Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

338 students|Sarasota
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sky Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 09, 2016
- a student
Theyre are some that are good others that are not 8th grade is ok 7th is mediocre and 6th is meh

Sky Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a student
No not really they once again try but they dont understand that they are not getting the point across


Sky Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 09, 2016
- a student
Yes and no yes because they attempt to and do as best they can no because the teachers are lacking but theyre are some who are very good

Sky Academy 1

Posted May 09, 2016
- a student
This school could have been good but they have lost their chef and the fsa/fcat scores arent to hot, Please do not pick this school

Sky Academy 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
We love Sky! Our daughter is in her 3rd and last year at Sky, and I can tell you we are going to miss it! The Teachers truly care about the kids, and because it is a smaller school, the students are treated as such, and not as just a number or face in the crowd. I wish Sky could quickly expand and start a High School program..let's keep a good thing going! :)


Sky Academy 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 kids here. My oldest is in 8th grade, been there since 6th. And my youngest is in 6th. They both really enjoy it. We like the idea that it's a smaller school. I like that my children are not only learning academics but they are learning the importance of being healthy. Having a healthy lifestyle, by means of exercise and nutrition is just as important to us as having a strong education. This country has a huge epidemic with poor eating and lack of physical activity. SKY academy is trying to change that. Very pleased with our experience here.

Sky Academy 4

Posted July 29, 2014
- a community member
Sky academy is a really great school actually. The commit to their words with 2 active PE classes per day. The thing is, during FCAT week I find myself not really knowing the answers to half of the questions and going off of judgment. Maybe sky academy needs to focus more on academics than athletics? Also the locker rooms are a mess and we were promised new, two story locker rooms? Never happened.

Sky Academy 1

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
Wow, this school really had the potential to be great; however, the principal brought in for the 2013-2014 school year has just absolutely failed in his leadership. 2014 FCAT scores are out and this school has terrible scores! The percentage of 8th graders with a passing FCAT score are 50%-Science, 56%-Reading, 49%-Math & 42%-Writing!!! This middle school's scores ranked 3rd LOWEST in the district with only the reform school & 1 other scoring lower. That's a major FAIL for a school the wants to call itself a "High Performing Charter". I have many, many other criticisms of this school, but the academics have severely declined. Do your kids a favor and look to the many other high performing charter schools & regular public schools in Sarasota Distruct.


Sky Academy 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a community member
Bad school unethical staff 0 stars . 2012 -2013 seventh grade class. Almost everyone left except staff kids the beginning of the next year.

Sky Academy 1

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
The school was great I absolutely love the teachers with all my heart but one girl in my grade is bullying everyone and she was reported more than 5 times to the school and still wasn't kicked out the disciplinary people need to toughen up and kick the bullies out not give them another chance every time. This girl actually bullied one girl so much she left the school forever instead of the school kicking the bully out. And a few other kids left because of her too but were to scared to say anything . So bullying is a problem they don't take care of it unless they are boys the girls get away every time . Well if your kid loves getting bullied this is the PERFECT school!!!!!!! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Nearby schools

Sky Academy
701 Center Road, Venice, FL  34285
(941) 244-2626
Last modified Sky Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top