Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gifford Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 872 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Gifford Middle School. My son is now finishing 8th grade (I hope) and I will be so glad when he's done. There are some GREAT teachers, but I believe their hands are tied. The problem is in the administration. The bullying problem is paramount to anything else they have there; it needs to be dealt with firmly. It has been a VERY rough year for my son (and I, trying to keep him safe).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

I used to be a student at gifford middle school (I was well known) the locker stealing is a major problem and the if u chew gum in class you will get a detention rule (thats a stupid rule) other things should be top priority than giving detention to the students for chewing gum (and if students want to dye their hair light red and brown and or blonde or black (let them ) that rule is stupid too (like I said other things TOP PRIORITY other than suspending students for dying their hair or not letting them back at school until they cut their dyed hair off) gifford middle needs to have more TOP PRIORITIES (than disciplining students for stupid stuff)


Posted February 12, 2014

Again I used to be a student at gifford middle (6th 7th , 8th and I got held back in 8th grade ) the school changing now , they are putting a buzzer gate up (wow gifford has over 60 security cameras ) and the bullying needs to end ( gifford needs to seriously focus on the bullying ) when I was going to gifford for the 4 years that I went it was insanley bad . That school had so many problems it wasnt even funny, I am very disappointed in GMS (and always will be disappointed in GMS) Don't even get me started on the hands off policy (you couldnt even hold hands with a boyfriend or high five a friend) tell me how stupid is that? And Rebound oh my god rebound is like jail for innocent kids (the teachers dont know how to teach now a days they just give out papers and sit at their desks and grade papers. The teachers are lazy now. My experience at gifford was not an excellent one (the fights are way extreme) , kids belittling others (kids are afraid to go back to school because of how they arw treated by bullies and teachers ) its crazy) the schools have gone completely NUTS , kids will DROP OUT of gifford middle school (dont go to gifford (get your GED) LIKE I AM .


Posted August 16, 2012

There is to much smoking in the bathrooms and the bullying and fighting is terrible. We need some control in these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Good school not challenging at all i wish those teachers could challeng me a bit more and the bathroom is disgusting as well as the bullying


Posted June 20, 2009

GMS is a great school, academically. There are great teachers and i cant imagine going anywhere else for middle school. I do think they should focus a little more on the bullying issues and the locker stealing issues than the fact of chewing gum or something stupid like that though. But, besides that, great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

I am an eighth grader currently attening Gifford Middle School. GMS is a great school for learning, but not a great school to escape from the bullying problem. The teachers are strict when it comes to fights and the hands off policy. Especially the principal, Mr. David Kramek. But not so much when it comes to people lowering your self esteem. People belittle others so much. Its quite stupid. Some students get belittled so much they are afraid to come to school because of it. The problem with that is, the students that are the worst are the ones that act like perfect angels. As a student, I'm being pretty hypocritical, but the students that never get in trouble are the ones that are the worst when it comes to belittling others. I see it everyday. Don't you agree with me?
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

OK, so this is my first year at GMS and so far, I love it! All of the teachers are so nice, you just have to behave.If you dont, than your done! The only things i disagree with are the hand-off policy. If yiu give someone a high five you get in trouble! Also, the bathrooms are absoluteky disguisting! I mean honestly, can we please get a janitor in there! **Yuck**
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Giifford Middle has HUGE Bullying problems and i as a 7th grade student know what has been going on for the past two years. The Bathrooms are disgusting the locker small and us not being able to carry backpacks and have lockers whats up with that? This School needs to change for the better. Our school is full [of mean people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

I think this school should concentrate more on the bullying factor and less on the dress code. Too many kids are being messed with. Not cool...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I think Gifford middle school is a great school and my daughter is learning very well. She also loves it and would rather go there then any other local public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

I do agree that some of the teachers are harsh,at times, but I still think its a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

I was a student at Gifford Middle School last year, and I disapprove with some of their policies. The student population was way above what the teachers could handle. Over 1,300 students went in the 2006-2007 year alone. The rules sounded very harsh to an innocent student. the school had a hands-off policy in which you can't even high-five somebody or give a pat on the back. But the teachers never handled the rules correctly. I was disappointed in the way kids were punished. Many of them were given a warning when they punched somebody! Also, the education was not challenging in most classes because they had some children in advanced classes who needed extra time to understand the activity. I joined advanced classes for just the opposite. Over all, don't go to Gifford.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2005

There are some teachers that do not do a good job of teaching. For a bright child this is not the school of choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2003

After reading the statistics from Greatschools.org regarding the lack of experience and advanced education of teachers at Gifford MS, I feel a need to comment. My son is in his second year and doing well, in spite of having ADD. His teachers have made school interesting and fun, while managing to give him a good education. School spirit is very high among students. Perhaps it is the youth and vitality of these teachers that they inspire and contribute so much. My son has found role models and a quest for learning at GMS. Mr. Srigley's band concerts have been awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter has been there for three years and the school is excellent. The quality of the teachers is outstanding. They are all very interested in the students as well as their career in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Both of my children are enrolled at GMS, and both are receiving an excellent education. They are happy and feel secure in their academic environment, and I believe both are truly becoming self confident and growing as individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

273 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

281 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Black 26%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%64%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4530 28th Court
Vero Beach, FL 32967
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 564-3550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Peter's Academy
Vero Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT