Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,373 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
they should allow the kids to audition out of their art major as they are multitalented and this is a performing arts school...i.e. dance or vocal major can audition for a theater play and vice versa. academics are extremely hard and stressful for students...some for no reason. should have intermediate +s in grades than merely A, B, C, D and F. Don't know if they have an established relationship with admissions officers at the Ivy League schools.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 4

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Seems to be a great school. Hoping for another good year for all new and returning students.


Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Dreyfoos last year. She completed her first year at a prestigious Boston college and did excellent! Dreyfoos totally prepared my daughter for a vigorous program of study. She took many AP courses and was active in all the honor societies there. She told me that many of her college friends were having difficulty keeping up with their studies. These kids had gone to private northeast high schools! She loved Dreyfoos and visit whenever shhe's home. My only complaint is that the school lost an exceptional language teacher (through no fault of his) who inspired the students & was loved by all! Michael went on to accept a position at a local prestigious private high school.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted June 01, 2013
- a student
Hey everyone! Honestly I cried when I received the letter letting me know i was going to be part of the dreyfoos class of 2016. I went to bak in middle school and loved it so much. When i didn't get into dreyfoos i was devastated. For the past school year I have gone through hell and back. I have a serious white blood cell condition that allows me to contract illness's and miss school constantly. No less than one month in American heritage i was dubbed with having aids. Not because I acted slutty or anything like that. We must wear a uniform and i don't even wear makeup. Im also very shy so i don't talk to many guys in the first place! The entire year I was ignored in fear of "contracting" aids. People would even wipe the handles on the doors so they wouldn't catch my disese. Thankfully I kept all my friends that went to dreyfoos and I will see them again next year. God bless this school for allowing kids to be a bit quirky and accepted. I walked into school to check it out for a day and i was immediately welcomed. Please allow your child to audition here, even if they don't get in the first time.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of two students at Dreyfoos school of the Arts and I have been very happy with the quality of their education. The strings department has been awesome. The entire orchestra is going to New York for spring break and will be playing at Carnegie Hall. Where else would Carnegie Hall be part of the education. Also they have taken over 9 AP classes and I feel they both will be very prepared for college. Many of the students go on to very competitive colleges. I am happy that they are at Dreyfoos


Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 2

Posted July 02, 2012
- a community member
I had a pretty poor experience at Dreyfoos. The administration was rude and largely incompetent, it was very difficult to make friends, and the environment was cutthroat and competitive. I was disappointed with my art area because there were too many unmotivated students (which wasn't addressed by the arts teachers at all). I did enjoy the guest speakers, the flexibility with scheduling, some aspects of my art classes, and the opportunities to participate in a lot of clubs and honor societies. However, that didn't make up for the unwelcoming and inefficient nature of the school. I would not recommend it.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a community member
I love the way the teachers appeal to the students imagination by assigning projects that broaden their artistic skills while teaching them about history, social studies, etc.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Hi I need a greatschools for my daughters. We life in Dominican Republic but next year we will move to Miami. My daughters love music, dance. I will like to known if we can visit the school next month.


Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. My daughter also went to Bak and is a visual arts major. She is in ninth grade now and I think the school is exemplary. Unfortunately, we have to move to NJ and she won't get to go to 10-12 here. It breaks my heart to leave. If your daughter or son has a chance to go to this school JUMP ON IT. THE BEST school experience we have ever had.

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
hi i'm really interested in going to dreyfoos for there theatre program because i want o be and actress and a director, but i've heard dreyfoos has drama, musical theatre and acting, which one is for monologues and film festivals? somene please help me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts
501 South Sapodilla Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL  33401
(561) 802-6000
Last modified Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexander W Dreyfoos Junior School Of The Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top