Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian River Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 673 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

I absolutely loved it. I made my own schedule, open campus basically the best teachers. Wish i could go back!


Posted May 31, 2014

Our daughter had an exceptional experience at IRCHS. This is a performing arts school and for students who work hard will be rewarded with lots of opportunities to excel. Administrators and faculty are hands on and dedicated to the success of the students. Charter students are required to be responsible as it is an open campus. A great school environment with no drugs, fights, bullying. School drug tests and has zero tolerance. Fantastic opportunity for any student with a focus in the Arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

This school is amazing. I love coming here everyday. I come early and leave late. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2013

My daughter attends this school and it has changed her life. She has become a stronger student, a better communicator and an inquisitive learner. The performing arts program (VAPA) is amazing. If you don't go to the school, you should go and see one of their performances
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

As my child prepares to graduate from the Charter High School I feel that people need to know what an amazing school this is. Everyone that works at the school is there to benefit the students, and it doesn't matter if they are a teacher, counselor or even the security guard. They all look out for, listen too, and care for each other. The charter high school students have many different personality types, and yet every one gets along. It is truly a place for teenagers to grow and become more independent. The teachers really focus on your child, and their future. Great things are to come from students graduating from the Indian River Charter High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

My student was falsely accused of academic honesty at this school. When it became clear she was not cheating, no one offered an apology. If you attend this school, be certain to copy and save all homework assignments and doctor's notes to support absences because the teachers and administrators lose these items constantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The school really focuses on the student's future..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

Charter is an amazing school. In my opinion, the best in the county. It is the only school that, to my knowledge, offers dance, art, piano, jazz, orchestra, chorus, golf, and other art classes. Additionally, it is on the same campus as Indian River State College. Duel Enrollment is extremely common. IRCHS provides every duel enrolled student with free books for all their colleges classes (as well as high school classes) that would otherwise could hace cost hundreds each. Students DO get demerits if they have an unexcused absense to class. If students want a more challenging curriculum, I suggesst that they enroll in duel enrollment, AP, or Honors courses instead of complaining that the classes aren't difficult enough. The teachers are friendly, smart, and caring. The students are very talented and their is no shortage of personality. IRCHS is by far the best in the county.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2009

It is the best for education, independence, and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Fantastic atmosphere for learning with the opportunity to walk to the State College for dual enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I graduated from IRCHS in 2009 and the teachers are awesome. The teachers were very caring and helped students achieve thier very best. IRCHS offered a great learning environment and while there I was also able to do dual enrollment classes which is making college much easier since I completed all my general education classes! Great school!!!


Posted October 21, 2009

The teachers know us all by name not just an ID number. The staff really does care about the well-being of all the students and together we all help create a safer, friendlier environment for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

child to teacher ratio - outstanding. teachers really care for the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I feel the school really cares about the students and their learning. It allows them to think for themselves and be responsible for their actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My son has been attending this school for the 1st time this year...He has just flourished with the treachers and staff, that just CARE for their students!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Indian River Charter High School has a great many opportunities for a student. Being a junior at IRCHS, i have learned a lot from my teacher's excellent, hands-on labs and curriculum. Since Indian River Charter High School is a short distance away from Indian River State College, this provides an opportunity for students at IRCHS to earn a degree before graduating from our school. We may have a small amount of 600-700 students, but the learning opportunities are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Indian River Charter High School has excellent education standards, great campus, and the teachers create suburb, hands-on curriculum. The Science classes have many labs; for instance, we are mummifying fish in my Marine Science class for the Egypt Hands-on Museum coming up on soon in November. The Commercial Art/Web Design classes are creating their own topics off of the current time period that the entire school is following this year. This year, at IRCHS, we are doing from the beginning of time to 800 A.D. Many Projects in all of the classes are based around this era of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Incredible teachers + Rich diversity + Caring administrator + Helpful staff + Superb facilities = IRCHS !!


Posted October 20, 2009

Our School is a place that offers variety of courses for students, an outstanding arts department, and excellent academic and physical ed courses. There is a big sunny campus with options for everyone to get to know one another,during classes and also during the many activities outside of curriculum schedules. The faculty & administration have been supportive and friendly, so it's a pleasure to be here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2009

As a parent, I feel like my child is at a caring school, not 'lost in the system' of a larger school. Teachers are personal and know their students, and that makes a world of difference during the transformative teenage years!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

152 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
79%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 11%
Black 5%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 43%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/AN/A
Female 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%68%65%
Master's degree 36%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6055 College Lane
Vero Beach, FL 32966
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 567-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Vero Beach High School
Vero Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT