Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,984 students|Sumter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Villages Charter School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all the parents that push their kids at home every night so this schools is rated an A school. With out you, this school truly could not do it on their own.

Villages Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
There are a few good teachers, but most teachers are just there because they know the right person. Since the school opened In 1999 a total of 2 people still work there that opened the school 16 years ago. They are all administrators. It has the highest turn over rate than any other school in the area. On average 2-3 teachers are replaced in every grade level, every year. With no job security and the high teacher turn over rate it is very hard to find or develop effective teachers.


Villages Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
30-60 minutes in k through 4th grade so far. Plus the time I have to spend teaching them what the school does not.

Villages Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Because you have to have them in order to succeed at this school. My children do their learning at home so they are able to stay on grade level. That takes a lot of persistence, grit and determination.

Villages Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Depends on your definition of respect. If you feel that students telling teachers they are going to get them fired, then yes they teach them respect. If not, then keep looking.


Villages Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
This is not a school for your average joe. If your child fits in well with the rich, then she will be fine. If not expect your child to be bullied from kindergarten on up.

Villages Charter School 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a community member
The high school is a great school. Most teachers are available after school for students when they are struggling. Technology is top notch. Students. An even graduate from here with a chef license, nursing license, or even an associates degree! A lot of the complaints on this page offer a lot information with no backing. Here are a few examples. If ieps, 504 plans or any ese accommodations aren't followed, the state would be involved right away as they would in any school. I also. noticed comments about having to teach their kids everything. This comes across confusing for a couple reasons. One, most teachers stay after school to help students. Two, this isn't a mandatory school we are taking about, why not try your child at your regular public school? The answer is because the charter school is better. As far as only being high class rich families, also incorrect. Yes there are many people with money that have children attending the charter school, but there are many that are not as fortunate which makes it just like any other school in that sense. I think the main thing that people forget when reading all these review is that no one has much to say until they have something to complain about. Take the "How's my driving?" signs on tractor trailers. How many people call when they are driving fantastic? On the other hand, if the driver makes one mistake, everyone is quick to call. This school is driving amazingly. Hop on board and you will see how amazing it actually is. And one more little rant! I have read a few posts about teachers not sending books or notes home to help with homework. All students at this school have a book for their classes that they leave at home and then there are some in the classroom. As for notes, it is the responsibility of the student to take the appropriate notes. We need to start holding our children more accountable. The world is lazy enough as it is. End rant.

Villages Charter School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Absoutley wonderful school, my child has thrived in the school environment and enriched education skills. The teachers show they really care, the extras the school offers is amazing and the rating on the school truely shows in what they do everyday! The afterschool program is based on education and my son LOVES going everyday and hanging out with his friends. I look forward to many more successful years in The Villages Charter School!


Villages Charter School 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a student
They offer real life experiences in the academies. I first came to this school junior year, and I was afraid that I would have trouble making fried s because I'm shy. But on the first day of school, people were helping me out with the computers, talking to me and even asking me if I would like to sit at their lunch table. This school is wonderful and the teachers are absolutely AMAZING!!! #212

Villages Charter School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Behind the times, self serving, ineffectual and difficult admin..one size fits all methodology. no IDEA / IEP, intervention to speak of only RTI limited resources. The school even openly says special education is limited its in the handbook welcome guide, really? I've Never known a school that would limit special education help for a child, let along advertise it....smart students are easy to teach a real teacher or educator show their true colors when they can educated a struggling student successfully. I guess that sums it up. They divert money from special education to gifted program that I know first hand. Much more attention, time and resources are spent on gifted over ESE students. It's all about the school rating. This school retains a large percentage of students in order to keep there rating up. It's very disconcerting to me. One would think that the school is "cherry picking" it's students. But don't take my word for it I only work there. You will find out yourself and I hope you don't inadvertently set your child back. Someone need to stand up and file a complaint. That's another thing no one will because the school powers to be will blackball you and everyone knows it . There for no one says a word. As I said my opinion is just that you will find out for yourself . Best of luck you will need it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Villages Charter School
251 Buffalo Trail, The Villages, FL  32162
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (352) 259-2350
Last modified Villages Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top