Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

611 students|Okaloosa
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Addie R. Lewis School 2

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Leadership makes assumptions about the kids. My child was punished for something and no one took the time to actually find out the facts. As part of the leadership there, I would like to think they are also mentors to the children, so taking the time out to talk to a child and actually find out facts would be appropriate. I didn't want to believe the negative reviews, but they are pretty spot on. Stand up for your child and contact the school board if you feel something isn't right.

Addie R. Lewis School 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
My son was in the Special Education Classroom. I have nothing nice to say, and any statement I do say will be deleted even though my accusations against the teacher and school are verified and accurate. If you have a special Ed student in Okaloosa county-- McCay and private placement.


Addie R. Lewis School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My two elementary school daughters have attended Lewis for the past couple of years and we love it! The faculty and staff are warm, friendly, and easy to communicate with. They show a lot of concern and encouragement for the students.

Addie R. Lewis School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Lewis for the last 4 years. I've never been involved with a school where the teachers, administrators and staff have cared so much for the well being of my child. The communication between the school and parents is excellent. The principals, Mike Fantaski and Jason Driver are down to earth, professional men that welcome any care or concern of the parents and/or students. The small student body makes the people there feel like family. I only wish my other 3 children had attended Lewis.

Addie R. Lewis School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
This is my kids first year at Lewis and they absolutely love it! The teachers and staff are always so friendly. I love that my 3rd grader's teacher, as well as, my 6th grader's teachers are easy to get in touch with if I have a question (I have had many). You can tell they truly care about my kids and that makes me one happy mama! I highly recommend Lewis! It has been such a blessing!


Addie R. Lewis School 1

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
If I could rate this with no stars I would. We have mentioned to the school since kindergarten that we want to get our daughter tested for a learning disability and my daughter is now in third grade. Nothing has been done to help her. The teacher, principal, and counselor will tell you one thing but not follow through. She has been punished for not getting her work done fast enough and it is not fair to her. I do not recommend taking your children to this school.

Addie R. Lewis School 1

Posted November 20, 2012
- a teacher
A very unprofessional school, there is little communication from faculty to parents, I will say that if anyone else has a concern contact your school board, A.S.A.P.

Addie R. Lewis School 1

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
My son attended school between August 2011 and January 2012. I removed him, and placed him in a private school. The positive reviews are very deceiving.


Addie R. Lewis School 5

Posted July 12, 2009
- a student
I'm still a student at lewis. I'm going into eighth grade and I don't look forward to high school. I was a dancer for 6th and 7th grade and now i'm a cheerleader for 8th. I highly recommend this School. It will be one of the greatest decisions of your life :D

Addie R. Lewis School 3

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
This has definitely been a disappointing year for us. Our transition from private school has hampered by the style of teaching and lack of communication and support. Unfortunately, the my child is the one that bears the brunt of this misfortune.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Addie R. Lewis School
281 Mississippi Avenue, Valparaiso, FL  32580
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (850) 833-4130
Last modified Addie R. Lewis School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top