Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Polo Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 833 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

what is wrong with people that make up stories about things. I was going thru this to see what people wrote and wondered what goes through their heads when they make up nonsense. GANGS? really. this is the thurd year my son is going to that school and havent seen any "GANGS" .... yes some in front office needs to go..but overall the school is great, teachers are mostly very good...of course as it is in every school there are exceptions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

Every parent will have a different experience in any school. We moved down to Wellington from NY and I have to admit that I was a bit concerned after reading some of the posts on this site - and others. We decided to give it a try anyways. I can honestly say that we really like pretty much everything about Polo Park after the first year. With this first hand experience we wonder if some of the earlier comments/ posts actually refers to another school ? What we have found are great teachers and a truly diverse group of seemingly happy kids and parents that care. No bullying which was a major issue up north. This is honestly the best school any of our kids attended, really, compared to schools in NY, NJ and CA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I currently have 2 children attending Polo Park and both are very happy. They enjoy their teachers as well as their classmates. Neither has had any issues with bullying. As for the principal, Mrs. Clark, she is great. She has a positive attitude and believes in rewarding the children for both academics and behavior. Nothing is ever perfect but all in all Polo Park is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

To the parent who commented on 12/10/2013: please call our guidance department at 561-333-5581. I am very concerned that we may not have met the needs of a child. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback so that we can make necessary changes to best serve our students. Angela Mazzocco, Polo Park Guidance Coordinator.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2013

HUGE disappointment!! We thought Ann Clark would be great changes but it's still the same. Everything gets brushed under the carpet! She needs a new staff so the changes can be implemented. I refuse to send my children there next year I'd rather homeschool than deal with lazy guidance counselors! No great strides being made except they're trying to put themselves back on the map with the science fair that was held. Parents there are much better options!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Polo Park Middle is so trashy and horrible. I've been to that school in the sixth grade and alot of kids were picking on me saying curse words to me and I told the teachers and they didn't care. This school is just the worst. I hated those kids and teachers in there I will never forgive them for what they've done to me.


Posted April 24, 2013

Polo Park Middle-How does this school perform? Student conduct and grade performance, are they up to par? Please let me know of the reputation of this school. Please advise. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

Mrs. Clark is making changes. There is more focus on academics. Administrators are there to run the school and keep the students safe and do a good job. My child is safe, receiving an education from teachers who care about her, and has met good friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

3 principals in 3 years! Ann Clark has been the worst. Selling my house just to get away from this school so my younger one doesn't have to attend. Protects her teachers even when they are wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

Polo park is a great school the teachers are great and the campus is nice and big. I am a student of 2011-2012 and going back for 2012-2013. Some of the teachers I do not agree with but we work it out and I still get a good grade for the semester. The only thing I would change is the fact that you can only take Spanish in you 8th grade year but other than that i give it a thumbs up. It is very diverse and I haven't actually witnessed any bully but there are good people there just a few that always star drama. The dress code is amazing. We also recently got a new principal and I hope she is a good one too. GOOO STALLIONS !!


Posted April 10, 2012

I went to PPMS for my sixth grade year and had a wonderful time. There is nothing wrong with this school. Everyone is treated fairly, and the teachers really care. I personally thnk it's the best school in Palm Beach County. Also, they go on lots of fun trips (all grades).


Posted December 20, 2011

I have been at this school since 6th grade and I cannot say much about this school. Sure the teachers are nice and some of the students but there is no control or organization. The teachers do not have control over the students and some classes have gotten to be a disaster, and we dont get the required learning. Some people say the bulling is all outside the school but the truth is the teachers never pay attention to whats going on in classes, in the cafeteria, in the halls and on the bus. Teachers should try to be less ignorant and pay attention to what is always going on. One last thing is that the age groups should not be mixed. lots of older kids take advantage of the younger ones and it results in bulling which again teachers dont notice. I am at a new school now and i love it. There is not a lot of bulling and if there is any the teachers are very strict about it and solve the problem right away. The counselor is constantly talking to us about bulling and how to prevent it and why.


Posted August 31, 2011

i love my new school polo park middle school. its great because every body is nice and never is bad to you. and this is my first time being at polo park . i love you polo park middle school!


Posted August 24, 2011

I have been very happy with Polo Park. I've had 2 children here (1 still attending) My children have been very happy with their teachers (for the most part) I have always had great communication with every teacher I've needed to speak with in person or via email. The office staff including the counselors are always helpful and want what is best for the students. We've had several Principal's so can't really comment on what type of job they are doing, but my son is doing well and I'm happy and he's happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I'm a student that just passed 6th grade going into 7th this year. Polo park is a very great school! And you should believe that coming from a student! the lunch is terrific, 6 grade teachers are super nice and so is our staff and principals and assitent principal! I had a great time at Polo park and for the first time in MY life! I actually wanted to be back in school! I Love Polo Park!:D


Posted May 18, 2011

This school is truly horrid. Bullying and gangs are huge issues and the teachers do not care whatsoever. If you are a good parent you won't send your child to this school. If I had to rate it 1-10 I'd give it a -14. It is HORRIBLE! So much drama and fights happen and the kids are never under control. Don't send your child to this school!!!!


Posted March 23, 2011

My child's best friend go's to this school. The homework is very reasonable and the school is very clean and the students are very polite and kind. She is going to be in 6th grade next year and her friend is going to be in 7th so i'm going to to also put our daughter in the school next school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This school is amazing! It's not perfect but all in all, the administrators and teachers do an awesome job of keeping a bevy of middle schoolers engaged in learning. This is a clean, safe and fun environment. It is technologically up-to-date. The principal is accessible to parents and students alike. Other staff are quick to return a call. Quite a few of the teachers are inspired and that positive outlook impacts the students. The biggest report card is student behavior. The kids are definitely kids but they are polite, knowledgeable and funny. Compared with many crumbling, violent middle schools filled with apathetic children who are treated like inmates, Polo Park is a paradise. Count your blessings before you complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

My child is a student here. She likes the school a lot. I have no complaints as far as peer pressure. She made the Honor Roll and teachers seem to make the transition from elementary to middle manageable for the kids. I am happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

This is the worst school my child ever attended. The academics are very poor. The students do not have homework, therefore they do not get involved in school work and learning. Most teachers do not seem to care much for the students and some teacher talked to them with lack of respect using vulgar words.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

212 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 29%
Black 15%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANN CLARK
Fax number
  • (561) 333-5505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11901 Lake Worth Road
Wellington, FL 33449
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 333-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





College Assist
Wellington, FL


Education Place
Wellington, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT