Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osceola Magnet School

Public | PK-5 | 532 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Osceola magnet is a wonderful school. We are so lucky to be able to send our youngest child there with her sister. Mrs. Parentela is a true testament to what a teacher should be! She is patient, understanding, loving and strict. All the things kindergarden children need!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This is a wonderful school! My girls love their teachers, campus and principal! We were so happy when the school moved closer to our home!


Posted September 26, 2013

Osceola is a great school! All the staff and teachers are top notch and very friendly. I have two distinctly different children/students and each of their needs are met whether it's through the gifted program or via extra help! I would strongly recommend this school to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Osceola is a fantastic school. The teachers greet their students by name and treat them all with the upmost respect. My little one started kindergarden this year and I was so released to see how everyone in the school acted professional and in the best interests of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

I am not sure what the previous parent is referring to. First, it is a magnet school based on a lottery system and a waiting list. It is done at the County level, not the school level, so there is no "in the know" to be had. My children have been attending OMS for 5 years, neither were in a class with a teacher's child but received exceptional quality of education and care. When my son became severally ill, the principal and the teachers were very caring and affectionate to him. Some field trips were cut due to the expense of them, while unfortunate, it happens and it was due to funds being cut to our school from the county level, not the principal's level, and happened to all school not just OMS. I find the entire staff to be very caring and the curriculum exceptional including Everyday Math (which is only at OMS and more in depth than the other math programs the County uses) and the use of gardens to extend the science knowledge as well as the science lab which is currently being expanded on. With all the adversities OMS had in the previous year, it was still an A school and I contribute that to the principal, teachers and parents. They pulled together to enhance learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

I was sadly very disappointed in this school. The gruff uncaring attitude started when the kids walked in the door. A small handful of teachers here are seen "as the teachers to get" you know if your child is in the class of the "teacher to get" because it is filled with other teachers children. There are very few slots left for people that are not in the know. The school is suppose to be a math and science based school and yet they do no extra curriculum, the principal would not allow it to happen. For example, the principal was and is the downfall of this school. The previous principal would foster science camp for the 5th grade students. The current principal would not allow the children to go. Her answer seemed to be no for any question. I have never seen her interact or hug a child, it struck me as odd. Also, when the school board said they were going to move the school she never bothered to speak up or hold them to their word of building a new school for Osceola. If I was the principal I would have fought tooth and nail for my school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

excellent school, excellent teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The kids learn in a nurturing environment where each individual's needs can be either met or challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

THE VERY BEST ELEMENTARY SCHOOL IN VERO BEACH. Run like a privet school, and nice size class rooms (18 kids to a class). QUALITY TEACHERS and STAFF provide a family friendly campas. The kids enjoy the park like grounds the school sits on. I can not think of another school that has such a nice fish pond with a waterfall in the tropical landscaped courtyard. My son loves going to school and LOVES ALL HIS TEACHERS! I know how much they care about him and always know he is in good hands when I drop him off. I as a parent and my wife could not be any happier. Thanks for all you do everyday, Keep up the good job!:-) Michael and Denise
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

OMS is the place to be!!! I love the interactive learning environment (ie: class gardens) that have been created over the years. I can swing by to have lunch with my child any day of the week at any of several outdoor pinic tables. Every year the parents acheive well above their required volunteer hours. This all works to better support to our teachers & our children. The test scores only confirm what OMS parents already know. This is the best school in Vero Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

My daughter is in 1st grade at osceola and started in kindergarten and i absolutley love this school. Or brother will be following her just the same. The teachers are wonderful. We have not had any problems with anybody at the school. Teachers are very caring and ready to help with anything. It is an older school so not so wow when you walk in but the education the children get is way more important than that. My daughter loves it and the kids have parents that care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

I recently toured this school to see how it measured up to others since my daughter will be starting kindergarten in the fall of 2006. I had the opportunity to look into all of the kindergarten classes and observe teacher and student interaction. Kids seemed confident! I was impressed with how the class was laid out in stations, with the mutltiple computers in each class, as well as the organization of each class. The school was clean as can be, too. Music, art, sports and other activities are offered every day, and parent involvement is a requirement- you must put in a certain number of hours and if you don't your child can be sent back to their home school. Their library was especially nice- very large, colorful, a place that kids would be attracted to visiting often with computer access too. Tour was two hours- they spent time with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Osceola Magnet school is one of the best elementary schools we have encountered in Indian River. We interviewed several and chose Osceola due to it's light and bright atmosphere, superb teaching staff and outstanding growth. We have watched the shool and the teachers mature. Having had 2 children attend, both have turned out to be stellar students and will someday be an asset to the community. The teachers at Osceola have been and continue to be our friends and my hat is off to them for all they do. The level of parent commitment is key. It is mandatory to participate in your childs class and activities, at least 10 hours per year. This is an awareness level that all parents should be privileged to witness. Thanks Osceola!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

It's a wonderful academic learning environment with a strong focus on science and math. They provide opportunities for your child to participate in extracurricular music. I was surprised when I got a note stating that he auditioned and was accepted into the Osceola 'band.' This was a surprise to us, since we didn't know he had musical skills. This is an opportunity he would not have been afforded otherwise. Osceola brings out the best in your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Statistically, it is the best school in the county. They say they're a Math/Science school. I would not call it a math school only because they don't do anything different. Before the county went to a county wide math program, Osceola used the same math program many other schools in the county used. But because this school has an exceptionally high level of family volunteers, the students excel in everything they do. Whether it be the PTA funded Spanish programs or the take home science kits. They are a FL state pilot school in Music and the school has a lot of resources to do fantastic things. It's a fantastic school because the families have made it that way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

We had had a great experience with Osceola Magent School. the staff has been caring and the parent involvement is a great plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

My daughter attends Osceola, and she loves it,and its easy to see why, the teachers and staff are worldclass, the curriculum challenges the students and is the very reason this school places at the very top year in and year out, I am most impressed with the level of parent involvement, and I am as proud as I can be, to be able to say my daughter is a student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

Both of my children attend Osceola Magnet and I am so pleased with the staff and curriculum. Parent involvement is essential to a childs education and it is evident at OMS. I'm so glad my children have the opportunity to attend such a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

I had two children attend Osceola Magnet School. I never thought I would be so pleased with a public school. Parent involvement is awesome. Osceola has wonderful, caring, well educated teachers and staff and a principal that is absolutely awesome. I can truly say that I feel both of my boys are better people today due in part to their experience at Osceola Magnet School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Black 12% 23%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%64%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 18th Ave
Vero Beach, FL 32962
Phone: (772) 564-5821

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Willow School
Vero Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT