children (one of which is still attending) have gone to this school and I have only great things to say, first i would like to state that I have gone through the transission from old to new school with my kids and have witnessed the great toll this took on the teachers as they were not aloud to take anything old with them and return with their old teaching material when they returned to brand new building, this had to have been difficult as they will most times take from their own pocket to provide some of this. My oldest child is now in college and was able to do this through early college program based on his academics being so high, and i credit some of this to his education at this school as well as TSMS & TSHS, so as for some reviews, giving such bad reviews , please keep in mind that there are many reasons that probably havent been revealed , probably more personal.. so keep an open mind and hopefully you will come out with your own positive outlook.. GREAT SCHOOL, GREAT TEACHERS, GREAT STAFF!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

My child attended TSES and it was by far the worst school I have ever seen. The class room was out of control and the teacher was inexperienced and unable to maintain proper control of the class. My child was bullied by other children and when she went to the teacher for help the teacher did nothing to solve the problem. I would not recommend this school to anyone! I do not like to be negative but I use this web site to find out information about schools and I wish I had known in advance how bad this school was before I wasted a year of my child s education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Tarpon Elementary is a family and is there for all students! The teachers are loving and kind. The administration is warm and fair. I am very proud to be a teacher, parent, and volunteer at TSES. I have been at other schools and no other compares!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Tarpon Springs Elementary is a wonderful school with a supportive teaching staff that genuinely care about their students. Principle Pappas is a warm and approachable leader that has her schools best interests at heart always! Our PTA and SAC are staffed by parents and teachers that are always up for volunteering for the good of our school. Our school is already an award winner in so many catagories, only fitting that it recieves this money to continue to do what it does best; expand the imagination and feed the thirst for knowledge of it's students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The teachers are very gentle and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I volunteer with reading there and am impressed with the administration and teachers.


Posted June 8, 2009

Tarpon Springs Elementary has a great staff and a great group of students. I had a student teaching experience there and I was greatly impressed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2009

Very upset with the teaching and attitude at this school. They seem seem to not care about the parents input at all...very disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

We have a new school, a beautifull and last tecnology for our children , Music, Art, Library, even PE, everything is espectacular. We want to work for de A+ this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Wow! State-of-the-Art is right! This school is spectacular! The teachers are excited and the kids will be in awe!! Classrooms are equiped to attract the learner. And, the Music and Art Room have it all ! Beyond impressive !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

TSES is a wonderful school with a dedicated staff. The teachers are top notch and you can always tell they truly care about their students. The best school in the county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I rate this school the highest there is. The teachers are wonderful and the office staff is very caring. The school handles all issues the care and are very quick to solve any issues. This school overall is a great one for your child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I just entered my two children in TSES this year and could not be happier. The special needs team is second to none at this school and every teacher I have met so far has been impressive. This is THE school to enroll your child if you want to be an involved parent and obtain a top notch education for your child. Dorothy Famiano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

My son has attended Tarpon Springs Elementary for the past three years and have successfully completed each grade with wonderful support from the school. The entire staff works very hard to see your child succeed and as a result your child's self-esteem blossoms. My only fear in this school is the safety of the building. This school is an obviously open campus and is accessible at all times. I hope the school system invests in our community, so the children as well as the parents feel safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

I love TSES! The teachers and staff are wondferful. My children love school and are learning in a safe, loving environment. The PTA is fabulous and you are always welcomed to the school with open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

Great School.. wish more were like this in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 25%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%60%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. LAKISHA S FALANA
Fax number
  • (727) 943-5580

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Pine Street
Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 943-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



All Sts. Christian School
Tarpon Springs, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT