Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New River Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 629 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

This is a great Elementary School. They have very caring teachers and staff. I definitely recommend it!


Posted February 22, 2013

Multiple people have told me bad things about the ESE program including a family member with a child in ESE here and an ex-employee. The teachers/specialists are not applying the skills they need to use for students. They don t take the time it requires to help the students and no one is holding them accountable. They treat these students like gen ed which is why there are behavior issues. When a student is acting up they give in to make them stop and send them to the office if it doesn t. Sending an ESE student to the office is not an effective strategy because they don t know the concept of the office and the transition from the class to the office causes stress. To them it is just a person how calls mom to pick them up. So why wouldn t they misbehave they get to go home. Does this really help a student s education and why didn t the behavior specialist know this when walking them to the office? The students need to be taught to be responsible for their actions with a consistent positive behavior system. The staff needs to stop being lazy and work with the child. These are exceptional students that need modifications and accommodation with academics AND behavior.


Posted July 6, 2011

i love this school best one i have been to in my life! all my classmates enjoy my teacher and still do mrs. carlson thankl you for teaching me and telling me good advice and also getting me at capture the donut ps tell all your new student about your old ones and they will love u forever just like me and abby will your class pets! love samantha cotto!


Posted April 26, 2011

If you are looking for a school that helps challenge your kids then keep looking because this is not the spot. Overcrowding due to lack of hiring is what you will find. Instead of worrying about the good kids the focus is on letting no child being left behind no matter what inappropriate act is done. My child has been removed from this school and will never return..... If you don't really care about your childs education and you are okay with huge behavior issues then please come to New River!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

New River is a wonderful school where teachers, administrators and other stakeholders see the school not as a place of work, but a place for vocational dedication to our children. I am an extremely happy parents and I will recommend this school all parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have two children who go to this school and I think it's great. One of my kids have epilepsy and the other has a.d.h.d and they have really gave them the support that they so long needed. The staff and teachers are great. My children love going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

Our daughter has attended New River since it was first created in 2007, and she loves this school. The teachers and staff really put forth an extra effort to get parents involved in their childrens lives, with hosting numerous educational events throughout the year. The school is a well built new school which recently moved to it's new building in Feb/2008. Our daughter's teacher (Mrs.Martin) is a National Board Certified School Teacher with 21 yrs experience. From the principle on down, we have been thoroughly impressed with all of the staff at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I love this school. The teachers really care about the students and all the staff is wonderful. My daughter has learned so much from Ms. Lupo.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 22% 29%
Black 15% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%63%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4710 River Glen Blvd
Wesley Chapel, FL 33545
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New River Academy
Wesley Chapel, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT