Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Folsom Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 539 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

My daughter loved this school. They have great values and very caring teachers. I only wish this school had more funding since it is pretty old andand needs some updating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

My son is doing well here, he came from out of state and is repeating 3rd grade. His teacher quite halfway through the year but his new teacher is better than the last. He had a problem with a kid in his class and was interviewed by the school about the situation and it was resolved. One thing I don't like is the lower grades have lunch too early. My son has lunch at 10:30 in the morning and school doesn't let out until 2:15. He is very hungry at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I think this school so far is wonderful. My son just started kindergarten this year and he loves his teacher Ms.Stone. He has learned so much and is doing very well. Everyday is something new and exciting for him. Every morning I walk him to the cafeteria for breakfast. There is a teacher in every hall. They say good morning when they see us, and when we leave they say have a nice day. They are all so positive. They try to encourage every child to eat breakfast. There are also bus patrols and staff from the school every morning and afternoon helping car riders. This is an A+ School in my opinion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

This school is wonderful. Staff is really helpful. My children love this school. Parent involvement needs to increase. The newsletters are informative, and sent in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

I agree that Folsom has gone down over the last several years with their leadership team and quality of education that the children get. I had to pull my children out of the school two years ago and now they are doin much better in a magnet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

Folsom has declined so much over the years. The current leadership is aweful. Most of the communications from the school have so many errors you would think that the kids were sending them. Wrong dates or wrong days on almost all of them, especially with the after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

My child transferred here from a private school and we were somewhat leary of moving her to a public school. But my child's teachers are awesome and she has a good time each day in class. Folsom is either back to an A rated school now or they are/were very close, I can't recall. The school meets my expectations and seems to provide a safe educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

Folsom is a great learning process.I think more kids need to go to Folsom.It's a great school for our childern.We enjoy having them there and they do to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Folsom is very good. It is very interactive with the students and offers a wide range of activities to supplement classroom work. For instance, this Earth Day, my son's class went out to the spacious field behind the school and planted a new tree that will one day be as tall as the school. Also, there are family nights that promote fun in a safe environments with hay rides, dunking coach in the water tank, etc. There are Science and Math nights also that encourage ideas to promote learning at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Folsom has dropped from an A grade school approximately 3 years ago to a C.The new principal came in with an ego and immediately asserted herself as the person in charge and discontinued all of the programs formerly established by her predecessor. It's clear she intended to 'make her mark'. The school grade immediately fell. The majority of the best teachers either retired or moved to other schools, parent involvement declined drastically, the head of the PTA resigned, and our children lost motivation to work as hard as they had been. The second principal has been replaced after roughly a year and a half and the verdict is still pending on her performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

Folsom Elementary has extended to the community and held wonderful family nights to encourage involvement. I have my son at this school and would say that it is an acceptable place to learn. Some of the teachers are inspiring and the specials departments really enhance the experience. While I like the school, the teachers are mediocre. I wish there was more communication of what is being taught on a day by day basis. Because this school's focus is to bring up the score from last year, they are teaching to the test. On the other hand, I do see some teachers out there, using teaching methods that really get students motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

My son has been at Folsom for 2 years. Only in the last 2 months have I seen anything to keep us around. I am trying to see the good, but have trouble doing so. A few of my son's friends have transferred or are now being homeschooled due to similar frustrations as we have had. The only thing that keeps us there is we just got a new Principal and V.P along with the resignation of the PTA president. Her PTA did nothing in terms of engaging parents' help. It is now March 2004 so I will see what happens between now and the end of the school year. If it doesn't improve, Folsom will be losing yet another family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 37%
Hispanic 28%
White 27%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%67%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CORA-LYNNE WIMBERLY
Fax number
  • (813) 987-6970

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9855 Harney Road
Thonotosassa, FL 33592
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 987-6755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Aberdeen Preparatory School
Temple Terrace, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT