Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Beach Lakes High School

Public | 9-12 | 1861 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

The issues with the freshman class are that they are required to take intensive reading, regardless of their FCAT scores. This school has programs such as Pre-Law, Biotechnology, Early Childhood, Teaching Academy, and Medical. Pre-Law has a Mock Trial team. There are a few arts programs such as chorus, band, theater, and art classes. The regular-level classes are more remedial and the students in those classes do not know how to behave. Some of the teachers simply put in the grades that give the students credit for the class without knowing the material. Some of the Advanced Placement students in those classes are unable to receive a score that will give them the college credit they need due to the fact that the teachers are not able to cover the material required. There is an on-campus clinic run by a certified nurse, in which students with no medical care can seek help during school hours for their medical needs. The sports that are well-known are Track, Basketball, Volleyball, Soccer and Football. The other teams, swimming, wrestling, baseball, and such, are neglected by a majority of the students and faculty. Some of the neglected teams have old uniforms or no uniforms at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2013

My daughter graduated from Palm Beach Lakes High School last week (5-22-2013), and I must say that this is the best high school in Palm Beach County. She pursued mostly (and was successful) honors and AP classes. She was on the honor roll every semester, and was placed in the top 10% for both her junior and senior years. She will be attending college in the fall of 2013, and now has secured enough scholarship money to pay for college; thanks to PBLHS, especially the Guidance Department. I would highly recommend this school to any parent of any incoming freshman. You will not regret it. Also, PBLHS has one of the best set of teachers available in 2013. If your child attends PBLHS and does not make something of his/her life, then it's his/her fault, without question. Words can never express how grateful I am to PBLHS. My only regret with my daughter attending PBLHS is to see her leave. However, we ll be in touch with the school, because we re hoping we can give something back to the school by offering a scholarship to a worthy student in 2014. PBLHS; you are still the best there is. Continue to keep your head up high, as you are my shining star. Kudos Zachary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

If you're going to use your review to say how wonderful PBL is, I'd suggest you spell check along the way and don't post in all caps. I graduated from Lakes a few years ago, and can honestly say that my experience was positive only because I took honors and AP classes. After being in touch with some of my fellow graduates, I can see that for most of them, the education didn't stick. The teachers I had were great and, for the most part, the curriculum was on par. But overall, the school still needs a lot of work, especially when it comes to grammar and vocabulary. That follows you for the rest of your life. So if you're so proud to have graduated from PBL, do your alma matter a favor and learn how to use the education you received. Learn the difference between they're/their/there and your/you're and past/passed. And when giving condolences to someone, please, for the love of God, don't say "I'm sorry for your lost." It's loss, not lost. Those little differences speak volumes about the education you received. Do PBL and yourselves a favor. If your kids are planning to attend, work to get them in the right classes. Honors is above average, general education is below average for sure.


Posted May 5, 2011

This was a terrible school. The principal needs to retire and take the assistant principal with him. They act like the kids are so terrible at this school and if one thing happens they send the kids home for the day. Its no wonder half of the school cant read- they arent allowed back in class. My child had a terrible experience here and while I am normally a patient person, the way the handled things here was frustrating. Dont send your kids here if you dont have to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

IM ALSO A STUDENT THAT ATTEND PBL...FOR MY EXPERIENCE OF LAKES., ITS A PRETTY GOOD SCHOOL. RUMORS ARE RUMORS AND THATS ALL TO IT. IM CURRENTLY GOING TO BE A JUNIOR AND HAVE BEEN HERE AT LAKES SINCE MY FRESHMAN YEAR AND NEVER HAD 1 ISSUE...ONLY THAT THE AP'S TAKE THIER JOBS A LITTLE TO OUT OF PROPORTION. THEY RATHER SEND YOU HOME THEN GIVE YOUR A WARNING AND SEND YOU BACK TO CLASS DUE TO A MISHAP IN THE DRESSCODE OR TARDINESS.... YES WE USE ALITTLE IMPROVEMENT BUT OVER ALL IM PROUD TO BE A RAM AND I'LL DEFEND THAT TITLE 50 YEARS FROM NOW
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2010

I'm a recent graduate of the Center for Pre-Law at Palm Beach Lakes Community High School and I can truly that this school is one of the best. If you child wants to be a lawyer or is interested in law, then this is the place to be. Of course it has its downsides but so does every school. The rumors about all the fights, violence, gangs is has no more weight than what is actually happening at other schools across the county. The students are determined to succeed, are teachers, administrators, and staff who have in interest and investment in making sure that students succeed. Go Rams!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

PBL is an excellent school.The students there brilliant and have the ability to adapt to any situation at the drop of a dime.As a third year student at PBL i have heard just about every rumor about lakes...According to rumors at lakes students fight everyday and have sex in class...Well, as i have said I have been a student at PBL for three years and have only whitnessed about 6 fights whis is typical in any other school per year..I also believe PBL has the absolute best band program around.The students and band staff are extremely dedicated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

Great school, always trying to find ways to help the kids succeed. Not one of those places where they accept failure as the status quo.


Posted August 6, 2009

im a junior at palm beach lakes high school and ive been going here since freshmen year and i can say that there are some teachers who truly care about you education and then there are those who just dont. you have teachers who come in and actually teach you and then you have the ones who come put on a movie for the class and then just worry about there own. then you mr collins our principal. now he does truly care about the education of his students. he is a good principal. and the ap's all they really care about is if you are in dress code or not. if they really cared about a students education they wouldnt be so quick to send a student home because they are out of dress code.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

im a sophomore and i have to say that his school is one of the funnest high school i enjoyed the classes are fun because the teachers make it funn i love this school i wish i could stay the rest of my lifee
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

I am a former student of lakes and i can truthly say i love it there your child must come to school really to learn not to come to really to be rude and disrespectful so don't come online say untruthful things parents these days don't care how there child is doing in there classes the teachers at PBL can't force there parents to be apart of there child's life. my name is yvonne and i love this school every one cares for you but you have to care too so yes you should send your child here i highly recommend you send you child to Palm Beach Lakes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

principal is terrible, test scores are awlful. Do not send your kid here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

this school id one of the worst ive ever been at. all the students want to do is mess around. and the teachers all want to sit there and not teach. so nobody wants to learn at that school. all the admins care about is how many tardies you have or if youre in dress code or not. they dont care about how you do in school, they just want o put you in in school suspendtion or send you home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

My daughter graduated from PBL class of 07. I great respect for the school, teachers, principal, and other staff. They care about the students and make every effort to know them by name. I was a parent who voted for the uniforms making pbl the first high school in pb county to do so. The young men and women looked great. It looked and is run like a private school. I was on SAC and PTO went to school functions. The parent involvement should be higher than it is. It really makes a difference in your childs education. My child was involved in debate,track, and dace. I have nothing bad to say about pbl. A lot of the students knew me and I found the lot of them very respectful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

the teachers dont teach, all they do is assign work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

PBL Is an okay school i am in the Law Magnet Program Yes we do have the best Law Magnet Program in the county.I am in the top ten percent of my class. I dont Understand why people always talk about the Rams (pbl) but it is just like any other school if your child is willing to work than you should have no probleem with pbl besides every school has there problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

The guidance councilors are the best and they really care. Mr. Collins is a very involve principle and he doesn't play when it comes to discipline. I graduated this school in the top 20% of my class and I am now attending UCF where I still have a good G.P.A. All my siblings went to and graduated from Palm Beach Lakes and they are now making something of themselves.'
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 29, 2007

I graduated Palm Beach Lakes class of 05 and I can tell you from experience and growth it is one of the best schools you can send your child. There is a lot of bad talk about Lakes but it is up to your child to make it an experience of their own. If they want a good outcome that is what they will get. There are teachers there who go above and beyond helping their students. The guidance councilors are the best and they really care. Mr. Collins is a very involve principle and he doesn't play when it comes to discipline. I graduated this school in the top 20% of my class and I am now attending UCF where I still have a good G.P.A. All my siblings went to and graduated from Palm Beach Lakes and they are now making something of themselves.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2007

The school is actually one of a competitive nature. The kids who actually come to school to work compete to be in the top ten. They care about their school work and work hard to achieve it. There are the kids who do not want to work and as long as your kid is willing to work, they will achieve. As a current student of Palm Beach Lakes and a member of the Pre-Law Academy, I can honestly say that this school is very conducive learning environment and if you want your child to be cultured, then I'd advise you send them here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2007

My son attended PBLHS for one year. The first semester he did ok, second semester he did nothing and failed the entire semester. I was not told about this until the last week of school. Then it was way to late to change anything. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The communication between teachers and parents is not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

522 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

447 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

392 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

403 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

462 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
30%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 74%
Hispanic 17%
White 5%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 65%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. ANTHONY HAMLET
Fax number
  • (561) 688-5340

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3505 Shiloh Drive
West Palm Beach, FL 33407
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 640-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seagull Academy
Riviera Beach, FL


Believers Academy
West Palm Beach, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT