Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tavares Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 861 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

If you can afford private, opt for that instead of Tavares. The principal is focused on her title - not making the school an admired place. The teachers are subpar and leftovers from other schools and districts. The place has been effectively run in the ground to the point of impacting the resale value of our home. Our little one receives great grades, but hates school - what does that tell you? Also, the parking issue at school dismissal is a nightmare based on lax administration. Will not return after this year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

This school lacks the ability to properly educate students, and struggles with staff retention. I find the administration to be laughable at best; collectively, they are strikingly inept. Further, the school is overcrowded, the teaching staff is below average and the atmosphere is hostile for both students and their parents. Administration lacks accountability as well as competence. The facilities are subpar, with children being ushered to a stationary bike under a covered pavilion for physical education. As a parent, I was horrified to learn just how substandard the facilities and staff are until after we moved into the district. Regarding the ELC program: the coordinator is combative and miserable. Stay away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

PRINCIPAL SO RUDE, NOT FRIENDLY NOT HELPFUL NEEDS TO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE WHERE SHE BELONGS, VERY DISCRIMINATIVE ONLY LIKES DARK PEOPLE. DOES NOT HOW TO HANDLE SITUATION AND NOT EDUCATION AT ALL. PLEASE REPLACE HER SHE IS NOT FOR THIS SCHOOL.


Posted September 3, 2013

Tavares Elementary School is a great school so far. My baby sister is 5 years old and just now started kindergarten, and she has been with Tavares Elementary since pre-school last year. I would like to thank her pre-school teacher, Ms. Davis, for making her first year at the school a memorable one. I would also like to thank her kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Laroe, for being such a great teacher, my sister speaks very highly of her. The office staff are also very sincere and that makes me feel comfortable leaving my sister in their care. This school definitely deserves 5 stars!


Posted August 4, 2009

Triangle elementry DOES have a dual language program starting in kindergarden. And that school is in mount dora. Just to let you know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

i think this is one of the best schools in florida and my son's teacher Mr. Swanson jis the very best teacher you could ever ask for. he is willing to drop everything and help my son. He is the type of child that needs the help and Mr. Swanson is always willing to be there to help and support him and our entire family. that is why our family was so proud to hear that he was chosen for the teacher of the year because is is the very best teacher you could ever ask for. Thank you Mr. Swanson for all your help andlove and support you are truley the greatest gift for Lucas. he loves you and he is so proud to say that you are is teacher. you are an excellent teacher and person. Keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

My child is ADD they told me to put him on meds and basicly swept him under the rug. I now have him private school and what a change! D's to all A's on his first report card.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Hello Tavares Elementary!!! I have (2) grandchildren in your school and they seem to love going to school everyday! How great is that? Anyway, thank you to all the administrators, teachers, and school staff who care for and teacher my grandkids. I am a 34 year veteran of the Broward County School System. It is not easy sometimes to deal with kids, but how great it is when the 'bulb' lights up! Keep up the good work - your example is what makes a difference.


Posted May 8, 2008

I wanted to praise the 5th grade teacher 'team'. They have split up their classes so the 5th graders rotate. Mrs. Burg, Mrs. Lassiter and Mr. Bidding are truly a dream team of teachers. My 5th grader has gained so much in knowledge and confidence this year. The teachers (for the most part} MAKE this school. I agree they need a foreign language offered and a the whole Lake county school system needs a homeword accessible review on the internet sschschschschool).Mrs Ough, M M
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

My daughter enrolled here after we moved about 1 year ago. Overall the school is good. I am concerned that she doesn't get out enough for sports, etc. I am a bit concerned as well that communication seems to be lacking. Although she does have an assignment book, she is responsible to write down her assignments and no one else is reporting to me through the book. My daughter's grade fell dramatically in this school and I don't have a good handle on why. We are moving to a different school, so this won't be an issue. I must say that the people I have met are very friendly and professional A+ on making me feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

We moved from another county and I was leary about Tavares Elem. We moved in the middle of my son's kind year. When we got here he wasn't yet reading. In one week he started reading!! His teacher was great. We could not have more blessed. Thank you Mrs. Graber. I don't really know about the extracurricular activities or parent involvement, but we really like the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

I am very happy with this school. My two children are doing better with there grades and reading levels since coming to this school. They have thanked me several times for sending them to this school. The teachers are supportive, but they do not push so that the kids feel like failures when they are 'tested' for advance classes. My kids were in a charter school the past two years and the pressure was unbelievable for first graders to perform 'above average'. Tavares school is encouraging and thats wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

All in all its a good school, it seems they are 'understaffed', not enough staff to watch the children in the lunchroom, therefore the poor kids can't even 'talk' at lunchtime, they also don't have enough 'outdoor' time (if any) on the playground, the older children get priority, campus is too 'open', kindergarteners should not be able to 'roam' as they do. But I was very pleased with her kindergarten teacher, Mrs Brown was great and my daughter learned alot. Hopefully the first grade teachers are as dedicated!And I am looking forward to a new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

I feel that my daughter has learned alot in the last 5 years at Tavares Elementary. I feel that the teachers have to put too much emphasize on the FCAT but I know that they have no choice. THe school has always been good about fairness and they have a wonderful before and after daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

Great music and art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

The school is ok. For kindergarteners there are no art classes, but the music class is great (Mrs. Bain is the best, Great!)Sports and the playground is not available for the kindergarteners, the older children get preference here, which is not good, it makes no sense. PE with coach Boyd is great, they get excercise at least(once a week). The staff is very friendly, but I agree with a previous poster, anyone can come and go as they please on this campus. The kindergarten teachers are great, so far I only know the kindergarten teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I don't feel the school is safe because of the open campus and the freedom of people coming ang going, and the children (kindergarteners) are allowed to walk the campus alone. The after school program is excellent, and thats what I rated A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Good faculty. Excellent Kindergarten teachers. Very good school for art and music enrichment. This school has a mixed population of involved parents and un-involved. School is currently being rebuilt and when completed will be a become a beautiful campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I recently enrolled my daughter in Kindergarten in Tavares Elementary. (I was originally going to place her in a private school but was told of this school by some associates) I have been very pleased with her selection of teachers. Her main teacher is Mrs. Keyes and she has done an outstanding job with her students and goes the extra mile to care for her students. A perfect example of a great school with exceptional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I have four grandchildren in Tavares Elementary and I volunteer there. It is without a doubt the best elementary school in Lake County with the very best staff. The staff reflects the principal. The most important thing besides the learning the students get is that they feel important. They are treated with respect and their talents are really drawn out with the school productions that they do. It hasn't changed since my two sons went there. Thank you.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Black 18%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%62%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. LETIZIA HAUGABROOK
Fax number
  • (352) 343-6618

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 East Clifford Street
Tavares, FL 32778
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 343-2861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT