Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Egret Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 700 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2011

My wife and I love Egret Lake. The teachers and supprt staff are excellent. I had lost faith in the public school system until my child started to attend Egret. We are going ot miss the school but are greatful for the solid foundation he has recieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

it's a very good and organized school teachers are very nice and classroom very neat
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I love this school for my son> he has been here since k and now he is in 2nd grade. The whole staff is great and they truly care about the kids. I am very happy and proud to have my child attending Egret Lake!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

My son has been at Egret Lake since he was five and I haven't had any problems with the school the principals are excellent. Teachers are great, they are available whenever you need them. It will be hard when he leaves this year but I hope I can find a school that is as great as egret lake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My child attended Egret Lakes for a couple of years. The school is nice in appearance and the Staff is very friendly. However I would have liked to see options to educate further. For example if a child is having a problem reading or with math. The school does have special programs to those who qualify for extra help. But when that extra help is not working out, there needs to be something else that can be done to educate those children who are below average and have been for years further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

Great school with an almost ideal teacher/student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

My child attended school here 3-5th grade. I was always really happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

My son attended Egret Lake for 2 years. During that time we had many problems with the school. The level of education the children receive is not at its highest. Unfortunately unless you are a child that is below average you will not be taught properly. There are no provisions for the gifted children in this school. My suggestion is to do what we did. Send your child elsewhere, afther all it is their future not the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

This school is ok considering it is a rated C school but the home works that my child takes home is very easy and I notice a slow progress on my child in math and reading. I have to encourage my son to study on his own.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 58%
Hispanic 27%
White 9%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 87%73%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CHRISTINE RICK
Fax number
  • (561) 616-7950

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5115 47th Place North
West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 616-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Learning Path Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Arthur I Meyer Jewish Academy
West Palm Beach, FL



Renaissance Learning Center
West Palm Beach, FL


Ephesus Junior Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT