Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Melaleuca Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 765 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2013

Melaleuca Elementary School, mi hija va a este Colegio, anteriormente iba a otra escula en Boynton, y puedo hacer comparacion con base solida. Melaleuca Elementary es excelente, buena calidad de profesores y ense anza. La directora, es muy dedicada a su labor y esa dedicacion se trasmite a su personal. Lo recomiendo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

bad school only two great teacher nicest teachers ever the only reason to go there is them. i used to be there student best teachers ever,. there in the dual language program. every teacher in dual language at this school is great other than them terrible school


Posted June 1, 2011

I'm very disappointed with this school. i wish i could score it lower than 1 star. my son is on 2nd grade and he already has experienced been bullied and jump over by several students. Another friend's child got punched on the nose and a roach was put on her bottle water. When i approached te principal and asst. principal they promise they would do an investigation and several weeks later i haven't heard from either. This is school has become very violent.. I'm taking him out being that an opportunity was given thanks to the poor AYP score. no more Melalueca.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

This is our second year here and so far yet another teacher who does not care. Hoping for a different school next year or a good teacher. This school only cares about the kids who are struggling. If the students grades are okay they do nothing to help encourage them. And there is a complete lack of communication in this school. Teachers don't want the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Great school, experienced teachers, wonderful Dual Language program, strong leaders, in need of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

All 3 of my sons have gone,and are still going to Melaleuca Elem. it has been a terrific school. They have been blessed with wonderful teachers who actually care. Im very pleased with them. My boys have learned and are still learning a great deal, they are so excited about going to school. Thankyou to you all. Keep it up !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

This school has a wonderful staff that cares about their students. The office is always helpful and friendly. I've seen the last two principals that have worked at Melaleuca and Ms. Bauer was one one of the principals that listened to parents and helped alot of families in need. The new principal lacks on people skills. Overall, this is a wonderful school for a child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

The parent involvement is phenomenal. The extracurricular activities and teachers are excellent. The principal lacks correct skills to deal with parents. I have been trying to contact the principal since November of 2006, this is May of 2007. I have had to involve the school board over an issue that could have easily ben resolved if administration would only work up to their job requirements. Thank goodness the school year is over. I will definitely move my children from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

The school is strong academically and parents are always around and made to feel welcome.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2005

Meleleuca Elementary School has provided my three children with the opportunity to learn, grow, and have fun! The teachers I've experienced are caring, creative, and made sure that all my children receievd the best education possible. I am grateful for what Melaleuca has done for my children and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

I can't speak highly enough about Mrs. Lewis. Mrs. Lewis is a 4th grade teacher at Melaleuca Elementary. I hope your child would be lucky enough to have her teach your child. Her caringness and helpfullness means so much to me and my son which is hard to find. To myself and my family Melaleuca is an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

Not my top pick of schools. The School constantly fails to screen sick children out,( in one month my 2 children ran up a $3000 doctor bill) and the reading teachers have failed to teach either of my 2 sons to read.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
Black 22%
White 10%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%73%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEBORAH MAUPIN
Fax number
  • (561) 598-7350

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5759 Gun Club Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33415
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 598-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pine Jog Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


West Palm Beach Jr Academy
West Palm Beach, FL



Summit Christian School
West Palm Beach, FL


Holy Name Of Jesus
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT