Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

U. B. Kinsey/Palmview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 535 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2013

I attended UB when it was Palmview, under Mr. UB Kinsey himself what a privelege that was. I had 4 siblings, 4 of us went to college, 3 went on to higer education: 2 have Masters and one is a MD.


Posted December 7, 2011

My child attended U.B. Kinsey for the first time this year. I thought that this school had so many different options and that is why I was honored for my child to attend. I tried communicating with the teacher and staff at Kindergarten round up, orientation and on various other occasions about my childs learning abilities. I feel that if you have a child in which you know is in the wrong grade and should be moved up then why not take the child out of their misery. My son unfortunately was left in a classroom where he was unchallenged and made out to be this big trouble maker. My overall experience with U.B. Kinsey was ok. They told you about every activity literally one day ahead and the times in which they held events did not agree with that of a working parents time. So I was never able to attend any PTO meetings and other meetings because I had to work. It is not a bad school but surely not what I thought it would be when I made the choice to send my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

The teachers there seem very interested in only their class and not in the overall school. Most not working together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I think UB Kinsey is a great school. It's just seems hard to get the extra help that a student needs as far as School Based Teams are concerned. All the teachers that I have encountered over the years as a parent have been very good. Sometimes though it seems as if they don't take the parents concerns about there childs learning ability into consideration. A parent knows when there child is lacking in a (me anyway) subject but the staff seems to ignore what a parent is trying to tell them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I have 4 Children and 3 of them attended UBK and 1 still does. All of my Children are straight A Students and love school thanks to UBK and the Excellent Teachers....... I love UBK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I think that U.B. Kinsey is one of the best kept secrets in Palm Beach County. My son, who has special needs, attended the school for two years. The Principal, the administrative staff, and all of the teachers made him feel great about himself. They encouraged him both academically and socially. The Principal and the teachers make sure to find each child's gift. They nurture the children in a loving environment. In fact, in many ways, U.B. Kinsey is like a family. My daughter now attends U.B. Kinsey and I'm thrilled with her teacher. In fact, several of the teachers are the best I have ever seen in a public orprivate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

UBK is a good school when it comes to Fine Arts and Academics which a majority of the public schools in Palm Beach county are lacking immensely. The administration I feel should be more warmer and interested in the opinions from the parents as well as the parents wanting to volunteer in there childs classroom. Rather than being turned away from it should show great interest to the teacher that the parents want to get involved in there childrens school life. My daughter will be grauduating this year and auditioning for BAK and my son is entering Kindergarten both are very independent when it comes to classroom duties. I am very excited for another great school year at UBK I am very glad that they acheived a grade A this year that is awesome. I would like to see more involvement with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

The principal doesn't have the respect of a majority of the parents, and under her administration, some staff don't welcome the involvement of a certain class of parents. My children have been lucky to have a few exceptional teachers, and they do a great job motivating the children, regardless of their race. It seems that depending on what your background is, you and your children are labeled, which then determines how much cooperation you get from the school, and what instruction they give your children's teachers to carry out. In my opinion, nepotism and favoritism ruin a wonderful school experience for any family who wants to stay involved in their children's academic life. All rules should be applied equally; not just on a select few, while adherence to general policies are not enforced to friends and relatives of staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

UB Kinsey/Palmview Elementary has one of the best Fine Arts Programs in Palm Beach County! It's 'A' rating is well deserved. The balance between classroom activity and studio activity is exceptional and so are the instructors! As a parent of both a fourth and second grader, I'd highly recommend 'UBK' to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

I really feel that some of the school teachers are not willing to work with the parents. I have had some bad experiences. The administration labels kids and don't give them a fair chance. Parent involvement isn't welcomed in my child's homeroom class. I was volunteering in the classroom and was never hardly spoken to by the teacher. I consistently offered to help to no avail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

The school needs to be more proactive in allowing parental involvement, rather than stating that they don't want parents in the classrooms with their children too much. They feel this might be a disturbance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 23%
Hispanic 21% 29%
White 4% 42%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Adrienne Howard
Fax number
  • (561) 671-6550

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 11th St
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 671-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Joseph Littles-Nguzo Saba
West Palm Beach, FL


Roosevelt Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Rosarian Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Saint Ann Catholic School
West Palm Beach, FL


Redemptive Life Academy
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT