Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lithia Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 610 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Great school! I find the leadership at this school to be absolutely outstanding. They handle some difficult situations calmly and fairly. The teachers are definitely hit or miss, as indicated in many of the other reviews. I have two students at this school and am glad we moved here to be near this set of schools (we've been here two years). The parents are generally very involved, and the PTA teams up with the school to create some innovative fun activities for the kids that are well organized and executed. The school could be improved with much better communication of homework to parents. They have an online communication system, but the teachers are not using it. There is a lot of homework and sometimes we feel that we are doing a lot of teaching at home without knowing the lesson. At same time, though, I feel it's important for parents to play a role in their child's education. I would also like to see better integration of topics across subjects and much more technology integration as well as a thorough discussion of digital literacy and plagiarism. All-in-all, though, it's a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is the best school around, high quality, great staff.safe place to send my child in everyday.friendly teachers and staff ready to help when I needed to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

What do you think others should know. I am very impressed with the level of student safety witnessed at dismissal time. Hanging name tag in all vehicles and the assistant principal walked the long line marking off each name on his list against the tag. Dismissal was orderly. The children were at the front curb in order of car pick-up. The back door was opened by a student monitor for my grandchildren to enter. Also, Lithia Springs Elementary is fortunate to have an armed police officer present on school campus every school day. I noticed a separate sidewalk with a dividing fence from driving area for parents to pick up their child, if walking.


Posted August 16, 2013

Incredible staff and individual attention to each of our children's needs. Proximity to Riverhills Community Club makes the location ideal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

This is our first year at Lithia Springs Ele. and I am very pleased. The staff is professional and friendly. They work very hard to create a happy, welcoming and fun environment for all of the students and families. My daughter's teacher brings out the absolute best in her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

There are some awesome teachers in this school, but this year my 3rd grader and 5th graders have teachers are very rude. Some teachers call crybaby to the students who does not do well or would yell at them if they don't get it at first time. Also no attention is giving to the kids who don't do well. Teacher and parent communications is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

LSES is a very serious school. Test scores, tests and disciple are held in the highest regard. Play and fun are scheduled activities. If you are looking for an academically rigorous school you will be very happy. The staff often seems stressed and unfriendly which is very concerning for an elementary school. The teachers use technology at a minimum. Only a few teachers have a web page and there is no use (in our case) of email to communicate school activities, homework or important dates reminders. I have also found LSES to be insensitive or uneducated on the unique lifestyles of military families and military children. They seem to have limited knowledge on how to manage and cope with these issues. The facilities at the school appear to be in good shape and well maintained. It also seems they have enough resources for all the children and there are no shortages of materials. The PTA is very active and engaged. They do an excellent job of getting information out to the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Major bullying issues which school seems to ignore or deny and this includes zero feed back on the zero-tolerance policy from hillsboro county school board. very disappointing..My child was crying sent back to class and told he handled being bullied wrong.Classes overload with adhd children which are very disruptive in class.My children helped get them the A ratings but it seems the children with more problems are the ones who receive the most benefit . school seems more concerned about receiving state funds &try to get ur child labeled so they can receive more money. past 2 years. I have had nothing but negative feedback and we are just holding are breath to get through this year..Teachers are great though can only teach so much when there are so many disruptive kids.They bus them in and have had issues with gang related kids/families
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

If you have a child who goes along right with the group and does exactly what is expected at all times, then it is a good school. Lithia is very rule oriented to a point of rigidity. Their ESE classes were moved to Valrico and this bothered me. They are not friendly about working with you if you have children with special needs, even minor ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Lithia Springs is an outstanding Elementary School. The staff are great, leadership is great, teachers are outstanding and they really care about the kids. The facilities are fairly new and well maintained, with an outside covered gym area. All four of my children have gone to LSES. FCAT testing is something all public schools in Florida are geared for now thanks to No Child Left Behind, which is unfortunate. The only way to get away from teachers teaching to a test anywhere in the U.S.A. now is to Home School. For a public school LSES is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I do afree they score high on state test levels because FCAT is etched in their brains from the first week of school. The office staff is OK, there are some really good teachers there, some of who have told me over the years they hate the FCAT test themselves. My 4th grader has already taken 8-10 FCAT practice tests, to teach them to fill in the cirles properly. Personally I'd rather have them learning phonics and times tables.... I've been here 8 years and its always the same parents doing everything then complaining the other parents don't help enough. As afr as the Drama program, thats for 5th grders only which costs 350.00 to perticipate. But first you have to try out for then play, last year 4 kids were left out (didn't make the cut) this year about 8. Excuse me, its a 'fifth' grade play,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Becuase they have really good teachers, who actually devote their time to helping kids, and not just doing it so they can get money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

We moved here from the D.C. suburbs in 2005. I was afraid of the pyublic schools here in Florida (based on my research). My child has now been at this school for 4 yrs and we couldn't be more pleased! The quality of her education has superb. There is a ton of parental involvement and the faculty is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Both of my children attended Lithia Springs from kindergarten through fifth grade. The staff has very high expectations and the school is academically focused, which is what parents in this community value. In addition to excellence in academics, the school offers music lessons, a drama program, and other opportunities for enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

We have been at this school for 6 years total (two children, 3rd and 5th). I would not recommend this school to anyone. The school focases on FCAT and AR(Reading Program) starting day 1 of school each year. They do very well each year on FCATS...but the basic fundementals of subjects are not taught . The AR program rewards the students who reach their goal and the students who do not are kept in their rooms and not allowed to participate in the special Activities and Carnival. This is a state FCAT Focused school....I am extremely disappointed in the teaching at this school but we are within walking distance and that is the only reason I stay. The kids are forced to focus on FCAT,FCAT, FCAT......I hate FCATS at this age....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My daughter is in kindergarten at Lithia Springs and I can only hope the rest of her years there prove to be as excellent as this first has been. Her teacher is wonderful to deal with and my daughter loves being there every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

Lithia Springs is an excellent school. The school continually ranks in the top ten in the district based on test scores. Teachers and administrators know each child and work hard to meet their individual needs. Parent involvement is encouraged, and many unique programs are offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I have been a parent at LSES for 12 years now. Never have I been disappointed in the quality of education that my children have received. The faculty and staff are wonderful. There is a very active PTA. Parents are always welcomed and appreciated. Students are treated respectfully. Many great programs and opportunities are available to include a science lab, computer lab, keyboard musical lab, drama program, morning show, peer mediation, safety patrol etc, not to mention the usual PE, Music, Art, etc. Principal is friendly, helpful and available. Great neighborhood, great families, great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Excellent school. My children have attended for three years now. We are very happy with the staff and quality of education. The gifted program has been wonderful for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

This is my child's first year at LSES. The PTA is the best part of the School. The teachers and Staff appear to be average in their skills and are not the friendliest group. I guess having to teach the FCAT could be culprit.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 8%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 5%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4332 Lynx Paw Trail
Valrico, FL 33596
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8016

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT