Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vero Beach High School

Public | 9-12 | 2789 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2013

I just graduated, i am from a foreigner country and there were people trying to help and some good teachers, but the administration sucks, really, they basically walk around talk to each other and that's basically it, some teachers do not know how to teach and won't do anything but send you to a different room for foreign students, i have to say that the person there does everything that he can do, but i mean, come on, some teachers only open their mouths to say to take notes during the whole year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

I am a student here at VBHS and I am a new student and my experiences here has been extremely unpleasant. I come from a small alternative setting at my old school, and they have done nothing to help me adjust. The guidance counselors are extremely rude. I am failing all my classes, when at my old school I had honors. They don't offer a Alternate program at this school and they do not offer me any extra help or any other program. They simply give off the impression that they do not care at all. I do not recommend this school to any student that needs the extra help to get by in school. They have no made me feel welcomed at all. The school may LOOK nice but the teachers are awful. You can tell they are only there for the pay check and don't want to put the extra effort into helping a student like me. I am looking into switching schools cause I simply can't finish my high school experience here at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

I'm a senior at VBHS, and have been here all four years. My experience has been very positive. The large AP/honors program has helped me push my potential. Great teachers. The technical programs (like TV production...love that class) are fun and effective. And strong sports teams! Go Fighting Indians!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

ive gone to vero for all of 6monthes and i ove it... rock on vero!!! armed drill team and rotc are the bomb!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

I love it, just love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I like the school. Coming from CA from an area where schools were riddled with nasty gangs Vero is so peaceful and and the school seems just the way schools should be for children. I'm not crazy about Dr. Jones. he has gotten himself in more trouble with parents because he just does what he thinks is right before really looking into situations, and then realizing his judgement was wrong and passed to quickly. The school could use a different Vice Principal. That si my only complaint
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

I am a student here and i cannot stand this school. Yes this schools enviroment is crazy and it is hard to learn here. The whole ID things are out of control. They give you a detention if you dont wear them and that is just crazy enough. This school is out of control. I dont see how parents let thier kids go to a school like this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2007

The teachers are really great and really care about the students and are very pleasant. The Administration on the other hand are unprofessional and downright rude. My experience when in the Admin. office was I was kept waiting and they made you feel like you were bothering them. Why so many assistant principals? They walk around at dismissal time and never smile or acknowledge parents as they pick up their children. I think they should go back to school and learn interpersonal skills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I'm a student here and can say that I absolutely hate it this school. Behavior in the classrooms is out of hand sometimes. Though teachers are good and what not, I can't learn in such an environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2006

VBHS has gone downhill under principle Jane Hudson. The addition of too many Assistant Principles is just plain silly. The education you get is great but the atmosphere has really gone wacky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Very good school. Guidance Counselors really help you and know who you are and have you take classes that will help you in the future rather than taking classes you won't need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2004

My experience at VBHS was a positive one. Now attending college, I reflect back to my high school years and realize how much I have benefited from VBHS. The support for our cheerleaders, band, and football teams from our community was amazing. The teachers at Vero Beach High School really care about the students, which made VBHS a great experience that has prepared me for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

699 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

669 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

670 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

656 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

541 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Black 20%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 80%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%64%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1707 16th Street
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 564-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT