Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooker Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 554 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

I love this school so much my both kids went there, teachers, staff, principal ect... Are the best! Great environment and teaching. I highly recommend this school to anyone moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

This school is like sending my child to a private school but for the price of a public school. My child has attended this school for two years and I could not have been more pleased with the teachers. They make learning fun and keeps the kids motivated to learn. The parent involvement at this school is also spectacular. This school truly is a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

As a social worker, i know the value and importance of letting kids have unstructured play time every day. This school provides no recess at all!! How are they supposed to burn off extra energy and focus on their work? As a parent from different schools in the past, this is my least favorite school of all. The administration is unresponsive and unhelpful. I have three children and only 1 had a parent teacher conference the entire school year! Not such a good record!!! This school may get high FCAT scores but is very impersonal. Each child seems to be a number (FCAT score) not a name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

I am very disappointed in this school. I felt that the administration was not helpful when my child had a problem with his teacher. I felt the principal was rude and very uncooperative. I have friends that are also unhappy with this school. I am also disappointed that there is no recess which I feel is very important. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Fortunately, I was able to move my kids to a different school and they are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I love the extra programs that Brooker Creek has to offer. These programs were easily offered....I didn't have to ask or do much research and this has helped my son tremendously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I am very impressed with Brooker Creek Elementary School! We have moved to Florida from another state and Brooker Creek has exceeded my expectations. Great school, dedicated teachers and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We have been at Brooker Creek for 2 years now and have nothing but positive things to say. Everything about this school is first rate - from the friendly, helpful office staff and principal to the great teachers who are easy to communicate with. The gifted teachers are absolutely amazing and very creative in the way that they teach the children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone and trust me when I say we have some experience... we have lived in CA, VA and now FL and have gone to at least two elementary schools in each state. I have 5 children and we have had our share of us and downs with schools but only positive things with Brooker Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I love that school both my kids went there and it was great all the teachers and everyone else were amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

amazing.... words cannot describe from where my son started and where he is today is like night and day. Thanks to BCE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

My son started this school in the Autism kindergarten program in 2005. Thru the wonderful support of all the staff and teachers we were able to mainstream him in first grade. He has been doing so well ever since. The staff are all so supportive of him, I could not ask for a better school. They really take the time out to make sure he is fully reaching his potential. He absolutely loves every single day at Brooker Creek with his friends and teachers - this is the best school in the area and we feel very blessed to be there. I agree with the 10 rating. Go Bobcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Thank you Brooker Creek for finishing my Autistic child's education well. It was a juggling act getting everything organized but you have given him a great start in Florida! The teachers and staff are fabulous here and are dedicated to their children's learning. The classmates were really nice to my son and there is a lot of potential for a child at this school, disabled or not! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My child has been in this school since Kindergarten and is now in 4th. Brooker Creek is a very warm and friendly environment for children to learn. The staff is very hands on in helping each child succeed. LOVE this school and would HIGHLY reccommend to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

This is an excellent school for parent participation. The teachers are very good, caring, and most go out of their way to help the kids. They challenge the students, as well. The computer program is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

The adademic programs have been sufficient, I have a special needs child though and may need more help than this school can provide. The music, art, and sports however is very good, and is most important for my child to have the experience in. Overall, Brooker Creek has been a great school, but may not be adequate for my childs needs at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

I moved to this school zone for Brooker Creek Elementary. The staff and facility has exceeded my highest expectation! My son loves the school, his friends he has made, and the parent involvement is tremendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

BCE is a wonderful school! The staff is very caring and it is a wonderful environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Asian 8% 3%
Hispanic 5% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%60%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3130 Forelock Rd
Tarpon Springs, FL 34688
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 943-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Solid Rock Community School
Tarpon Springs, FL


Solid Rock Virtual School
Tarpon Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT