Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
West Palm Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 1,861
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palm Beach Lakes High School 3

Posted February 18, 2014
- a student
The issues with the freshman class are that they are required to take intensive reading, regardless of their FCAT scores. This school has programs such as Pre-Law, Biotechnology, Early Childhood, Teaching Academy, and Medical. Pre-Law has a Mock Trial team. There are a few arts programs such as chorus, band, theater, and art classes. The regular-level classes are more remedial and the students in those classes do not know how to behave. Some of the teachers simply put in the grades that give the students credit for the class without knowing the material. Some of the Advanced Placement students in those classes are unable to receive a score that will give them the college credit they need due to the fact that the teachers are not able to cover the material required. There is an on-campus clinic run by a certified nurse, in which students with no medical care can seek help during school hours for their medical needs. The sports that are well-known are Track, Basketball, Volleyball, Soccer and Football. The other teams, swimming, wrestling, baseball, and such, are neglected by a majority of the students and faculty. Some of the neglected teams have old uniforms or no uniforms at all

Palm Beach Lakes High School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Palm Beach Lakes High School last week (5-22-2013), and I must say that this is the best high school in Palm Beach County. She pursued mostly (and was successful) honors and AP classes. She was on the honor roll every semester, and was placed in the top 10% for both her junior and senior years. She will be attending college in the fall of 2013, and now has secured enough scholarship money to pay for college; thanks to PBLHS, especially the Guidance Department. I would highly recommend this school to any parent of any incoming freshman. You will not regret it. Also, PBLHS has one of the best set of teachers available in 2013. If your child attends PBLHS and does not make something of his/her life, then it's his/her fault, without question. Words can never express how grateful I am to PBLHS. My only regret with my daughter attending PBLHS is to see her leave. However, we ll be in touch with the school, because we re hoping we can give something back to the school by offering a scholarship to a worthy student in 2014. PBLHS; you are still the best there is. Continue to keep your head up high, as you are my shining star. Kudos Zachary.


Palm Beach Lakes High School 3

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
If you're going to use your review to say how wonderful PBL is, I'd suggest you spell check along the way and don't post in all caps. I graduated from Lakes a few years ago, and can honestly say that my experience was positive only because I took honors and AP classes. After being in touch with some of my fellow graduates, I can see that for most of them, the education didn't stick. The teachers I had were great and, for the most part, the curriculum was on par. But overall, the school still needs a lot of work, especially when it comes to grammar and vocabulary. That follows you for the rest of your life. So if you're so proud to have graduated from PBL, do your alma matter a favor and learn how to use the education you received. Learn the difference between they're/their/there and your/you're and past/passed. And when giving condolences to someone, please, for the love of God, don't say "I'm sorry for your lost." It's loss, not lost. Those little differences speak volumes about the education you received. Do PBL and yourselves a favor. If your kids are planning to attend, work to get them in the right classes. Honors is above average, general education is below average for sure.

Palm Beach Lakes High School 1

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
This was a terrible school. The principal needs to retire and take the assistant principal with him. They act like the kids are so terrible at this school and if one thing happens they send the kids home for the day. Its no wonder half of the school cant read- they arent allowed back in class. My child had a terrible experience here and while I am normally a patient person, the way the handled things here was frustrating. Dont send your kids here if you dont have to.

Palm Beach Lakes High School 4

Posted August 08, 2010
- a student
IM ALSO A STUDENT THAT ATTEND PBL...FOR MY EXPERIENCE OF LAKES., ITS A PRETTY GOOD SCHOOL. RUMORS ARE RUMORS AND THATS ALL TO IT. IM CURRENTLY GOING TO BE A JUNIOR AND HAVE BEEN HERE AT LAKES SINCE MY FRESHMAN YEAR AND NEVER HAD 1 ISSUE...ONLY THAT THE AP'S TAKE THIER JOBS A LITTLE TO OUT OF PROPORTION. THEY RATHER SEND YOU HOME THEN GIVE YOUR A WARNING AND SEND YOU BACK TO CLASS DUE TO A MISHAP IN THE DRESSCODE OR TARDINESS.... YES WE USE ALITTLE IMPROVEMENT BUT OVER ALL IM PROUD TO BE A RAM AND I'LL DEFEND THAT TITLE 50 YEARS FROM NOW


Palm Beach Lakes High School 3

Posted July 13, 2010
- a student
I'm a recent graduate of the Center for Pre-Law at Palm Beach Lakes Community High School and I can truly that this school is one of the best. If you child wants to be a lawyer or is interested in law, then this is the place to be. Of course it has its downsides but so does every school. The rumors about all the fights, violence, gangs is has no more weight than what is actually happening at other schools across the county. The students are determined to succeed, are teachers, administrators, and staff who have in interest and investment in making sure that students succeed. Go Rams!!!

Palm Beach Lakes High School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
PBL is an excellent school.The students there brilliant and have the ability to adapt to any situation at the drop of a dime.As a third year student at PBL i have heard just about every rumor about lakes...According to rumors at lakes students fight everyday and have sex in class...Well, as i have said I have been a student at PBL for three years and have only whitnessed about 6 fights whis is typical in any other school per year..I also believe PBL has the absolute best band program around.The students and band staff are extremely dedicated.

Palm Beach Lakes High School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Palm Beach Lakes High School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Palm Beach Lakes High School 1

Posted August 13, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palm Beach Lakes High School
3505 Shiloh Drive, West Palm Beach, FL  33407
(561) 640-5000
Last modified Palm Beach Lakes High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palm Beach Lakes High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top