Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Christian Prep

Private | PK-12 | 230 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tavares

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

They must be doing something right! This school is growing like crazy! Our family has been a part of the LCP family for over 4 years now and this is the biggest enrollment we have seen. They are making many improvements and additions around the school, and it looks better than ever. I'm excited to have my children be a part of this great school. In my opinion, it's the best school in Lake County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted today

So happy to have found Liberty! We have attended for several years now and I have nothing but great things to say. My children love going to school everyday, and their grades continue to soar. All three of them were on Dean's list for all 4 quarters last year! The teachers and staff are amazing, and have a true vested interest in their students. If you're looking for a great school in Lake County, definitely check out LCP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted today

Just started my second year working at LCP. What a great experience! I really love what I do, and the teachers and staff work so well together. The students are great and it is a blessing to get to know them and their families a little more each year. I hope to work here for many years to come :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted today

Our family has been at Liberty Christian going on 12 years. Our oldest has graduated and has been very successful in college and in the work place. We have 3 more that are still attending and we can not imagine sending them anywhere else! Liberty provides a solid education and a safe environment in a Christian setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

I am thrilled and grateful for the Christian atmosphere, caring teachers, and kind students. Moving my family to this school was the best decision we ever made. My second grader is so far ahead of his friends in the neighborhood that their parents are asking me where he's going. I look forward to many more years of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I have had my Son in a few schools in our area, before Liberty! My Son loves to learn, and comes home happy, and excited about what he learned that day! Way to Go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

If you want your children to go to a school that had No high school students on the deans list and only 1 on the A/B honor roll last year then you should choose Liberty!!! This is a school where the Principal and the Pastor want your money!!!! They are full of EMPTY promises!!! The Principal is more concerned with following the dress code rules then anything!! The Pastor is more concerned with making it HIS own and stripping it of everything that made it the Great school it was!!!! Don't make the mistake I did!!! This school does Nothing to prepare your children for college!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I AM A STUDENT HERE AT LIBERTY CHRISTIAN....! I actually like this school. I came from Tavares & this will be my 3rd year attending LCA... It could be improved in a lot of ways but its a good school regardless. Everybody in the high school gets along & we all trust each other... The "jocks" are friends with the "nerds" & vice versa.. I really enjoy this school but we ALL hate the new BJU curriculum, we'd rather go back to Abeka, & have NO iPads. Also, the teachers truly do care about us & help us in every way possible. All though, a couple of us students agree that we need a new pastor & principal, it's all good.... The teachers are amazing! I would DEFINETLY reccommend this school to those who think of placing there children here... DO IT(: BTW-We need more HighSchool kids hahaha


Posted June 14, 2013

This school is one of the worst mistakes I ever made!!!! They actually charged families thousands of dollars 8 months into the school year saying it was owed from the previous year!! The Principal cannot tell the truth to save her life!!! They kept the high school math teacher for most of the year knowing that he could not teach math!!! Our children were having to tell him how to do the math!! They only want money they have No christian morals at all!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

We are just finishing up our 3rd year at LCA, now LCP, and we absolutely LOVE it! After reading a few of the other negative comments, I have to wonder where they are coming from. I have 3 children at the school, and have interacted with all of the teachers. We have not had a single negative experience yet, and my children are all on the A, B Honor Roll, or higher. We have both homeschooled and used the public school system before attending Liberty, and I can say that their curriculum is FAR more competitive than the public school system. Don't let a few bad apples spoil the whole bunch. If you are looking for a GREAT private school in Lake County, come visit Liberty Chrisitan Prep. They would be happy to show you around :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This school is very money hungry. Yes, it is the least expensive private school in the area, but all they care about is money. Also, when a field trip comes up. It'll probably get cancelled, and then you will have to go through a nightmare to get your money back. Good luck.


Posted January 11, 2013

Least expensive school in Lake County. Some teachers don't have any experience. Because of this, you need to hire a tutor so your child wouldn't fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

We are thrilled to have found this school! We have recommended this to our friends and two have enrolled this past quarter. The leadership is strong, teachers are professional, and students are learning. All of this with care, nurturing, and God's love. Who could ask for more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Some teachers need serious training when it comes to classroom management. Compared to the public system, the curriculum is very poor. Although some teachers know what to do in the classroom , others don't have any experience. Your child will be the one affected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2012

I love this school! The children are well mannered, work hard, and show God'd love.


Posted September 25, 2012

My child in in the second grade with a wonderful teacher. We are thrilled at the challenging work and the emphasis on Christ's love. Knowing that our child can grow and learn all through high school in this Christian environment is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

My family is thrilled to have found this jewel of Lake County! The academics are above other public and private schools, the students are compassionate, and the staff is wonderful. This school share's God's Word with example!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Before posting my comments, I read through all previous reviews. The one thing that stands out is that this school has improved. The staff and administration has come a long way for the better. As humans, we are three dimensional with body, soul, and spirit. While academics is the prime reason for this education, it is no less important to nourish your spirit and body as well. While not perfect, the school does provide for physical exercise, and also has Christ-centered biblical training for the spirit. Academically, my children were "fully reading and writing" 2/3's way through kindergarten; and with parental support, behaving extraordinarily well. The one in 2nd grade now can read fluently (barring special names) from the King James Version of the Bible, which many adults admittedly have difficulty with. For the reasons herein, I believe the school deserves at least four stars. I will recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

My kids are in 2nd and 4th grade and been going to Liberty for 2 years now. They love this school and so do myself and their father. Would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

I am a student and have been a student at Liberty for my whole life. I must say that it is very excellent. Execellance is demanded there simply because they know that it is available. The staff is family. They actually know your name, and it is a great enviroment for your teenagers my age to socialize. Not only the faculty, but the student body, as a whole, is family. It truely is a great place to go to and i am glad that my parents made the smart choice of keeping me here. and a quick note to the parents concerning education levels..your kids do not apply themselves. I know because i am a student and i know how it goes. Just because your student does not have a proper role model to follow does not mean that you can take your anger out on the school. It's quite ridiculous.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Black 19% 23%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
School Leader's name
  • Debi Zischke
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • FAACS
Fax number
  • (352) 343-2424

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2451 Dora Ave.
Tavares, FL 32778
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 343-0061

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT