Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wesley Chapel High School

Public | 9-12 | 1538 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2014

WCHS is a fabulous school. The teachers are very focused on academics. I'm particularly fond of the French program. Mr.Stewart is a great teacher who should be commended for his awesome teaching skills. The Drama program is very awesome,too. In fact, the Thespians are award-winning! This is a bully-free school and no matter what you look like, you will find friends and fit in. I truly love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2013

Great school! They are dedicated to preparing students to graduate and be successful in college or the workplace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

I attended WCHS from 06-10 and I loved every minute of it, especially my last two years. I experienced Mr. Frelick and Mrs. Nettles. Nettles is by far more concerned about the students and school than Frelick was. It is apparent now with the school grade improvement to an A. I experienced the school go from B, to C, to D, to A. Nettles was a great necessary change for the school. If you expect to be challenged in average classes get real. The majority of kids in those classes don't care. The students that succeed in this school are the honor and AP kids. Believe me, I experienced both. My freshman year I was in all "regular" classes and I couldn't deal with the attitude of my classmates so I asked to be moved to all honors...best thing I could've done. By my senior year I was in 3 AP courses and finished with college credit. Of course you have your teachers that need improvement, but most of the educators here are excellent and really prepare you for college. I also recommend joining some sort of extracurricular activity. I was in band all four years and loved it, I also joined NHS and Student Government. Overall, high school is what you make it and WCHS was excellent to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2011

great school especially for florida. rural middle class - upper middle class surroundings. large class selections.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

I did have my doubts about this school at first but my daughter likes it. She has never had any problems with anyone there. My daughter is in honors classes and she does get homework every single night. She also has quite a few projects due. And if not turned in, she wouldn't get a good grade. The teachers do challenge her. No school is perfect. There are problems in every school. It's just that everyone doesn't put it out there for other people to read. So, yes, I am happy my daughter attends WCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

It's a great school if you enjoy your child being assaulted and nothing done about it. Last week my child was intentionally burned by a cigarette lighter. When they pulled my child and the child who left a permanent and disfiguring mark on my child into the office, the assailant claims that my child asked to be burned. The school took his word for it and dissmissed the whole incident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I love my school. WCHS has many great classes to take and a great amount of challenges. I love the teachers and they actually seem to care about the students. The guidance counselors really help when you talk to them and there is no other school I would want to be at. I'm proud to be a wildcat!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2010

I love Wesley Chapel High School because it's a school with teachers who care. :) The large selection of classes and the arts programs are always reliable. There is always something good going on at Wesley Chapel High! Go wildcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Unfortunately most of the support staff is incompetent, unfriendly and uninformed. You are made to feel like a bother if you call visit. I frequently get answers such as "i believe", "i think,", i'm not quite sure,". It is extremely difficult to get an administrator or guidance couselor to get back to you. They play by make the rules as you go and rules are left to the discretion of the school. Parents are not notified when rules are changed. There are a few really great teachers as in all schools. The curriculum leaves much to be desired. My senior got an A in English, and never had as much as one paper or homework assignment due. I will definately not send my youngest there. The graduation is held at a church. The person who decided this obviously did not think about the religious beliefs of all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

WCHS could be much better. Not a lot of good teachers, but a few great ones. Below average in every catagory in the FCAT last year. Drugs, fights, racial issues, and a lack of discipline are out of control, and somtimes it seems like the grown ups could care less. Some one would fight and they are back to school in a few days, so this isn't the safest place on Earth, but to WCHS's credit they are doing better then last year to crack down on the violence, so it's no Iraq. I'm transfering to Wiregrass Ranch High in the next semester. WRHS is the closest school to WCHS, and the second school in the town of Wesley Chapel. WRHS can't be much worse, but is prolly a lot better. The education here is alright, but I would most likely get a better one across town.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

I think WCHS is a decent school. My daughter is a cheerleader on the Varsity squad. My son will be attending next year as well. I think anything is possible when both the parents and the teachers communicate. I stay on top of the essembler website and receive automatic emails if something needs to be addressed. Parents are just as responsible for educating the children as the teachers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This is review is based on my experiences at WCHS. Chemistry AP and English II Honors were taught by permanent substitutes. The mathematics instruction was decent, if the student pursued calculus AP and physics AP. Main problem was the administration's lack of discipline and support of teachers. Did not adequately prepare students for college level course unless AP classes were taken. Class '03
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2008

I believe this school really trys to do the right things. I general though I believe we need to hold students more accountable for themselves and stop treating them like babies. There is a terrible cheating problem among students and they think it is ok or funny. Many students are ok with getting just passing grades and I constantly hear ' its too hard' I believe our students need motivation to really learn not just be given grades for meaningless, uninspired work. I know there are great student here also but the vast majority just want the A but don't want to earn it honestly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 24, 2007

Overall very weak math department - lots of homework with no preparation/explanation/teaching involved. Little to no teacher feedback to parents. This is not a very safe school and many of the teachers are leaving because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

Safe and friendly environment. Lots of classes and career path focused courses. Great honors and AP courses and caring teachers. Guidance counselors are very difficult to meet with though. Lots of team sports for guys and gals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

I graduated in May 2004 and I loves all four years I spents there. What makes any place great are the people and the teachers and staff at WCHS are those great people. I do agree with a previous comment that athletics play a big part is this school and the more acedemic things couls improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2003

I graduated from WCHS in 2003 and this was one of the best schools i have ever gone to. They have wonderful teachers, and AP's. I learned alot from the teachers there. The programs that they have for the students are great. They help you alot in your studies. All around this is the best school in Wesley Chapel. I know i loved it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2003

I am not a parent, but a graduate of Wesley Chapel High several years ago. During my time there, I was involved in many activites; one being student class secretary. Wesley Chapel High is a new school, located in an area of Florida that is growing by the minute. An area of which still has room to grow, especially in academics. The school has kept up with the local population increase, but still seems stuck on athletics. Athletics at Wesley Chapel High are very important, the arts and smaller activites taking a back seat. Wesley Chapel High is new, let's remember, with plenty of room to grow in all aspects. It has a kind, friendly teaching staff with southern charm, and a great deal of school spirit. These three things I will remember as I continue my schooling and I will always look back on my days at WCHS with happiness. It's growth is inevitable and it's achievement as well. Great things are in store for this school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

434 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

320 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
33%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 26%
Black 14%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 81%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%63%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARIN A NETTLES
Fax number
  • (813) 794-8791

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30651 Wells Road
Wesley Chapel, FL 33545
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 794-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Faith Baptist Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL



Wiregrass Ranch High School
Wesley Chapel, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT