Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public charter
The Villages, FL
Students enrolled: 2,674

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Villages Charter School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
For that parent that said "your son had to be taught at home how to read. The greatest misconception is that children learn EVERYTHING they need to know at school. As a parent, it is our JOB to help our children learn. Every child is DIFFERENT. There is an OPEN DOOR policy here. IF your problem can't be resolved, then this isn't the school for you. For the parent that said homework wasn't being explained /no books are being sent home. Did you request a conference regarding your concerns? Did you attend any open houses offered at the beginning of the year that explained that the TEXTBOOKS are online. DID you visit the teacher's Website page to see the lesson plans for the week so you know EXACTLY what page and what homework they had? For the parent that says this isn't a "real" charter school. Do your research. That's WHY it s a Charter school. A CHARTER is not a one size fits all condition. OUR condition is EMPLOYMENT. And that in of itself provides higher than average employment retention rate for surrounding businesses. WE also require higher than average PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT. Studies show that actively involved parents grow more successful children who STAY in school!

Villages Charter School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at VHS and have been attending this school since kindergarten. It may be the only school that I've been at but if given the choice to go somewhere else I would not. It is an amazing school with an amazing staff and student body. The teachers stay by yourside and do everything they can to help you succeed. The students (all though we are teenagers ) are on their best behavior and show respect that you wouldn't normally see in a high school. There are rarely any fights on school ground. Cops are rarely called. If you are interested in bringing your kid here I strongly recommend it. Though there is a lot of requirements I believe it is a small sacrifice in return of giving your child a great school experience and to have a successful outcome :) it really is a great school and that's coming from the student who has to wear the uniforms everyday and be with the staff everyday.


Villages Charter School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is a perfect example of how the education system fails our children. My child has add ended this school since kindergarten. Unfortunately I have had to teach him everything at home. They proudly claim that reading is their number 1 priority (hence the reason they rarely teach the other subjects). However, for my son to be on grade level in reading I have has to teach him at home, every night since kindergarten. It's sad how many people can be fooled by pretty things and a smile. As a teacher in a public school, if I required my parents to do as much work as the charter school requires, I simply wouldn't have a job. My students would ALL fail. The aftercare programs are grossly overpriced for what you get. $50 every quarter for your child to sit in a room full of Legos or $180 for violin lessons (3 students to 1 teacher). It's simply a facade. 100% graduation rate? And exactly how many ese, esol, low income or racial variety so they have? Ah yes, the magic numbers do not lie. Lets not forget that they have unlimited resources and SHOULD be able to do better for ALL students, not just average white high income children.
1 person found this helpful

Villages Charter School 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
We have 4 students that have or currently do attend the VCS system and it's a stellar choice in comparison to the schools that surround this area. THey spend more money per student here than anywhere in the state (beautiful grounds) The complaints I have read are based on the school's rigorous disciplinary, dress, and conduct code, which are absent in other schools in the area. THEY HAVE HIGH STANDARDS so if you aren't into having a child that is goal-oriented and more proficient that required by the state, don't have them attend here. PERIOD. Parents MUST be involved and be employed directly by "The Villages" so check into that before you seek employment. Also, you must volunteer 20hrs per year for each student - check the website. Excellent culinary program and the dance program is award-winning (google it) Since we moved here in 2008, they have built a new Preschool which opened 2012, a new structure for the 4-5th graders opened 2013, and a new wing for the 1st graders opened 2013 also. All to accommodate the growth of the student body. Staff is superior.... all set the "golden standard" - Definitely exceeds the state standard on all levels. Not in any way lacking.

Villages Charter School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
Terrible, they break ALL of the rules for being a charter school, for instance a TRUE charter school allows for students to be interviewed and apply, so yeah in other words it is essentially a private school without cost! Great right? :.......well unfortunately our friends in old people Disney USA dont follow any of those rules, they ONLY and I repeat ONLY allow students to attend their "school" if their parents worl in the community known as the villages, like working in a small store in a giant mall. So in other words it is incredibly political and a terrible place . Also students WILL be kicked out if their parent or parents somehow (doesn't matter how ) lose their job in the community, like bam no warning, a sad example of this was one of the dancers at the school(golden girl) had a mother who worked in the community and father who could not, but she qualified for this so called public school because of her mothers employment, it saddens me to say that her mother passed due to illness(God rest her soul) and just two days after the school said "yeah your mom doesn't work here anymore so you have to leave our school.... truly terrible.


Villages Charter School 1

Posted December 25, 2013
- a parent
My Daughter went to this school for two years and i was extremely disappointed .She made top grades but they only teach for the FCAT. Be careful of the ones that say the school is great .One should ask were they obtained their degree from .What I found was for the ones that spoke about the school being so great have really never seen a good school .Most come from a limited backgrounds and have never seen what else is available .Most think that the building is nice so it must be a good school. Look at were the previous graduates got accepted to and how many went on to advance degrees and also what they have accomplished . I found the only thing that is the main focus in "The Villages" is the retires .Children are treated like a disease and second class citizens .The employees that work for the villages are treated like "pool boys " by the employers and by the retirees . So if you are looking for an average school and want to be treated like a second class citizen you will love the villages.

Villages Charter School 4

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful! My kids are thriving and happy and this school has everything including the lastest tech and tools. The aftercare program is a life-saver for any family that wants the kids to do activities without being able to afford to miss work to get to a 4:30- soccer practice. It is a test-driven school, absolutely but they ALL are. NoChildLeftBehind and Core Curriculum made sure of that crap! But, they do not 'let' kids fail and they do not 'let' parents not be involved. All schools has faults, as does this one, but the education my 2 kids are getting is not lacking and is far better (seemingly) than the ones my friends' kids are getting in public (and one in very $$$ private) schools.

Villages Charter School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
This school is a "one size fits all" school. There is NO differentiated instruction. They send children home with homework that has not been explained. No notes or books accompany this homework. This school is a joke. It's all ambiance. This school is FCAT oriented not student oriented. One of the reasons I moved to Florida was because of THIS school. There are NO good schools in Florida so I plan on moving back to a state that have good schools. Don't be fooled by this school! The only good thing about this school is that they require parent involvement.


Villages Charter School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This Villages Charter Schools have excelled in all areas. I have a student that is above average and they ensure that she is challenged. I have another student that has many needs and they have always been there to help do their best and communicate on a regular basis.

Villages Charter School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I have three children that have all attended The Villages Charter School. The oldest has gone from pre-k to high school. The school has always made every attempt to accomodate any needs of the student. They are able to offer so much more to the students and my children have a great advantage. They offer a large variety of classes along with sports. Everything the school has is current and ensures the kids are prepared to transition into college or life after highschool.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Villages Charter School
251 Buffalo Trl, The Villages, FL  32162
(352) 259-2350
Last modified Villages Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Villages Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top