Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North County Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 256 students

We are best known for Consistently being and A+ Schl.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

Amazing! Effective teachers who smile and seem to truly enjoy teaching. Friendly, professional, knowledgable principal. Calm and organized environment. Happy children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I have had 2 daughters attend this school & I have absolutely NO complaints about this school or the staff. My oldest attended 2005-2011, her grades & test scores were all high. My younger daughter started attending in 2008 & is about to complete 4th grade, her grades & test scores are all high. To the 2 previous complaints, are you parents involved in your children's educations? I have always been a firm believer that the parent should be very involved & it should not be just left to the teachers. When you see your child's grades dropping are you taking the steps to help them - you can't put it all on the teachers. Whenever I go to the parent/teacher meetings & the teacher brings up my daughters weaknesses - I help them at home to improve & get them back on track. The Miller family does not just care about money! They are some of the nicest people I have ever met, & that is why I feel I must defend them. Some schools are just not a good fit for some children. North County Charter School was and is the best choice for my children - I feel the teacher's are top notch! I have never doubted my decision on sending my daughters here =) GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Choosing this school was the worst decision I've ever made Kids don't get the help they need and it's by a family that only care about money. The principal is a two face has no control of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

These parents apparently like the teachers but are they not paying attention to the children's scores. Do you not see thier scores are dropping as they advance in grades? Does that not bother you? If the FCAT is the only thing you have to go by you should be paying attention to the scores and they dropped continually from grade 3 to grade 5. I give the school a 5 and the parents a 3. Wake up!


Posted May 27, 2009

I love this school as a New Yorker when i got here i brought my children to Fellsmere Elementary--was not right for them-so someone told me about The Charter School--Mrs.Miller the Principal is one of the nicest people iI have met.I am very proud of my children whom receives Honors every month.One child still attends.Thanks to all of the Teachers 'Great Job'. Sincerely, Laura Gassert
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I really just wanted to take the time to say THANK YOU to the entire staff. There are no words to fully express my thoughts about this school! Our family is relocating and we are praying to be able to find a school, that can provide the excellence that North County has in so many ways. Good luck and best wishes in your relocation next year. Mrs. Jones (4th grade teacher) special thanks to you for, everything! Mrs. Miller- you are wonderful, we need many more people like you and your teachers everywhere! Sincerely, Michael & Shellie Connolly (extremely satisfied parents of two children who attended your GREAT little school!) Good Luck, next year to all of the students from Brian & Savannah)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

I love the 2 teachers that I've had (kindergarten and first grade)! And my principal! And we all know eachother!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

North County Charter is more than I dared hope for from a school. My son is an excellent student because he has excellent teachers and directors (his parents aren't so bad either) who all support each other. The dedication of the faculty, administration and staff is quite impressive. The core knowledge curriculum they espouse is fundamental for future educational success. Their emphasis on character and respect is imperative for personal success. Regarding art, music and sports - our son recently gave us a couple of short lectures, one on DaVinci and one on the composer, Paul Dukas. He gets a good daily exercise/play period. The only problem is what will we do after 5th grade! We wish Mrs. Miller and the other Directors would open a middle and high school. We will forever be grateful to NCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My Child has been in North County since 2nd grade. I have no regrets about sending him here.It has been a pleasurable experience for both my child and myself. I like the small classroom atmosphere and also the uniform requirement. I have been pleased with all that we have experienced at North County Charter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I really like NCCS it is a great school.I would like to see more programs that involve physical education activities,also more involvement with computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

I think that this is a great school. My sons went here until we moved. I would reccomend this school to anyone. The teachers and principal are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Hispanic 22%
Black 16%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%64%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 2005-2006-2007-2008-2009 We were an A School (2005)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. ELIZABETH MILLER
Fax number
  • (772) 794-1945
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Sebastian Elementary
Pelican Elementary
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6640 Old Dixie Highway
Vero Beach, FL 32967
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 794-1941

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Peter's Academy
Vero Beach, FL


Wabasso School
Sebastian, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT