Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tavares Middle School 2

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS A JOKE!!! There are some dedicated teachers but the principal, assistant principal and guidance staff are a joke. They refused to listen to the students and parents alike. The 8th grade math teacher, Mr. Spiniolas, can't teach to save his life. Almost a third of his students had to attend summer school...think there's a problem there? Not according to the principal. I had several meetings with Ms. Mott and she doesn't listen, only wants to hear herself talk. My daughter had all A's in Math until Mr. Spiniolas took over the class. The guidance counselors spread rumors and gossip, not only to staff but to students as well, about the students that come to them for help!!!! The saddest part is that this is supposed to be the best school amongst Eustis, Mount Dora and Tavares. I am so happy that my daughter is going to high school now. Thank God she survived that place. If you can't afford private school like me...good luck! It's so sad that our children are not taken seriously and at the most crucial time in their lives. The county commissioners should SERIOUSLY consider replacing ALL of the administrative staff at this school!!!

Tavares Middle School 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a community member
All I can say is positive things about this school. All the staff there are nice from the secretaries and administration to the regular teachers and janitors. They have a lot of school events like dances, band concerts, award ceremonies, art shows, plays, and talent shows. And yes, there is some bullying, but aren't most schools gonna have that wherever you go? They have a bunch of clubs that you can join along with their sports like soccer, cross-country, drama, art, etc. All the teachers I had were so nice and a lot of them put in so much extra work you wouldn't believe! I also made all my best friends here. This school is my favorite(: -former student


Tavares Middle School 3

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
LOVE Mr. Harris, Mr. Humphreys, Mr. DeMoss, Mrs. Goolsby. I wish I could warn about the bad! Mr. VonMaxey is a good teacher as well but he tends to favor athletic students and the kids know it.

Tavares Middle School 1

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
The school is run like a police state, well possibly one in a 3rd world country. The administration takes the line that the student is always wrong and the teachers run roughshod over parents to make themselves look good. There are some exceptions but at the top HUGE gaps, and reported incidents are ignored or denounced. The only care taken is inflating the FCAT scores at the risk of all other meaningful instruction.

Tavares Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Teacher Gina Vinson, and the great job she does!


Tavares Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2009
- a teacher
The students and staff are really wonderful to work with ~ lots of team and school spirit!

Tavares Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tavares Middle School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Tavares Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2007
- a student
The teachers are great, they really care about the students and the class sizes are small. There is a fair amount of time between classes. And the multi-building set up stops crowding in the halls. Except for the 500 Building where sometimes it can be hard to get in and out of. I like the fact that for the last ten minutes of lunch, if you want you can go to the courtyard and to your locker so you can see friends you don't have any classes with. Also, if you want you can wait in the gym after school instead of waiting for your bus in the boiling sun. The only downside is that teachers have to walk to students to lunch.

Tavares Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2007
- a former student
I used to go to TMS until my family move to Memphis, TN, but its a great school you will a lot of nice and funny teachers! If you love to talk you will make new friends in one day!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tavares Middle School
1335 Lane Park Cutoff Road, Tavares, FL  32778
(352) 343-4545
Last modified Tavares Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tavares Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top