Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Double Branch Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 871 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this school. Last year my child attended this school and the teacher was great and kept me informed of what was going on in the class. But there were bullying issues, which were dealt with. But this year, I am not impressed with the teacher this year. The bullying is continuing and nothing is being really done about it. My child fights with me every day about going to school and I feel bad about sending to school. And if my child does something bad then they jump all over it and I feel that they dish out an over abundance of punishment. my kid is a victim by the bullies and the staff. don't get me started on the social worker either. just let's say she needs to retire. I have asked numerous times for help and have gotten "I have a book for you to read". She didn't even remember my child, except for looking at her notes about my child. Just be careful wherever you go in Pasco County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

My kids have attended DBES for the past five years and it is a wonderful school. Both the facilities and the staff are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

This was my child's first year at DBES, and it was excellent! My child's teacher was amazing! She was creative, caring and had excellent communication with the parents. The staff was friendly and down to earth and kind. My child learned so much this year and had fun while doing it. I spent a fortune in private Pre K & Kindergarden, and it made me realize that I should have given our local public school a chance much sooner! Thank you to the teachers and staff at DBES, it was a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

DBES is a great school. Mrs. Becky has been a fabulous Pre-k teacher for my son. He has made so many learning gains. The administration is knowledgeable and helpful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Coming from the nNortheast, I was skeptical about Florida schools. I must admit I was surprised with this school. My child's teacher shows her true passion everyday with her constant effort to keep her class on target. She welcomes parents who want to volunteer to help their children and/or classmates. The principle and staff work diligently to help students achieve their goals. A+ for effort. The downside is that there are too many cars to pick up kid. One can wait as much as 2 hours before school lets out. I can see why rules at this school need to be strict for the safety of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

Horrible leadership with bad attitudes, totalitarian/militaristic mentality of principal. The data administrator called social services on my wife because our daughter missed one week of school (suffering from upper respiratory/throat infection with a virus and bronchitis) although my wife provided the school with a doctors note and our daughter is at the top of her class. Teachers were nice and my daughter loved them and her classmates, but I think we are sending her to another school next year...The staff is too much for anyone to deal with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

Poor Leadership from Office Staff to Teachers... Teachers are all overwhelmed and students are suffering. Bullies are running the classrooms. Poor curriculum, not challenging. Sending my child to a different school this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

It's no surprise this school hasn't had a review since summer '10. It's the worst school my children have ever attended. I thought their last school was the worst, but this one takes the cake. The whole administrative staff and teachers only care about the "good" children that are smart and don't cause any problems. They could care less about the "exceptional" children that have learning disabilities, such as mine, because they're too much of a hassle to deal with. They share the school psychologist and social worker with three other schools, and the guidance counselor doesn't even provide one on one counseling for those in need. I encourage anyone with children that fit the "exceptional" category to search elsewhere for educational opportunities. All this school strives for is the highest FCAT scores, and they know the difficult children will bring their scores down. They rather have parents pull their learning disabled children out of their school, than to try to educate them. Also, your children WILL be bullied by the so called "good" children, and NO ONE will ever do anything about the situation. Prepare to fight for your children everyday. Good luck!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

DBES is one of the best elementary schools in the area! It was awarded the 5Star Award which means it has a strong a strong volunteer core, strong business community support, includes many programs outside of the required academic ones, has strong parent involvement, etc. Having the 5Star Award also offers a resource for recruiting the best teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

We moved here in October and I can tell you I thought the school we came from was a GREAT school but DBES has totally challenged our children and we feel great involvement between staff and Parents. I have taken subbing seminars so I can now help out at the school so I can partner with them and help the children we love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I think DBES is a great school. My other child had to go to WCES prior to DBES opening and it is night and day between schools. The children learn and have fun ... they want to go to school. The staff is great and they seem to really want to be there also!! We could not be more pleased then to be a part of Double Branch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I think the school should do better, but i feel that the kids have way too much homework, what do they do all day in school, what are the teachers roles?? I'm so confused. Coming from the north not used to these low grades especially for a new school


Posted August 26, 2008

great school, teaching staff wonderful, administration fantastic, and love all the behind-the-scenes staff who keep the school running each day
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 24%
Black 13%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%63%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 23%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31500 Chancey Road
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-0400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New River Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


New River Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL




Sand Pine Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT