Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Addie R. Lewis School

Public | PK-8 | 623 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

My two elementary school daughters have attended Lewis for the past couple of years and we love it! The faculty and staff are warm, friendly, and easy to communicate with. They show a lot of concern and encouragement for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

My daughter has attended Lewis for the last 4 years. I've never been involved with a school where the teachers, administrators and staff have cared so much for the well being of my child. The communication between the school and parents is excellent. The principals, Mike Fantaski and Jason Driver are down to earth, professional men that welcome any care or concern of the parents and/or students. The small student body makes the people there feel like family. I only wish my other 3 children had attended Lewis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

This is my kids first year at Lewis and they absolutely love it! The teachers and staff are always so friendly. I love that my 3rd grader's teacher, as well as, my 6th grader's teachers are easy to get in touch with if I have a question (I have had many). You can tell they truly care about my kids and that makes me one happy mama! I highly recommend Lewis! It has been such a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

If I could rate this with no stars I would. We have mentioned to the school since kindergarten that we want to get our daughter tested for a learning disability and my daughter is now in third grade. Nothing has been done to help her. The teacher, principal, and counselor will tell you one thing but not follow through. She has been punished for not getting her work done fast enough and it is not fair to her. I do not recommend taking your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

A very unprofessional school, there is little communication from faculty to parents, I will say that if anyone else has a concern contact your school board, A.S.A.P.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2012

My son attended school between August 2011 and January 2012. I removed him, and placed him in a private school. The positive reviews are very deceiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I'm still a student at lewis. I'm going into eighth grade and I don't look forward to high school. I was a dancer for 6th and 7th grade and now i'm a cheerleader for 8th. I highly recommend this School. It will be one of the greatest decisions of your life :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

This has definitely been a disappointing year for us. Our transition from private school has hampered by the style of teaching and lack of communication and support. Unfortunately, the my child is the one that bears the brunt of this misfortune.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My son is on his second year at Lewis and this year I'm not happy with the vice principal calling me to inform me that my son is doing something wrong but doesn't know what he did so he still has to stay after. Teachers see you at the beginning of the year, do there talk about how your child needs help and they tell you that they are concerned so when you find a way to get him help they don't follow through on there end. I loved the school when he was in 6th but this year stinks and I'm looking into privet schools for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

Very good school with a great staff. There are a lot of choices of classes for the kids depending on what they are in to. I highly recomend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

Lewis Middle School is a very wonderful school. I am a former student that now moved on to being a freshman in high school. I honestly believe that Lewis is a school that is as good as it can possibly get. With the friendly atmosphere and small school, I truly found Lewis to be like a second home. I felt that I was always encouraged to try my best and to participate in the various programs offered there, from the offered sports to the fine arts. The parents have continuous involment through the teacher email system or simply calling the school to schedule one on one time with the principal. I would strongly reccomend Lewis Middle School to any parent looking for an excellent school with a friendly atmosphere for thier child. Now that I'm in high school, I find myself sometimes missing Lewis and all that it has to offer.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Black 13%
Two or more races 11%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%57%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

281 Mississippi Avenue
Valparaiso, FL 32580
Phone: (850) 833-4130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Okaloosa Stemm Center
Valparaiso, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT