Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seven Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1001 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2013

Love this school and the New principal is the old vice principle from 2 yrs back and she was outside the first day of school doing the traffic. She is always around; at lunch, at buses, doing car line, etc... Great group of teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I am really surprised that it is already the 10th week of school and my child has not meet/or seen the new principal. As a parent who volunteers on a weekly basis for both the PTA and with the class, I have yet to meet or even see ( except from a distance) the new principle either. I understood it in the beginning but the fact that my son is yet to meet or see her has me concerned and quite annoyed. I hope this changes and quickly. I am afraid that if she does not start "showing herself" there will be a lack of control within the school. I do not want what i believe is a rather well oiled ,machine to fail under this new regime. I think it is shameful that my child has not met his principle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I have has wonderful teachers and wonderful experiences at this school. My kids love it and I love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

The teachers at this school are knowledgable and go above and beyond for students. The principal, however, is another story all together. It's obvious that she detests young children. Not the kind of person I want as the principal of my child's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

We moved to the area 3 years ago so that my child could attend this school. Its our 3rd year here and this last year has been the worst. SOME of the teachers are NOT patient. They do not seem to do much if your child is bullied. It seems they have done more to protect the bully in our case. I don t believe they realize the true situation nor do they seem to care. We are putting our child in a Private Christian School next year due to these issues we have experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

Kids do come first there. The principal does care about the students, teachers and parents. Parents have plenty of opportunities to come into the class. Its a no win situation with some parents. Apparently some of those parents have posted on here.


Posted July 9, 2011

In answer to Feb 8 posters question: Parents are afraid of going up against her. The very great majority don't have any courage at all and think that it will never affect them and don't have any clue about the "Then they came for me" concept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

SOES is a very good school. Ms. Smith, the principal, runs a tight ship. She makes sure her teachers do their jobs and she's hired some great teachers. Yes, she has an obsessive compulsive personality d/o but somehow it keeps the school running like a professional business. For personal matters that need sensitivity/warmth, Ms. Smith has hired an approachable vice-principal and caring guidance counselors. My child has some LD and received a can-do spirit and great encouragement. The school reward kids for what they do well and this builds confidence. My child learned to love school this year and had a teacher that made learning fun. My child's classroom also had cutting edge technology that the kids had fun learning to use. I had been afraid of "public school" before this year...yet, in Florida, one should be more wary of the private schools that do not have learning theories put into practice. "A" rated schools in Florida blow all the private schools & charters away--the infrastructure is more conscious & intelligently designed for learning key skills and the teachers are more competent & educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

Love this school. My son is attending SOES PK for hearing impaired toddlers. He has a 45 minute bus ride everyday to school, but it is well worth it. His teachers (Mrs. Sizemore and Mrs. Zurita) treat him as if he were their own. They're so great about keeping me up-to-date about what's going on in the classroom and suggesting what I can do at home to expand his learning. When he first started this school, he was behind on his expressive language skills, in 6 months time, he's almost filled the gap. I love how much my son has learned but what I love most is knowing how well cared for he is. He was running in PE one day last week, and ran right into a pole. He came home and told me about how he cried, and Mrs. Zurita held him with an ice pack on his head. My son is also receiving OT and PT assitance. His PT has gone above and beyond to make sure that he has what he needs to succeed and even called me during the winter break to share good news with me. It's great knowing that not only is my son getting a good education, he's well cared for too. I highly recommend SOES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

Teachers are pretty good. Principal is very very difficult. Academic standards are good. Small favored pack of Moms are there all the time; volunteer opportunities are kept mysterious to those not in the In Crowd of blond-haired Moms. Parents are very clique--ish and parental interest and involvement are very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Seven Oaks is a good school, overall. I have two kids there and they are enjoying the experience. They are excellent students and always get A's in their report cards. However.... I think the school should improve their communication with parents, very often I find there was a party in the classroom, a fundraising or even a test I was not aware of. Also, I have tried many times to come to the classroom as a volunteer buy it seems teachers don't like us being around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My grandkids are students there and they are excellent students and the teachers are wonderful.


Posted March 25, 2009

I agree. I know that whenever I talk to other parents they have complete access to all the teachers. If a child needs further challenges all the teachers will assist in this task.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

Love SOES. Everything from the classroom teaching to the wondeful guys who teach P.E. My kids have gone to several schools but this is the first one with a truly feeling of family. I've never seen any school for example where the P.E. staff greets me at my car and talks to me about how my daughters are doing in school. The staff here is both friendly and caring. Check out their web to see everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I have to say that I am not pleased with SOES. My son is in the gifted program and they do not have anything to offer him. They claim that they are giving him extra work to do that is more challenging, but I have yet to see anything done. They only cater to those who are at an average level. I had an understanding that they had PODS to teach at different levels, but that is obviously not the case. I am going to have to change schools as a result. Very sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

My child is in the 4th grade at Seven Oaks and her dad and I are very pleased at the school's vision and progress. Way to GO Seven Oaks faculty and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I am a parent at SOES and have 2 children attending the school. We are new to the school as well as Florida. We are going thru some adjustment period for the school is very different than where we came from. I do not feel the teachers are good at communicating with parents. My children are in two different pods. I am thankful to have children that are doing fine academically in school. I am use to a more family friendly feeling school. This school is very large so it has a much different feel. I will say at this point we are happy with the education that they are recieving at school. Overall it is a decent school just very different than what we came from. I do wish the staff all around would be more friendly and communicate more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

I have 2 children at Seven Oaks, and I am very pleased their overall experience at this school. The teachers, principal, and vice principals have been very communicative and responded immediately to the all my concerns that I called or emailed about. Even an incident on the school bus was resolved immediately thanks to the principal's rapid response! The kids are doing well academically and they love their pod and all the teachers in it. The get what seems to be a lot of homework (12 pages a week in kindergarten) but they finish it before the due date, so I feel they're are being challenged at an appropriate level! I'm also very pleased with the art, music, and PE programs at Seven Oaks Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

I have 2 children who attend this school. I love the staff and the overall atmosphere. Both my children learn differently, and they are both successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I love the staff at SOES!!! The teachers are great and they work very hard with all students. The school is beginning its third year and even though there have been may changes they are still putting students first. They are an 'A' school once again and that shows the dedication and hard work that goes on between teachers, parents and students. Keep up the good work Seven Oaks!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 25%
Black 9%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%63%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27633 Mystic Oak Boulevard
Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 794-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Veterans Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL



Victorious Life Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL


Faith Baptist Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL


Sand Pine Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT