Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Our Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 120 students

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 
 

Living in Temple Terrace

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2012

Think long and hard before putting your child(ren) in this school. While there are some terrific teachers, the school has serious communication issues and there is a lack of leadership. The video on the website is completely out of date as the principal is now a teacher and many of the teachers and parents on this video are no longer at the school. There is ar reason the school went from 100 plus kids down to 85 or so because it is not a highly functioning school. It is poorly run. There are some very sweet teachers at this school, but that is not enough to keep parents at this school. So many parents are talking about taking their kids out of this school, it might be a ghost town next year, if it stays open.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2011

Let me say first that the teachers in this school are incredible. Top notch teachers, however, the school lacks serious direction and guidance. The school seems to be on life support and with little to no parental involvement it doesn't seem the school can survive. After 20 plus years in operation it seems that the school would have policies and procedures in place, but it seems like everything is up in the air policy wise. Seems to be many people in charge yet no one in charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

We have had 2 children enrolled at this school over the last 7 years. The teachers are completely committed to individualized learning plans and the kids really excell because of it! We love this school and most importantly so do the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

The second grade teacher is absolutely amazing. She take time after school,twice per week, to tutor my son(at no additional charge). She goes above the call of duty to help him. The pre school teachers and aide are also amazing with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Our daughter was in a fundamental school in Pinellas County last year. Moving to Tampa, we searched for a school which provided similar academic results in a less rigid environment. We are very happy with CORLS, as we call it, because of the strength of their teachers (the 1st and 2nd grade teacher has 20 years experience.) Also, the small class size which allows for so much more personal attention that is not completely consumed by just trying to maintain order in the room. The best part is that our daughter is happier in her learning, with less anxiety, and is showing great progress in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I have been going to this school since kindergarden and going into 7th grade I am an A student but does struggle the teachers are nice but have no curriculum personally if you were to spend money on an education do it at a good and better school Please listen to this request they do not even have 80 students in the whole 12 grades and classes it is 2 thumbs down :(


Posted May 4, 2010

This started out to be a good school; however, with time you come to see the staff for who they really are. Communication is not the best at this school. This is my son's first year and it started out o.k., but the teachers do not communicate as needed, I understand them wanting to make each individual child a responsible one but there need to be something that the parent can look to get a feel of what is going on at school. The communication line(infodirect) is never updated informing parents as to the upcoming/homework/tests. Emails are sent to teachers with no response, via email or in person. For new parents it is hard to keep up and know what is going on at school , although newsletters sent out, it is not enough to inform parents about his or her child. There seems to be favoritism here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

I graduated from this fine institute, and I am proud of it. This school is an example of proper education and is an opportunity for others to be more involved as an educated individual.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The academics are challenging, and the teachers are cooperative and caring. My son has been a student there since the 2nd grade, and loves it. The students are also courteous and well behaved. The field trips and projects are beneficial and learning based. The principal especially is outgoing and familiar with every student and parent on campus. They even offer a range of sports and electives. I only wish they would offer more clubs of interest to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

We have 2 children at this school in the pre k area and middle school. We have been very pleased with the levelof acedemics and the partnership between faculty, students, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

This is an outstanding school. With professional, caring teachers; a marvelous, proactive principal; and a delightful student body, Christ Our Redeemer Lutheran School stands out as beacon in quality education. We are greatful to be part of this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Black 19% 23%
Hispanic 5% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Beth A. Gray
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (813) 989-0461

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We offer Art, Music, and Spanish by teachers that only teach in those subject areas to pre3 through 8th grade.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Tampa Catholic
King IB
Cambridge Christian School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

304 Druid Hills Road
Temple Terrace, FL 33617
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 988-4025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodmont Charter School
Temple Terrace, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT