Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gardens School Of Technology Arts Inc

Charter | K-8 | 234 students

Creative Technology Programs

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

I have so many complaints I don't know where to start. As others have said, communication is spotty at best, with teachers seeming to play favorites. While tutoring was offered, it was cancelled as soon as FCATs were complete - are you kidding me? Talk about teaching to the test. Ugh. Frankly I think this is a thinly disguised attempt to get public funding for a school that services members of the church the school rents space from. At the beginning of the year, all students were REQUIRED to apply for subsidized lunches because the school got extra funding based on applications. School administrators are also church administrators, which we did not know. All but one teacher appear to be born again Christians, and it invades the environment - when the science teach has to post a disclaimer on the school homework site that "evolution is only an opinion" there's a MAJOR problem. Also - we were charged at technology fee ostensible to cover the cost of the tablets issued to each student - but they were late in arriving, then used for a month or two before being discarded. Mismanagement, under-experienced teachers that appear to be hired based on their religion, bad communication...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

Its a nice school because it small but with saying that there is not enough staff and communication is very poor. They don't deal with any problem with in the school . They need better direction and they need to put more of the money there raising in to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I found the same experience with this school, the communication between parents and teachers is horrible!! These teachers lack communication skills. It may be lack of experience or they are just plain rude or dont care. Its a terrible experience when I teacher doesnt look you in the eye and tell you really how your child is doing schoolastically or just in general. It makes you NOT TRUST them. Something needs to be done or said, they should know better its part of their job to speak to parents. Well we are leaving the school and this is definitly ONE of the reasons!!! Its sad you become a teacher to help children and to have that in your heart . These group of teachers walk around looking like they are tortured and dont want to be there. There is not ONE teacher at this school that doesnt give this feeling!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I'm thinking the three reviews yesterday are by the same person who has an axe to grind. My kids love G-Sota. As a very involved parent at the school, I've witnessed a lot of parents with poor communication skills, who complain about the most ridiculous things and expect the school to make up for their poor parenting choices. I wrote a positive review and I am not on staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

my child hated this school and never like to attend. Also lunch is not tasty and the staff is immature. My child didn't get a good education here either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Amazing school!! my daughter just finished Kindergarten and my son will be starting Kindergarten next year. As a teacher myself, I cannot say enough wonderful things about the school. My daughter has learned so much in just one short year. I have also volunteered in the school on many occasions and can say that every time I walk into the school I love it even more. The teachers in the school are wonderful, and I have had the opportunity to build relationships with many of the teachers even though they do not teach my child. Every person in the school takes ownership of the school and sees every child as "theirs" even if they are not in their class at that time. My family and I LOVE GSOTA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

Love the school. Love the teachers. Love the staff. The only two complaints I have are the lag in communication and the eating arrangements for the kindergarten classes. Other than that, it's an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

My son has been attending this school since it opened, he is now entering the 4th grade. He went from saying that school was OK to every day is awesome. Project Child has taught him to be independent with his learning and think on his own, and be responsible for his own lessons. He loves the teachers and staff, they really try to make the classes fun and engaging. He has learned lego robotics, exergaming, art, animation on IPads, and his favorite Stop Motion Animation. There is always something fun and engaging going on at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

I love this school, GSOTA is awesome.. The teachers/ and all the staff are out standing and very friendly, and go out of the way to help the children. My daughter was advance for k and the teachers gave her books on a higher level and also higher level spelling words..I love this school and look forward to another GREAT year.I would tell anyone if they are looking for a good school they must try GSOTA out first. GO SOTA....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I love this school!. My son is very happy. The staff and the teachers always make sure that each kid reach the goals. They have very high education standards. And what I like too is that patents involvement is essential. They always address any problem with the kids, academic or behavioral. They use also the latest technology. G-Sota is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

My two children have been in the school since its inception. We previously were at another school that we liked but wanted to try out this concept of teaching of Project Child and a technology based learning approach. My children use smart boards, create in stop animation and digital design as well as lego robotics. The concept of Project Child is not for everyone. Your child has to be an independent learner not all the learning is in a traditional classroom atmosphere. At first it takes some getting used to for the kids but they love it now. It has taught them to be independent. My eldest child in the fourth grade scored a 4 in FCAT in reading, writing, and math. No complaints here. My other child does not take FCAT yet. The school has great parent involved (required) and a family atmosphere. The school is run by some amazing staff and faculty. They have a new principal this year who seems more motivated then the last one. I would have rated the school a 5 however I was not crazy about the principal last year. I am looking forward to the upcoming year. All I can say is that my kids love it. Say no more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

My children have been attending GSOTA since it opened, and we are very pleased. This is a wonderful school with a great sense of community and with teachers and staff who truly care about the students. My students scored very well on FCAT and I thank GSOTA for being such a great place for education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

GSOTA is an amazing school! The teachers care so much about the children and go out of their way to communicate with parents. There is a lot of technology used in the classroom on a daily basis. My child tells me everyday that they use all kinds of fun things during class, during specials and after school. This is a great school for us and we are looking forward to growing as the school grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

The school offers a small familiar environment that we love. However; the school still developing and it lacks of key tools to assist parents to assist their children to succeed (i.e. parents don't know what is exactly going on in class) and poor communication. Unfortunately, the principal had poor judgment when selecting their teachers and it subsequently affects the success of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Black 24%
Hispanic 22%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 57%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/AN/A
Female 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • 2014-15 TBD
Foreign languages taught
  • 2014-15 TBD
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • DR. KEVIN KOVACS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (561) 627-6512

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • 2014-15 TBD
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • 2014-15 TBD
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Minecraft Club
  • Robotics club
  • Soccer Club
  • Yearbook
  • iPad Club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • So many ways! We love our parents.
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9153 Roan Lane
West Palm Beach, FL 33403
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 290-7661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holland Northlake Day School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



Grove Park Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT