Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sculptor Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

My daughter has been at Sculptor for 6 years, so far, and I can honestly say that it has been the best school for her. Are there occasional problems? Of course, but that is simply the nature of being humans. When a problem has arisen, I have been able to sit down with teachers, administrators, etc. and leave the meeting feeling like I was heard and that we are a team working towards a common goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I absolutely agree that the front staff and administration is arrogant & ridiculous. There are DEFINITELY some great teachers there, but also some, alot actually of teachers who simply should not be teaching young children. The curriculum IS GREAT and why my 3 children stayed for 3 years. I am pulling them out this year though because the admin THINKS and ACTS like its a private school and NEVER side with the child. The anaology would be 'mean girls' in how these 'professionals' behave, and NOT something I want as an influence on my children. I am certainly not the only parent who knows this. First Second and Third Graders are not allowed even to reccess if they do not complete their work THEY ARE KIDS & need an outlet!! One parent I know accidently received an email meant for staff from the principal & it was beyond telling of how they view the students. It was regarding an intelligent child who had some issues & it was awful. Its a shame though because the curriculum IS more advanced than other PUBLIC schools. But this is just a public school with uniforms. I thought originally it leaned to the arts but it actually has less extra curricular activities than other public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

This is an exceptional school with extremely dedicated staff and teachers. We actually bought a house in the area to be close to this school. Our son started here in 3rd grade and is currently in 5th grade. He has grown academically and emotionally at this school. The curriculum they use is excellent and the leadership is wonderful. It also has a committed PTO and parent group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This school staff is not at all welcoming or receptive to the needs of the whole child. They claim to accept all kinds of children including those with special needs. This simply is not true. When students with higher needs are not accepted, it is claimed to be due to the lottery system. Lottery system is definitely a joke. The office staff is rude and uncaring. I was hoping to have a better experience with this school as I have a background in education myself. Hopefully, the school makes a turn for the better and fulfills their commitment of being unbiased to students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This school is for the arrogant and those who want to kiss up to teachers and administration. Our granddaughter test scores went down after attending this school. Teachers do not communicate and interest seems to be in what you, as a parent, can give them rather than your child's academics. We actually witnessed applications being trashed so the lottery is a joke at best. We had such high hopes but after a year and very disappointing experience, we're going elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Sculptor is an incredible school. Whether a child is gifted, has special needs, or is anywhere in between, they get the attention they need to excel. Everyone at Sculptor takes an interest in making sure the students are getting the best education possible. Parental involvement in encouraged and the school is a wonderful, close-knit community of families with the common goal of a great education for their children. I'm so glad my son is a part of that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I Went to sculptor charter from first grade to graduation. Not only we're the teachers amazing, and really cared about the students but it prepared me for life in high school. The classes I took in high school were almost like a review from information I learned in 7th grade, which I believe really shows something about the curriculum.


Posted January 24, 2010

My granddaughter has been there for five and a half years. Each teacher she has had so far has gone above and beyond. The administrators are approachable, they have values, wonerful skills in leardership for staff and children. The extra activites are amazing. They now have band starting in forth grade. Working with the teachers I have found that they all teach out of the box and take education to a new level. I have worked in the public school system and I can tell you this school has quality. The school prepares children for the higher levels of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

My son has been going to Sculptor for five and a half years and has gotten an excellent education tailored to his special needs. There are many opportunities for parental involvement and everyone from the support staff to the principal show a great deal of concern for the students, their education and their safety. The personal attention that each student receives cannot be matched in the public school system. I feel that we are getting a private school level of education for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

This school is by far the best in the area, as my children have been to four other schools before this one. The children get much more one on one than other schools. It is great for the younger grades because every class has a full-time teacher assistant. Many people hear myths about charter schools that are wrong, including uncertified teachers and large class sizes. These just aren't true. The teachers get along great because everyone wants to be there...why else would they take a pay cut from other county jobs. It is a tight knitted group of people who love what they do. What else could a parent ask for? If you are looking for the right school, make sure that you stop by and give Sculptor a look!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My children have been at Sculptor since 2000. We could not be more thrilled with this school. When my older children moved on to high school, they were well prepared to be successful. In fact, they entered high school with 4 high school credits. Teachers at the high school have commented that the Sculptor kids are the most prepared out of all the area schools. The Core Knowledge curriculum is awesome. It's a hands on curriculum, designed to prepare kids to be successful not only in school, but in life. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

For a school where I do not have to pay tuition nor deal with major politics, Sculptor is quite a value. For those parents who have not had to deal with sending their kids to private school, the politics dealt with at that level are horrendous compared to a charter school. Also, when dealing with our kids, we not only deal with educational issues, we deal with emotional issues as well. Flor example, is the teacher really being 'mean' or is this our child's perception? Every teacher that I have dealt with at Sculptor has been very receptive to meetings and problem resolution. Sometimes our little 'darlings' are not the darlings that we know in a school setting. I found this out over time with my son. If you find your child having issues, be proactive and communicate with the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

When we initially began sending our children to Sculptor, we were excited about the curriculum they offered and we could sense that the principal really cared about the students. In the last couple of years since there has been a new principal. Problems are not taken care of and there does not seem to be any genuine care for the concerns the parents have regarding issues at the school. When issues come up between parents and teachers, the administration always side with the teachers and do not really listen to the parents. We would like to say that the curriculum is exceptional and that is one reason that we have kept our children there. There are certain things that the school expects of parents; parents have expectations as well. Teachers should be kind to their students and not mean. There are some exceptional teachers, however, they are being drowned out by the mediocre teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

We started out very pleased with Sculptor but as the past two years we have become not so pleased with the direction this school has gone. Issues are addressed but never solved, they put you off give you answers you want to hear but when you go out the front door the old saying is true here out of sight out of mind. It wasnt alway this way at this school but things have really changed so it was time for us to move on for the good of our family but if you want to give this school a try good luck. But keep your eyes open and beleive in your children and not always the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I have two children at Sculptor and awaiting the entry of the third. This school has answered our prayers for a great education without worring if our children will be safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

My daughter just finished her first year at this wonderful school, and we just love it.It is really like a community where everyone knows one another, and everyone's goal is students safety, and education. I wish they would receive more money and support from the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

The teachers should be a little better at working with the students and explaining the work a little better. I am not very happy with Sculptor this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

my 3 kids have been in sculptor for 2 years now. we love it there. you get the public school that is small and personal like a private school. my kids have gotten a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

My children started going to this school five years ago. When they first started here the teachers and administration only focus was on the students potiential. Now, the principal, several teachers and almost all of the support staff has changed and I am highly disappointed in the school. My first grader cried in the mornings before school and when I picked her up after school. She finished her first grade year at Sculptor, but it was a chore. I changed schools for all of my children and they are much happier for it. My first grader is excited to go to school in the morning again. The public school she is at now had to hold her back in first grade again because she was not at the correct level. But in her class there are others that left Sculptor that had to be held back too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

We continue to be ecstatic about Sculptor Charter School. The parents are heard by the administration, and are also involved in a big way. Students are more interested in school when the parents are so involved. Our kids love going to school every day. They feel safe there because any problems are taken care of immediately and in a caring manner. At Sculptor, learning is fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 94%58%61%
Master's degree 6%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 Armstrong Drive
Titusville, FL 32780
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 264-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT