Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wellington High School

Public | 9-12 | 2367 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2007

Two of my children graduated from Wellington High School and my youngest will graduate in May 2007. The principal is excellent and so are the teachers. I could go on and on about the good academics and extra curricular activities, but the simple truth is - when a school has a principal who actually likes and respects the students - you can't go wrong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Our daughter graduated from WHS in 2006. The quality of academic atmosphere put her in a fantastic position for college prep. Cannot say enough good things about Cherly Alligood, Principal and Jane Brown, in Guidance. Loved WHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

This school is the best for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is my son's senior year at WHS. We have been thrilled with his education here. The vast majority of teachers really care about their students' success and go the extra mile on their behalf. After-school Math Lab was an excellent aid for him. Our experience with sports was also favorable. The sports teams are only as good as those who participate on them. We feel this is a safe school, with an over-all positive attitude towards molding today's teenager into tomorrow's young adult. In our opinion, they've earned their 'A' rating. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Wellington is a great school full of learning opportunities. The teachers and staff are great and the environment is inviting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2006

This is a great school. My children are very happy here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Great extracurricular activites, great parent and teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2005

I would say this school is very good but, the experience we had while our sons were there could have been better. we thought that the counselors, and teachers were not qualified to do the job they were doing. Apparently most of the teachers are getting bad reputations because of those other teachers that have power trips. Please note we loved the school 6 years ago when we first moved to wellington but its not the same any more.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 20, 2005

This school even though it has a great image, the inside is less than perfect. There has been fights in class in front of teachers, muggins etc..and this is all swept under the rug, so long the image is not tainted. I would bet that more than half the teachers would not be able to recieve a 2.0 if they were to attend their own classes. The school is not really a safe place. I dont need 150 words to say that this school is not 'A' rated for REAL. I hope to pull my kids out soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

The academic programs are good. The football program is very disorganized and the coaches are clueless. Other than the football program the school is very good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2004

It's a good school, but very large. This is a double edged sword giving the kids a lot of opportunities, while also increasing the probability of missing out on opportunities. For example, in a school with over 3,000 students, only the very best get to be on a lot of the sports teams. Teachers vary, some are superb, others forget that they are to teach not promote their personal agendas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

574 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

531 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

548 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

591 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 27%
Black 14%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 86%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MARIO CROCETTI
Fax number
  • (561) 795-4934

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Greenview Shores Boulevard
Wellington, FL 33414
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 795-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


College Assist
Wellington, FL


Education Place
Wellington, FL




Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT