Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Polo Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 833 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2006

Polo park is a great school. I have to kids and they love it. And they have two step brother and sister that also go there and the say all the teachers are great and they enjoy learning. I am really happy that I had my children go to this school. It was a wonderful experiance to have them come home every day and explain what they would do and if I could I would help them with their homework if they needed it. Once again this is a great scool to send you child/children to. I am sure they will be in the best care a they possiably can be in. Please thake my experiance ino concideration. Thank you, vanessia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

As a student I think that polo park is the worst school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2006

My child attended Polo Park this past year in the Gifted Program and it is a great school by Palm Beach County Standards. Our experience is that Edline is updated daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

GOod School Great Teachers Poor Principal Support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

SOME of the grade level office staff are unresponsive, irresponsible and incompetent. The few communications that do come home are often erroneous. Staff and teachers are more interested in keeping kids quiet and giving them busy work so the staff can pursue their own interests like chatting on cell phones, using the internet, or watching television during class time. Although there are a few effective teachers and staff there, I find that my concerns voiced to those in charge are never followed up on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I enjoyed this school very much I thought I learned alot. I learned all the basic subjects and received a variety of two elective classes of my choice. If I could choose a Middle School again Polo Park would be my number one choice.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 2, 2006

I agree with the previous post. The school is a disaster. There are fights all of the time and little constructive response from the administration. Trying to contact the administration is also difficult. Phone calls are not returned and if one goes to the school to see an administrator, they are always in a meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

This school is on the same par as you would find in an inner city. The teachers don't teach. The children don't learn. My son did get a perfect score on the FCAT's in consecutive years, but it had nothing to do with Polo Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I would advise parents to avoid sending their children to this school if at all possible. The administrative personnel are non-responsive to children and parents alike. They do not return calls. If you want your child/children to be in a good learning environment, this is the last place you want to send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

The academic programs at Polo Park prepare students for high school. Extra Curricular programs go begging for staff sponsorship with the exception of chorus, sports, and cheerleading. My children love to go to school. Behavioral issues are generally mild and delt with fairly. As is true with all Palm Beach County Schools, the enrollment is large (1600+) but they are ahead of the curve in limiting class sizes to well below 25 in most cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

My son attended Polo Park for grades 6-8 and graduated to high school two years ago. He was required to take a remedial math course to improve his FCAT score, which I thought was a great idea. Unfortunately, there was no classroom for the class and they had to meet in a large storage closet inside another classroom. The Intensive Math teacher showed Disney videos 2-3 days per week (for the entire class) instead of using the time to teach the students math. When I questioned the teacher about this policy, I was told that he normally rewarded the students with a movie every other day if they worked hard in class. My son entered high school very unprepared for Algebra I or any FCAT improvement. Luckily, some excellent math teachers in high school have made up for what was seriously lacking in this math program at Polo Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

Polo Park is the best school my daughter has gone to! She is in the gifted program and she has the best teachers! She has so many friends and loves it! Its just a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

Polo Park is a great school with a lot of hard working teachers. There are a lot of extracurricular activities available to students. Pass program for students who are struggling.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 24, 2005

I spent three years at Polo parka and I have no complaints. The staff is awesome and the envirmento is safe,caring and set for laerning.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2004

Communication between school administrators and parents is sorely lacking. The expectation that 11-year-olds be responsible for all communication to and from school is naive. Contacting teachers is very diffucult. Few use the Edline system. The school's web site has not been updated since May 2003.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Polo Park is a very well organized school with wonderful teachers. I was there for 3 years & we had the best time we could possibly have as teenagers. There are multiple fights but they are dealed with quickly & the fights arent talked about too much which keeps all of us focused for our classes & learning enviroment. The schools activites are great for learning but, also fun which is why we are always excited to enter each class. There are lots of sports to choose from at Polo Park which keeps alot of us young ones out of trouble so I would definately recommend this school too many friends & as well as their parents. The prinicple Mrs.Gregory is great! Ive known her for 9 years and everyone of her students have grown to love her her like we love our parents!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 10, 2004

This school is like a zoo. I work for a large fortune 500 company and have not experienced the politcs or red-tape as I did while my son attended this school. Fighting is everywhere, if your child is assaulted and he/she fights back forget they will be suspended. Who can learn under these conditions!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

polo park is one of the best middle schools around.The principal is wonerful and runs a tight ship, as well as being fair.I would highly recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I have to agree with the other parent. My son was there and always talking about fights and the trouble. The teachers are great but cant do much becuase of overcrowding. If your kid is a special needs, the wonderful ESE team will take more then one school year to handle the problem if they do it at all. But they are so nice at pacifying you. They will sooner send your child off to another school then admit they couldnt or wouldnt help, or didnt have the man power to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

212 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 29%
Black 15%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANN CLARK
Fax number
  • (561) 333-5505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11901 Lake Worth Road
Wellington, FL 33449
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 333-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





College Assist
Wellington, FL


Education Place
Wellington, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT