Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 760 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2010

Teachers at this school are always working hard and caring about the children. Many things are planned to enhance their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My son goes to this school and hates it! The kids are bullies
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

My son has been at this school since 2007 kindergarden . he loves it here , its not a perfect school but were all happy with this school . And so far my son has had great teachers . thankyou to all teachers and staff of foresthill elementry .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I love the school my daughter was failing before she entered, her teacher made it a great experience for our daughter and us, on helping us bring up her grades. She went from a 'f' average all the way up to an 'a'. Thanks alot to Forrest Hill elem. And the hard working teachers. 'Happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

New principal this year with both positive & negative changes. This is my son's 2nd year at FHES and he is in the Accelerated program. I have been very pleased with his teachers, especially Ms. Franqui. Communication with her has been exceptional! There has been improvement in the drop off/pick up routine from last year, but more still needs to be done. The SACC program (after school) is excellent! Ms. Winkis is great! Not only do the students have time to do homework, but best of all have a variety of FUN activities, including karate, dance club, ASL, as well as special guests; also teach character building (CHAMPS). The only negative is the front office staff. They seem disorganized, are unfriendly and need to improve their 'helpfulness.' I have never once been greeted with a smile, even as a volunteer and it appears they don't know what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I am a parent and i think is a great school. great teachers. I would like to thank and congratulate Mrs Franqui, for her dedication an great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

My son is in kindergarten ,his teacher is Mrs.Goldstein She is doing a fantastic job .My son had never been to day care and I was a little worried about how he would adjust, He feels very safe and is enjoying every day. I feel the pick up goes very smooth he has the same teacher everyday bring him to me(thanks Mrs.Millcarek) My husband and I a very happy with the education that he is getting.We are so happy with the school and everyone who works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

The teachers are the best here. Most of them care a lot about the kids education, that's one of the reasons my son still goes there. Do not care for the principals personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I feel this school needs to work on student drop off/ pick up. There needs to be a better paln to pick the children up by grade or section.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

This school needs to address its safety issues when picking up students from school! Students can just walk off the school with no staff supervision. The principal does not return phone calls nor address parental concerns. I find it hard to get ahold of staff and teachers and they do not act very professional. Parent pickup/dropoff is a complete mess with no police or staff directing traffic. Every now and then you will see a staff member directing the traffic, but not very often. The crossing guards are wonderful. Very nice and watch out for the kids. I guess someone has to since the school does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I'm in complete agreement with the other posting about the principal. I had to follow up with her numerous times to take care of something and even then she had no clue what or who I was after I left uncountable messages for her to call back. Eventually I had to call her boss to get her to return my call. And after that she passed the buck to the teacher and never did what she said she would do. I'm very dissappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

The principal is very unsupportive to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

The administration does not understand professionalism. They do not have any people skills. They do not know how to handle discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Great school with a fine teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

Most teachers are actually pleasant. A few are horrible. The school leadership is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

My son also had Mrs. Kennedy for kingergarten for the 2003-2004 school year. I also feel that she is the best teacher FHES has. My child started off at another school and performed poorly. Mrs. Kennedy brought him into a whole new light. I wish all teachers were so dedicated. She really makes a difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

2002-2003 was my daughters 1st year at this school. Her kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Kennedy was by far the very best teacher a child could hope for in her 1st year of school. It's summertime now and she cannot wait to go back to school just to see Mrs. Kennedy. A week does not go by that she doesn't mention her name. Thank you Mrs. Kennedy for the memories.


Posted June 16, 2003

My son attended this school for two years. Overall, I have been very pleased with the teachers, the curriculum, and the other programs & classes available to us. He was in 5th grade this year, and the school went over and above my expectations to provide 'guidance' classes to help prepare the 5th graders for middle school. They helped the children prepare in many other ways as well. I am very concerned about my child's transition to middle school, and I felt this school did everything they could to help him make this change smoothly. They have provided moral lessions as well as educational ones. His teachers have been helpful, caring and supportive. I had no trouble meeting with the teachers or the assistant principal any time I needed to. Obviously there are no perfect schools, but I felt we had a pretty good experience at Forest Hill Elementary.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
Black 19%
White 13%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. ANA ARCE-GONZALEZ
Fax number
  • (561) 432-2350

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5555 Purdy Lane
West Palm Beach, FL 33415
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 432-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit Christian School
West Palm Beach, FL



West Palm Beach Jr Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Pine Jog Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL



The Open Doorway
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT