Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Polo Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 833 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2010

This is the worst school my child ever attended. The academics are very poor. The students do not have homework, therefore they do not get involved in school work and learning. Most teachers do not seem to care much for the students and some teacher talked to them with lack of respect using vulgar words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I've had 3 children attend this school and would highly recommend it. Actually all the wellington schools are A rated and I would definitely agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

ive been going to polo park in 6th 7th and 8th grade its not what it use to be. all you have to do is stay away from the wrong crowd and you'll be fine the teachers are extremly nice and the students are really friendly
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2009

as a student at polo park middle school i can honetly say that there are no longer and gangs. the teachers are involved and understanding, the students are friendly and just love to have a good time. There are pleanty of after school activitys to keep students busy. The sports program is undiscribible. The baseball and softball are county champs. As a sixth grader and i was extremly nervous about attending a new school ( i was at panther run last year, also a great school)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I went here for 6th, 7th and 8th grade. I had the best time of my life at this school. The teachers were great and the classes were fun. I honestly miss it and wish I could go back. It such a great school and a really nice environment. BEST SCHOOL A+
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

I have been teaching at the school since it's inception. I must say that I honestly would not work anywhere else. Some of the reviews are very unfair and completely one sided. While most schools have it's faults, and this one not being an exception, I believe the postivies far out weigh the negatives. I personally have had nothing but excellent students and positive experiences throughout my 8 years. My advice to all is to do your homework and find out about the teacher your child has. Stay involved and demand results for your child. If youare not informed or involved you have no one to blame but yourself. Ask other parents, ask oher students and go to parent meet your teacher night. We have great teachers at Polo Park but admittedly there are not-so great teachers as well. In the end the greatest teacher for your child is YOU.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2008

Most of the Gang stufff is gone now they starting to imporve. When I was in 6th grade there was to many gangs now there are barly any. I had some problems but if you know who to talk to your problems go away fast. The teachers there are understanding. Intesive reading has so of the best teachers ever and so dose math and history.The teachers know what they are doing and Help the syudents when need.The school is a Fabulous school, and there is only about 900 students most who are very friendly. This is a above average school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2008

This school has gone downhill since Mrs. Gregory left. I had one son in there with her and one in there with the new Principal Mrs. Andrews. I am not happy with this school. There are some things that are good like updating Edline everyday, but others are terrible. Think twice before moving near this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

Quite frankly the experience that one will gain from this school is based on what kind of classes you are in and how advance you are. I personally wenthere and was ok, to put it lightly. I had reasonable teachers, although many of them were spoiled and full of themselves, although they were very nice to us. But, the only reason as to why this was was because of the fact that I was in all advance classes. Now my younger brother was in the regular system and even some remedial classes. Now his teachers were horrible to him and his fellow students, they would only threaten to send them down to ISS (In-school suspession) opposed to teaching them anything. Now on both of our ends we agree that the Assistants principals are horrible, they do not want to actually work. So overall this school is definetly not the best choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

I'm a current 8th grade student at Polo Park. People in my opinon either love it or hate it. It basically depends what 'crowd' you are in. Some of the teachers are caring, attentive, and respectful. The lunch system is horrible. We have to wait 30 minutes to buy a totally piece of pizza and then have 10 minutes to eat. Yes, this school is full of all types of crowds.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

The teacher dont care about the students, dont do anything to help them, and the very few extracurricular activities are very poor made. This is school is in need of new staff and especially a new Principal. The dicipline is also applied excesivly in the cafeteria, but none is applied outside the cafe. Fights occur frequently. The only thing that i did like about Polo was my 8th Grade science teacher and dismisall bell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2007

As a graduating student of Polo Park Middle School, I have come to realize that Polo Park does not deserve it's A raiting. With an exception of about two teachers, all of the staff are grumpy and unfreindly towards the students. There are no locker spaces for students, and hallways are overcrowded. Classes are spaced out, and it takes more than the 5 minutes they give us to change between classes. They provide little to no after school activites. And buses are nightmares to deal with. I strongly suggest you do not send your outstanding child to Polo Park.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2007

Polo Park is a great school. There are problems in buses for every school. I take my child to school or have a friend take him. The math teachers are excellent. I highly recommend this school. If your child wants to learn, he/she will. Feel confident to send your child to Polo Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I must say I am very disappointed in this 'A' rated school. I would call on other parents to spend time at this school. The principal will pacify you but nothing will be solved. There are some great teachers here. Unfortunately, not enough to help my child. This school, only a small amount, has a gang influence. Walk around and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

My son is now finishing his 8th grade year. He has been there since 6th grade. He has done well at Polo. My daughter loves this school and has excelled academically and so has my son. I rate the new principal an A plus. Great job, Ms. Andrews!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

This is my son's 1st year at polo park. There has been nothing but bullying. He will not be going back for 7th and 8th grade.I am very disappointed at our school system. I thought wellington had the best but all we have is teachers that don't care and spoiled over indulged kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

Our daughter attended Polo Park Middle School Gifted Program and has gone on to be accepted into the prestigous Dreyfoos School of the Arts Program. Her experience at Polo Park was excellent. She had a passion for learning, loved the environment, and looked forward to going to school everyday. The principal was extremely positive and caring and her teachers were all highly qualified and attentive. As for problems on the bus and/or with behavior of some students, that is found everywhere, and is a good opportunity to teach your children how to focus on what counts in the midst of any chaos they may face in life and a great way for them to develop the tools they will need to navigate through life. ;-) Polo Park Middle School is as special as we thought it was, and the reason why we moved to Wellington from New York.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

I've gone to this school for three years and I'm not satisfied. Our new principle is great but 8th graders and 6th graders don't get a rewarding field trip.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2006

Polo Park has been a bad experience. I have been a school volunteer and room parent for 10 years and in my opinion 99% of the teachers and staff little or nothing about their students and their academic progress at Polo Park. I love schools but not Polo Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

I think that the school is great its just the overcrowding and the behavioral problems on the bus the bus is like a zoo! If you send you child to this school I highly dont recommend the bus.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

212 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

379 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 29%
Black 15%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANN CLARK
Fax number
  • (561) 333-5505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11901 Lake Worth Road
Wellington, FL 33449
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 333-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





College Assist
Wellington, FL


Education Place
Wellington, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT