Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wiregrass Ranch High School

Public | 9-12 | 2165 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

I move here from New York and I'm a very productive student but I have a huge question mark for my future. I ask for help when is needed but some teachers don't even care. Most of them assign busy work and don't even teach. I'm taking a class and the teacher isn't even teaching them, there's another teacher teaching the class. In the beginning of the school year I've had to get my schedule changed because of overcrowding and then I get put into a class (referring to the previous teacher) that is very crowded. Some teachers even TEXT or talk on the phone with another teacher during class. I've asked for help on what classes I should take based on the career and the counselor gave me such a bland answer: "Take a lot of sciences"... I asked her about what colleges she recommends me to go to and she just hands me a website! When my family was in New York and my older sister had the same questions they gave her pamphlets and booklets of some colleges she should go to. My dad has had to argue with some teachers to pull me out of ESOL when I know both english and spanish fluently. Its a very unhelpful system. Although I am very grateful for the teachers that actually do help me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2014

Wiregrass Ranch is a good school compared to others around the county. There's plenty of clubs and extracurricular activities to participate in. There's also in school resources the students can use to do things like homework, research, print homework, ect. After school there's even tutoring sessions. My personal favourite is how the school utilizes technology so much with learning. However, there are flaws as there would be to and school. Some teachers care more than others and it's highly evident most of them do care enough to want you to pass. The school only seems to fund to a football team that hardly ever wins. My friends in band as they can only get their uniforms washed once or twice a year(how gross). The gym is never actually used for PE only for basketball events/practices which sucks, especially in the summer. Students here like to start redundant trends but it's something that can be ignored. The school overall is a really good school and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2013

I do not feel this school is run well. I have called multiple times to meet with Guidance in reference to my child being in a class he did not belong in. The teacher was saying you don't belong here and would send him to guidance. He finally met with Guidance and they said, "you have been in the class too long you have to stay". They do not support first year teachers and leave them to, :"find a path". It's very discouraging when my child says, "you can tell the teacher cares but doesn't have control and doesn't cover the material he wants to". In one class my son has never had a teacher but a series of subsitutes?? They write the answers to the worksheets on the board daily. My son is concerned about learning. He is learning the material via a book and the internet. I think the staff has lost sight of the students being, "children" and treats them like widgets in a factory. Very upset with this school and it's performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Both of my sons graduated from Wiregrass, My son graduated in the first graduation and the other one a year later very positive experience. I know they both were highly motivated, they both are 22 and 21 and are pursuing higher education and goals. Thanks to the entire staff at wiregrass ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

My daughter is a senior at WRHS and we have been very pleased since day 1 of her freshman year. She plays varsity soccer and the team was 2 wins from a state championship. The school is very well run and we have been quite happy with her teachers. She is in all AP classes and a dual-enrollment class from Pasco-Hernando Community College. PHCC is presently building a campus next to WRHS, so there should be even more opportunities. The AP and honors classes probably are better than regular class. However, is that different elsewhere? Probably not. If you are looking for a school with more traditional values and less uptight "ideology" than most schools these days, Wiregrass is for you. In our experience, they have a focus on education. The administration still makes it a fun atmosphere, with various school spirit days throughout the year. Let me publicly thank the staff, teachers and students for their great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

This is an excellent school. I have two children attending during 2010-2011. They have had nothing but good experiences there. The teachers, and faculty are excellent. In the past I have had them in Catholic, and private schools. The experience at WRHS has been on par with both. For a large public school, it is one of the best in the Metro area. Be confident in sending your children there. Their experiences will be comparable to a private school, IF your children are dedicated to learning and being part of a great educational community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

WRHS has one of the best principals in all of pasco county. He has really high school bride and ecpects nothing but the best of his staff and students. The school is still growing and changes are made every year. I graduated class of 09 and still have friends there. Many of them tell me that the school is geting better every year an di believe it. The opertunities that are open to you as a student attending WRHS is not comparable to other schools in the county.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2009

I love my school the classes are great n I have gotten a good high school education so far. The principle is the best he allows learning to be fun and get a quality education at the same time. The school offers a wide variety for ap classes that provides you with plenty of oppertunities to succeed it is truly up to you if you want to succeed or not. I could not ask for a better enviorment to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Really hard to find a negative about Wirergass this year. We had the best FCAT scores in every catagory in every grade for Pasco County. Our sports team have vastly improved, espically the football team. And with a winning football team, school spirit has sky rocketed, which puts everybody, students, teachers, and staff in a better mood, and has caused the community to really embrace WRHS. The Tampa Tribune recently wrote an article on Wiregrass having the most diverse student body in Tampa Bay, and yet there's little to no issues. Now, WRHS is truly the pride of Pasco County.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2009

This is an excellent school. Especially for the AP level courses. Just like the classes, if you're in a regular or even some honors, the students will reflect the level of the class. Seeing as my Honors and AP classes are balanced. I get the best of academics and people I want to be around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2009

I recently moved here from Bloomingdale high school and its no where near worth it. A lot of the teachers here have no control over any of their classes, and the maturity level of a student here is that of a 4 year old. If there are people who want to go back to elementary school, here is the place for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

Wiregrass Ranch High School has many friendly staff members along with superior sports and extracurricular activities. There are a variety of clubs that fit the needs of any given person. I wish that this school got more recognition in our area. There is always an exciting atmosphere between the people that go here and the teachers. Wesley Chapel High School is no match for us!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2009

I LOVE this school! There isn't much segregation or cliques, and I totally feel safe. All of the teachers are amazing! Before i went here, I always wanted to move and get out of Wesley Chapel. But now, I know I definetley want to graduate here
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

Wiregrass is pretty good. theres never fights usually. they offer alot of AP classes so thats pretty good. overall its way better than all the other schools because they seem like they really care most of the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

i think this is an wonderful school ... i love my teachers and the students are great...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

An amazing school, faculty, staff, administrators and students are all very hardworking and dedicated to the future of the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

it has no education techers do not know how to teach,programms are very poor in lack of vocabulary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

This school is severly lacking in leadership and discipline. The campus is not safe. As a matter of fact, the number of fights in the hallways each day rivals that of a school with 3x the amount of students. I am extremely disappointed with the way disciplinary problems are handled at this school, there is no accountability. The solution for even more serious infractions seems to be nothing more than a slap on the wrist. There is a very negative atmosphere on campus, the students do not seem to be able to get along and the lack of discipline and leadership only allows it to continue. This school has not been at all what I expected.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2007

This school is safe and has amazing teachers. The people here are nice and the athletics are getting better even though we only have 9-11 grades.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

577 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

491 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

491 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

521 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 28%
Black 11%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%63%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROBYN M WHITE
Fax number
  • (813) 346-6091

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cycling
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2909 Mansfield Boulevard
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Faith Baptist Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT