Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wynnebrook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 876 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

It is the best school in Palm beach. And it has the best principal ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

I am now in high school, but when i was younger i attended wynnebrook elementary school and absolutely loved it. i was there from k-5 and loved every teacher i had. all the teachers are dedicated and do everything to help their students. attending wynnebrook was the only time i ever look forward to school, on our last day of 5th grade we all cried cause we didnt want to leave! mr. pegg was the principal there when i attended too, and he was always an amazing principal. he's strict when it's necessary, but is mostly a fun, caring guy. overall this school was the best school i have ever been to!


Posted July 25, 2012

Wynnbrook is a great school. The staff are very caring. Mr. Pegg continues to do a wonderful job. Mrs. Berry is the glue that holds it all together. Mr. Berry is a vital part of the team also. I have two girls that have attended for three years. The staff has always been willing to help us in any way possible. The only thing that could be improved is the amount of community involvement. In a working class neighborhood its understandably hard to get people together but im hoping this year more parents will come together for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

This is the best school ever . Mr.Peg is lucky having a great staff since reception to janitors..Good job to every ones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Best school ever. Love Wynnebrok Elementary. A 2nd house for my daugther.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

very unorganized school , not the greatest school to deal with add kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

Wynnebrook elementary is a great school! my teacher is so nice.He taught me the most science and social studies that i have learned in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2006

I love this school! Mr. Pegg is the best pincipal. He take awsome care of the children. The teachers are great. The school has alot of very helpful resoures and programs. I am a part of the PTA and the level of parent involvement is just outstanding! I have nothing bad at all to say about this school! I wish every school could be like this one.I have never trusted a school more than I trust this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school is fabulous. They really care about your child. I have never been at a school where the principal actually knows every child by name. The aftercare program is excellent. I have absolutely no complaints about this school. Any problem you or your child encounter, the will staff stop and listen and take care of that problem. Mr. Pegg is the principal, but he is also a father to your child. He shows genuine love for all of his students, were else will you find a school that feels like family? I'm a single mom, and my kids are at that scchool from 7:30am -5:45pm, and I have absolutely no worries, I know my girls are in the safest most caring hands. This school teaches guidance, discipline, and most of all they teach love and respect for one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

this school is very well its an a school and they teach very well my child went here for k-5 and learned so much,this school is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

This school excels in leadership, team effort and meeting the needs of all it's children. Safety for its students and an open door policy toward parents is second to none. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

The parent involvement at this school is extraordinary! Mr. Pegg is a great principle, very involved in all activities as well as Mrs. Miller the Asst. principle........Mr. Harrell (2nd grade 2003) awesome teacher.....the kids loved him and learned so much this year, very involved with parents!! great school & a wonderful atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 44%
Hispanic 43%
White 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%73%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFFREY PEGG
Fax number
  • (561) 698-7540

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1167 Drexel Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 598-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Melaleuca Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Indian Ridge School
West Palm Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT