Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vernon Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 399 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

Vernon Middle School is a great school but there's always room for improvement!!! I like the fact that it's an family oriented school and for the most part everyone gets a alone, and if not the problem or issue is always handled in a professional manner. As far as improvements the academics area needs some help, but we have good teachers that care about our students and they will help anyway they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

The school is bad bad bad. I am or was a 7th grade student there . It was so bad with bulling . The make the kids cull i hate the school i am a ab honer student and i am disgusted by the way they are i wish the school would be shut down.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2010

vernon is a great school the teacher really like get to know you and the really teach the stuff to u the dont just tell u this is how you do it they teach you and show you i love vernon
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

Teachers are poorly trained and uncooperative with parents. School seems more interested in FCAT scores than in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

Vernon Middle School strives toward acedemic excellence in all areas! The teachers, staff, students and parents work as a community to help the students acheive all that they can!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2008

Vernon schools are exemplary! The teachers are the best with extreme dedication to instructing their students for bright futures!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

I love it here. moving from the city i didnt think i would like the towny town, but i am totally in love with it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

Vernon Middle has very high quality teachers and faculty. The children absolutely thrive on the small town atmosphere where parents are encouraged to be involved in all aspects of their child's education. I, personally, was very happy with the education and experience my children received. It prepared them for high school. Just like the disgruntled parents who posted before me, my children are ALSO top students in their class, very active in sports, high FCAT scores, and socially well adjusted. The difference is when I don't agree, or my child doesn't agree, with something that happened at school or a decision that was made, I use that as an opportunity to teach them a life's lesson (i.e. life doesn't always go your way, roll with the punches!) I am thankful for VMS. I do agree and wish there were more funds for the arts, track, and other extra activities. GO YELLOW JACKETS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

The Band Director has done an outstadning job with the students.I have two children attending VMS and both are in Band (different grades). The Band Director pushes them to be precise and to pay attention to their music. The Winter Concert sounded beautiful. This school also pushes all students to read, read, read; and they have creative writing built into their Language Arts curriculum. I like that as well. I wish the school had a dedicated track, and a dedicated field for gym, but perhaps that's a funding issue. I also wish there was an Art class available, but I think that's funding issue nationwide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

The teachers and administration at Vernon go out of there way to demean the kids and turn good kids bad. I am glad to be getting my child out while he is still a straight A student and top in his FCAT scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

The teachers and administration cause the kids at vernon middle to miss class over the silliest matters. They had my son out of class 4 times over one incident of forgetting his lunch. My child is a straight A student, head of his class, lead in AR points, and perfect scores on FCAT. The way they treat students and keep them out of class it is no wonder that the high school drop out rate is so high here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Black 16%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%79%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KIM REGISTER
Fax number
  • (850) 535-1683

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3190 Moss Hill Road
Vernon, FL 32462
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 535-2807

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT