Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Veterans Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 827 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

I've been with this school from 2009-2012 and I can say, from my experience, this is THE best elementary school in the county. I loved all my teachers. They are all devoted to their work and it feels like a priority to keep all students on track and never leave people with disabilities behind. The ESE is great from my experience and the PE classes are fun for kids and have games and fun to keep your kids active for an hour. If your child has ADD, ADHD, Autism, or whatever, the ESE program and other features will help your child. The conditions of the school is excellent and looks nice for a six-year old school. I highly recommend this school.


Posted February 28, 2014

My son has been at this school for 2 years. And I don't think I could write enough good things!!! Love the school the teachers and all that they do! They really do get involved with your child and the activities in the school are very good. Ms. Lee 3rd grade teacher we love her! She is awesome! I would recommend this school to anyone who lives in Wesley chapel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

This is a decent school if your child has ZERO issues, not even ADHD. My child went here for 1 year and it was HORRIBLE! If your child is perfect (smart, well-behaved ALL the time) then you will have no problems, but if your child needs a little extra help or attention, trust me...look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

My daughter has attended VES since they opened and I couldn't be happier. The teachers and faculty all truly seem to love what they do and make sure the children have a great experience during their time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Although the standards are very high at this school and the kids DO learn a lot and most of the teachers really care about what they do, the administration is very much in a box. They don't allow the teachers to deviate from the curriculum or time spent on things even if the children need more time. This could be a great school if they weren't so scared about test scores and allowed children to have time to be children. Kindergarten doesn't have free play time, rest, or snack. This is a good school with well meaning teachers and administration. Like I said, the staff is just so worried about test results they have forgotten the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

My son attends here and I couldn't be happier with the entire staff. This school has so many family functions within the community that it is almost impossible to attend everything. Teachers are easy to speak with via phone or e-mail. The principal and vice principal are always in the classrooms to see student projects or listen to papers students are sharing. Both principal and vice principal are easy to approach and speak with. Students success is definitely top priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I am totally satisfied with this school for my daughter. This was her first year and I could not be more pleased with the Principal, her teacher and the whole staff. My daughter had a few adjustment issues and they helped her so very much to overcome them in a calm and easy manner. They did not judge and made her feel very comfotable. My daughter loves to go to school here and calls it, 'My Veterans Elementary School'! I have son who will go here in another year. I am very pleased!! I recommend this school to any new parent for there child! You will be welcomed with open arms by many! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

I am a parent of 2 at this school and couldn't be happier. The staff is qualified, capable and attentive. The administration is on top of everything from the grounds to the textbooks. The Sunshine State Standards are being taught here with professionalism and consistency. What a wonderful experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 22%
Black 9%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 56%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%63%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26940 Progress Pkwy
Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Victorious Life Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL



Faith Baptist Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL




Pine View Elementary School
Land O' Lakes, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT