Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Inlet Grove Community High School

Charter | 9-12 | 705 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

My child enrolled in Inlet in January, and I was satisfied with the school and the way they taught my child.he even had a better attitude about school.but to the last parent. The teachers are there to teach, its up to your kid to learn. But as far as spelling. You look like you need help in that area also. Proofread before you try to put this school on blast. Inlet is a good school, and the teacher do care about the students there. But good luck to you and you choice school. But remember people misspelled things!!! You did!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

My child was invited to attend. So, I decided to do some research and came to this site to read the reviews. No on a can spell. It's shocking!! If that school can not teach a kid spell honors or teacher, I wouldn't want my to attend. Thank you for eye opener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This school is amazing, when I saw the school first hand I was worried because of the location but that doesn't even matter. The students and most of the staff are nice. You can tell they really like seeing you do well, they help you out as much as possible, coming here was a really good choice. I had skipped 8th and went straight to 9th with ap and honers classes, thinking it'd be too much but its actually great. They challenge you, love this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2012

I think/hope this school is going to turn out to be a real gem. First off, it gives your motivated student the opportunity to skip 8th grade, and immediately dive into HS and even AP work, as well as start experiencing life skills in their chosen career area. Secondly, they have this amazing block schedule -- only 4 courses per semester, each class being 1 1/2 hrs. It makes so much sense, I don't know why more schools don't do this -- less homework areas, less class switching, more time to get into subject matter, and 8 classes completed in a year (instead of 7). It is my daughter's first year, and so far she really loves it, despite having to get up so early to take the train. All of her teachers are caring, smart and interested in teaching. Just one month, and my daughter is learning marketable skills. The administration seems really interested in giving your student what they want to succeed, what with career courses that give your kid real life experience, and AP and Honors courses to build GPA We requested some class changes, and guidance was very accommodating. My daughter has made some nice friends. Having to keep a "C" average weeds out some less serious kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

This is a really nice school. It should be relocated to a better community/enviroment. Some students just have no drive or ambition and really make the school less apealing. As for administration, I think they are somewhat afair and really do care about you and your grades. The thing is the teacher and parents alone cant want something that the student themselves don't want academic wise. The bell schedule is very managable and administraion pushes you to be the best you can be with Honors, AP, and IB classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2011

If you guys didn't constantly break the rules we wouldn't have to focus on them so much. One big problem at this school is that most of the students feel entitled to everything and they don't really want to work. They want to be given everything, which sadly, is a reflection of the parents. If you are self motivated and you can follow simple, basic school rules then this is a great school for you. If you are the type of student who doesn't really want to work and needs to be spoon fed everything, go back to kindergarten. PARENTS: EDUCATION STARTS AT HOME


Posted April 17, 2011

INLET GROVE IS RATES NOW AS A , B SCHOOL. TEACHER QUALITY IS GREAT. AND THE PRINCIPAL REALLY CARES ABOUT THE STUDENTS GOING TO COLLEGE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

i love this school i think its great because of the love for every one here its like were all family and every one knows each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

this school is a load or crap. i hate it more than paying taxes. why would you force your child to attend this mud hole. -annoyed student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Inlet grove is a fair school, yes we have buget problems but they make it work. Some techers are good. This school really focus on your career. overall it's ok,it's not the worst.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

I graduated from Inlet Grove in 2009 and I must say that it is really a great school. They do a good job of teaching you about the career path you choose and help get you ready for college. Most of the teachers are great at what they do and have plenty of experience in their subjects. Also, there are only 4 class periods compared to 7 in other high schools, which I thought was a big plus. But there were some budget issues throughout all four years I was there. The results were old books, desks, and buildings all 4 years. Also, the principal while I was there, Ms. Banks, was reasonably strict which was good but she at times got a bit ahead of herself and used empty threats to 'encourage' students. Overall, it is a great high school and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

It has a great nursing program which i am currently in but it gives too much if its money to the athletic department.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

My son loves the low teacher student ratio. I think this is a great school. You only have 4 classes per day and they are honors classes and you get to enjoy what you love to do, whether it is automotive,nursing or criminal law this school would be your choice. I think that my child would just get pushed through school and not have the help he needed if he was to stay in a public school.. The principal will not allow you to graduate unless you are accepted into a college. I wish i had that when I was in school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This school is the BEST. We came from a Hispanic country 7 years ago and because this school my oldest son is at UF!!!. My youngest is at FAMU and both of them got a 100% Florida Bright Future Scholarship. Thanks a lot INLET GROVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I have both of my children in inlet groves. I am very happy to inform that it has been a very positive experience for both of them. My daughter was what they call a skipper, she skipped the eight grade and went directly into 9th. She adapted just fine, with the help of the teachers and faculty. My son entered the engineering and drafting program and has also enjoyed the challenges given to him. Both commment that the one on one with their teachers have been very helpful. Thank-you inlet groves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This school has very poor student-administratiom communication! Now that I am attending college I see how flawed this school is really run. The teachers are good though. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2007

The principal and administration is supportive of students, teachers, and parents. All work tirelessly for the good of the school. Students and teachers work to achieve the highest standards in learning for today and for the future. There is an emphasis on pro=-fessionalism and success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2007

This school is an awesome school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Inlet Grove is a terrible school. Students are treated like they are inferior, and the staff pays more attention to dress code then students and there grades. During Fcat, the staff was so focused on the test scores, they began to pressure the students and make their life miserable! -Concerned Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

I must admit the teachers (or most of them at least) really do care and are very decent teachers but the administration (except Jack Myszowski who is wonderful and Ms. Hicks) is awful and it seems like over half the staff is related to the principal. The rules on fighting are acceptable but dress code is ridiculous along with some very strange other rules that I have havn't seen anywhere else. the clubs are decent and so is the safety but that's all.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

187 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
40%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
53%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 77%
Hispanic 13%
White 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 40%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Female 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 92%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. EMMA BANKS
Fax number
  • (561) 881-4668

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 West 28th Street
West Palm Beach, FL 33404
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 881-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Driftwood Academy
Lake Park, FL


Driftwood Academy
Lake Park, FL





His Academy/Institute
Lake Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT