Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Lake High School

Public | PK, 9 | 2170 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

I moved from South Florida thinking the schools the would be better in this area. My child did not perform well in class. I had counselor meetings requesting help so that I can be better informed on the assignments my child must do. I was told that in High schools teachers are not really required to help in such ways but suggested that I put my child on daily report which did not helped because they wouldn't write what is due on the following day only what was not submitted. The parent portal was no help either. Parents should be able to see all upcoming and submitted assignments on line or email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

My daughter is enjoying her first year getting A's & B's which, I contribute to the teaching methods. If the curriculum that goes back to eternity(and it does) is not taught in an interesting way than the students won't stay engaged. Let's face it, new curriculum needs to enter our schools with more focus on everyday life skills& new technologies.More companies need to engage our students at the high school level and not wait until college. By than, we lost the interests of too many kids! I hope they can hold my daughters' interest for an additional 3 more years! I believe four years of high school is a waste of time, used as a holding place to keep them occupied,out of trouble until the last generation retires! If we didn't, our society would have a lot more trouble makers on our hands! It's sad when you think of how much of that OLD Curriculum is not even utilized anymore! Remember the old saying: A Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Waste, well we need to stop wasting theirs! If my daughter graduates from East Lake High then they did their job. Their graduation rate is one of the best! God bless those hard working teachers and staff for keeping them occupied & engaged! Kathleen K
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Both of my children are in the Engineering program. The opportunities that they are offered through East Lake are some of the best I could have asked for. Their teachers are mostly passionate about what they are teaching and very knowledgable. They are there for the success of the student and the success of the school. Their athletics department has some of the highest GPA's in the state. The students seem to have pride in their school. There is an issue with drugs but honestly that is the way that it is in most high schools. I am proud that my kids go there and am proud to wear the East Lake garb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

Simply awesome school!!!, one of the best schools my son has ever had! I purely recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

The only thing I like about the school Is that Its In a rich area. Alot of students do drugs here, So I'm switching on to Palm Harbor University High School, It'll actually get you Into a good college. Eastlake High School will not get you Into a good college unless if your in all honors and AP classes. If your In regaular or msap classes you will NOT get accepted in a good college, trust me. I hate the teachers they could careless if your failing. Oh and i absolutley hate the people that attend here because you know everyone smokes,does weed, and all that stupid stuff. I hate drugs. So on & on talking about Eastlake High School the students are ediots,you won't get accepted into a good college, also the teachers don't care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2010

I attended East Lake high school all four years and loved it. Like any school it does have it's down falls, although they are at a bare min. I believe that it depends on the student and what opportunities they decide to take. As a student I was very involved taking in all the opportunities possible, although i watched other students disregard the many programs they have to offer. Most of the students have a lot of money. This did cause some problems with drugs. Instead of bullying the biggest concern was keeping the students drug free. Overall I would have to say that besides all of the statistics, it boils down to the student. they decide their friends, classes and involvement. The school is just there for guidance.


Posted March 22, 2009

I attend this school now and if your looking for a good school that would help you get into a good college this is no better then any other high school. The only way it would benefit you is if you in engineering or all honors and AP classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

I love this school! It is absolutely amazing! With so many programs and available credits that will help me succeed in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2007

Excellent school. Highly recommend it. The principle (Principal Snare) is tremendous and untiring in his efforts to stimulate the students towards excellent behavior and future goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

strong program, caring parents, involved staff, sports programs are top notch. relatively new facilities make it a shining star in pinellas county
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2006

Very good if in honors or advanced placement classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Well, I'm a freshman at East Lake and I must say, East Lake is a good school. I'm not saying it's amazing or totally whoops Clearwater, Countryside, Tarpon Springs, and other schools' butts but to me it just seems average. I know on August 22 '05 we're (students) going to take a new test called the Kaplan (not too sure about spelling here) Test. SUPPOSEDLY it's better than FCAT and we get our results back (students get to see and that includes teachers). We are also supposed to take this exam 3 times of the school year. The classes are awesome. I mean that by the way the teachers literally teach. They really get into the schoolwork and homework! Yes, the Honors classes are a bit heavy on the homework but you're the cream of the coup there to begin with. There's no parental involvement that I've noticed yet...that's it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

502 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 11%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 94%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%60%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARMELA C HALEY
Fax number
  • (727) 942-5441

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Silver Eagle Drive
Tarpon Springs, FL 34688
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 942-5419

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






All Sts. Christian School
Tarpon Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT