Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Equestrian Trails Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 856 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2008

My child goes to Equestrian and overall it seems to be a good school. I am just a bit frustrated at the Principal. I always thought she was very personable but I feel the communication can be better. I wrote her a letter a couple of months ago and she hasn't had the time to respond. That is a little frustrating. I would like more communication from all the 'specials' teachers. They seem to just chug along and never send the parents any updates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

My children went to this school during 2004-2005. Thank God we were re-zone. A teacher made my child's life impossible and therefor mine too. When I tried to notify the Principal she only got in touch with me at the end of the year and only because I call the School Board. My experience with this school was awful!!! My child still have nightmares of this so call 'teacher'. Thank God we don't go there no more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

My children have been attending this school for alittle over a year. They entered this school at the end of a school year and they made them very comfortable and adjusted right away. So far, I found the teachers to be very friendly and the principal is outstanding. She is very friendly and easy to talk to. You see her all the time with the kids. I came from a great NY school and I was very concerned moving to FL and their schools, but I'm very impressed with Equestrian Trails. I'm very happy my 2 boys go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My child just started Kindergarten at Equestrian Trails and so far I'm happy with what I see and hear. There seem to be plenty of parents involved in the school which is always a good sign. The admin runs the school very tight shipped. The school is new so it is nice looking. Teachers seem to really care about students. As with a lot of schools in the area it it overcrowded but with that said they run it well and I'm happy my son goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

This school is one of the best schools in the area that I have seen. The staff and learning environment make this school a great place!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 20, 2006

Equestrain Trails is a relatively good school. The teachers are responsive to both the needs of the children and the concerns of the parents. The fifth grade classes are organized in a manner that allows the slower children to get more attention and allows the more advanced children to move along at a faster speed. I would have liked to see more opportunities for extracurricular activities but overall, we have been happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

My daughter is in First grade now and started at ETE in Kindergarten. I have been very pleased with the school. Both her Kindergarten teacher was and her now First Grade teacher are exceptional at what they do, just awesome, highly motivated and caring. I have sat in on classes and I tell you the skill levels of both teachers are excellent. The Principal is great, very visible and involved. The school has lots of extracurricular activities and social events. Not being an educator I do a lot of research to find out what my daughter should know at her grade level and what she actually knows. I have found the level of education at ETE to be phenomenal. I am very pleased and convinced that my daughter is receiving and excellent education at ETE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

We have only been in Wellington for about a month, but I can say that I am very pleased with what my son (in 4th grade) has experienced so far at Equestrian Trails. His teachers have been wonderful to him and the homework has been appropriate. He is in the gifted program and they have taken some wonderful field trips. The teachers seem to be very enthusiastic and care about the kids. On his first day of school, his teacher called to let me know how his day had gone. That is impressive to me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

We moved from NJ last year and this is my daughter's second year in this school. The school itself is very bright and spacious. The staff is very pleasant to talk to. The teachers seem to be knowledgeable and competent. This year the grading system changed. The teachers sent printed report home every month with average grade for each section. I love it! It's great! You can see if you child has problems in a very narrow section, and not in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My daughter attended this school for 2 years and she really enjoyed it. I liked the way they taught her while she was there. Not too easy...but not too hard. They had alot of hands on Involvement with my daughter and they seemed to really care about her. She had absolutely no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

I have read great news and performance rate for this school. We are confident that our daughter will get the best educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 24%
Black 14%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9720 Stribling Way
Wellington, FL 33414
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 904-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT