Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Schools At West Melbourne

Charter | K-6 | 174 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 31, 2011

Imagine Schools at West Melbourne is a small, wonderful school under new leadership since July 2010. Our philosophy is to help parents educate their children. We serve families from PreK through 8th grade in our sparkling facility that opened in 2009. Uniforms are required and excellence is the standard. Come talk to our friendly office staff to learn more about your tuition-free public choice school today!

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

there is a new principal and the education seems very progressive. more parents need to update reviews for this great campus as most reviews are from 3 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Great school! Amazing teachers who really care and who are very good at what they do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

Imagine use to be a good school when a certain principal worked there and after that the school started going down hill so fast I pulled my kids out of there so fast and in the middle of the semister to. I would never advise anybody to put their child there. The school has been a D school for so long its not funny, they need to change the employees that work there. A new building and equipment gone to waste.


Posted July 26, 2012

We will have four children in this school this year, 2 in 3rd grade , 1 in 2nd grade and 1 in Kindergarten. Our kids have attended this school since it moved to West Melbourne three years ago. We love the teachers, staff and the school itself. The teachers are compassionate and really do care about each individual child. The school is absolutely beautiful. Our oldest three children are well above average not only in intelligence but also in character. The truly care about their peers and show respect and kindness to all. I believe that is not only because of the teachers but also due to our parent involvement. We were extremely excited to find out the school would be opened this year and believe the FCAT score will improve to an A before we know it. I believe in this school, the teachers, staff and the students. People should not believe everything they hear but give this school a chance. WAY TO GO IMAGINE SCHOOLS AT WEST MELBOURNE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

Imagine Schools at West Melbourne is a school of choice. I choose to send my child there because they teach good character traits, as well as foster academic achievement! That's something a lot of parents and district schools have forgotten about. My child is on grade level here (according to the state of Florida) and has never gone to another school! What does that tell you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

To the teacher that posted on July 17, 2011 You said that the schoold is going through a transition...Wow you gave some excuses and said wait it takes a while? Are you kidding? My 2 daughters are at a very critical time in learning they DON'T need to waste anytime YOU got your education you should be ready so you get it together! Also THIS school has been failing for over 5 years!!! get it 5 Years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I am a seasoned teacher with many years of experience and expertise. I have always been creative, challenging and sent homework. Reading some of the reviews makes me very disappointed as there are so many creative, challenging and wonderful teachers there. Granted there were teachers that left and teachers that came at different intervals of the year. That is to be expected when there is a shift in administration. Hold your opinions until the end of next year as that should be more telling of the effectiveness of this school. All transitions take time. FCAT may have looked bad. However, all grade levels made at least a year's growth according to all of the other standardized and district required exam's--despite this transition. Looking at the whole picture is important and not just one subset of scores and students. I know that the staff and administration care for each child in an immeasurable way and work hard toward inspiring and educating the children of Imagine Schools West Melbourne. I am one of them. The PTO needs developing. Come and be a part of our students futures. Thank you for being a part of the incredible changes and growth at our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 20, 2011

It is so disappointing to see the direction this school has gone. Looking at the recent FCAT scores and talking with parents/staff has led me to question the effectiveness of the current administration. It is almost unbelievable how drastically the students performance on a standardized test has fallen. What parent would send their kids to a school where achievement was lowest in Brevard County?! How could it be possible that only 22% of students are on or above grade level in math etc...and etc...and etc. I do not know what the vision is for the "new leadership", but this school is a dim shadow of what it used to be...as the numbers show. Please get it together, The students and this community are really beginning to suffer. This is truly an embarrassment.


Posted May 6, 2011

This school is just average. My child never seems to get any homework or get assigned any projects, and the teachers are really un creative. And the current principal is AWFUL, she never seems to do much of anything for the school! But, it is better than some schools my child has attended, and the facility is fairly nice.


Posted April 5, 2011

A wonderful school that teaches both academics and character education. I have never seen children more enthusiastic about learning and teachers so willing to go above and beyond for their students. This is the type of school your child can grow with, starting in pre-k and staying until 8th- allowing them to feel like they belong!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2011

This school has everything. Sports for every age (Pre-K thru 8th), a loving and caring staff, a beautiful facility and an up to date curriculum for the best education a child can get. The teachers are the best I have come across. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Imagine Schools is an amazing place to work. All our staff treat each other like family, and we have fun working together. We put our heads together to solve any issues. I was a country club chef for 13 years and now I get to cook for happy, appreciative, children and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 27, 2011

Imagine Schools at West Melbourne is a beautiful school with very caring staff. Character Education is at the forefront of this environment and students learn how to handle day-to-day conflicts. What is very unique about this school is that, unlike any other school in Brevard, Imagine uses same student learning gains. Each student is testing in the fall and then again in the spring to see what learning gains have taken place. It is not enough to look at a school grade as it does not measure what each student has learned during the year. No matter if a student is high performing or lower, each child deserves to learn as much as he or she can. Love this school!


Posted March 27, 2011

I have a Kindergartner she will be in first grade next year and she has been in this school since VPK. I have never had a problem with any lack of communication when it came to my daughters needs. I love the fact that the teacher takes an active roll in her life by keeping me informed about what else I can do to help her succeed. The school has gone through a change in administration I think for the better. New colors are being added to the uniforms and my daughter is very excited to wear pnk next school term. My little one will be attending Imagine till she has to change schools due to grade no other reason...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

A great school! Teachers and staff truely care about the kids and go above and beyond their jobs because they love it here. Teachers volunteer and offer free tutoring, after school sports (for elementary!), music programs, and much more. The campus is clean and safe and the office staff are friendly and helpful. We have GOOD kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

This school has gone down hill this school year. The principal and teachers are not organized. My child came back from christmas vacation and found out 3 teachers have quit. My child had straight A's before christmas and now she she has C's and D's with the new teachers. One example of how bad the teachers are is that they teach Math based on vocabulary and notes. They don't practice the problems on the board. Who has ever heard that math that you teach math by TALKING ABOUT IT? They don't even tell you your child is doing bad in class until report cards are due. There are A LOT of parents that feel just like I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

This school has every bad kid from the district that has been outcasted going here. Because it is free no one is screened. Because parents want to feel privileged because its charter yet free they shove their little ones that had problems the prior year here. They do not have a play ground for the higher grades such as grade 4 and 5 they play in an empty field. The teachers sit there and ignore them and forget about homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The faculty at Imagine cares about the children! It is wonderful to know that when greeted by the Principal and other teachers in the morning, that they actually know your child by name. The school is full of faculty who want to teach and help your child in every way possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I am very happy i enrolled my children at this school. I have two children that attend here. One in the 2nd and one in the 3rd. The teachers always have good communication with me about my childrens progress or areas my children need to work on. Teachers are always available to tutor students after school. My children have leaned so much from this school not only with education but also with showing good character skills. The staff at this school are always warm and welcoming. The pricipal is remarkable. Any issues that my children have had have been dealt with in a timely manner and to my satisfaction. I would highly recomend this school to all parents searching for a good school for thier child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

This is one of the worst schools to be in since now it is called Imagine school of west melbourne. Teacher's don't even know how to teach. If you have a problem no one does anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
3%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 40%
Hispanic 15%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 89%58%61%
Master's degree 11%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LASTENIA PENALOZA
Fax number
  • (321) 768-6300

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3355 Imagine Way
West Melbourne, FL 32904
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 768-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Star Center
West Melbourne, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT