Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bak Middle School of the Arts

Public | 6-8 | 1355 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

89 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 10, 2014

Extroverts only. Introverts need not apply. My daughter is a fantastic artist and writer, but did not get in because she did not speak loudly enough and did not show enough emotion and gestures during audition. It is evident that there is only one personality type on campus when you visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Love this school. I'm so happy that my 7th grade girl attend in VISUAL ART PROGRAM.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

This school perfectly met my daughters needs. She is an 8th grade Visual Arts major. The combination of being able to take didactic classes, then art classes in the same day improved her over all school performance. She is in all gifted and advanced courses. She took HS Algebra 1 last year and HS Geometry and HS Spanish this year. It is a tough school and has high demands and expectations. Due to this, she has learned dedication and time management. Her grades are great and she is very enthusiastic about the school. No school is flawless, she has liked some teachers better than others, some classes better than others. These students overall have a high level of self esteem and learn that hard work yields great accomplishments. She is proud to have attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

I attended Bak last year for my eighth grade year, and was very nervous about switching schools in the middle of my middle school career. I came from a Christian School, at which I had a very poor experience. I auditioned for Bak for Theatre as First Choice, and Vocal as Second Choice. I really wanted to pursue Theatre, but I also enjoyed signing. I passed the rigorous auditions for both, however only a spot was available for my second choice, Vocal. I accepted, and was told that if a spot open up for Theatre, I would be accepted into the Theatre program. I started the school year in Vocal, fearing that I would be ostracized and not accepted by others. By lunch time on the first day, I knew that I had encountered a very special school, and that my fears were altogether dumbfounded. I really enjoyed Vocal, but my heart was in the Theatre. I met with the principal (at that time Mrs. Kennedy), and she set up a meeting with Mr. Valentine, the Theatre Dean. I spoke with them, and we talked for quite a bit, and they ultimately told me they would let me know. I ended up switching to Theatre, and I had a superb year. I thoroughly enjoyed both Arts and Academic classes. Best School EVER


Posted October 22, 2013

I am currently a 7th grader at Bak MSOA and I have learned a lot of from this school. Not just academic skills but how school should be first priority. Yes this school is difficult and gives more work than average but I believe to get better you should be challenged. All of the rude comments you see are parents that are furious at the fact that their kid did not get in. If your kid is interested in arts I totally recommend it. I came into Bak not knowing much about my major, which is communications. We do a lot of video and radio production, journalism, speech and debate, and graphic design. My dream career is now to be a director or producer of movies, Bak has helped me figure out my path. I really can not say anything bad about it, for once I actually enjoy going to school every morning.


Posted January 24, 2013

Honestly, this middle school was one of the best schools I have ever attended. Although I only spent one year there, it was the most beneficial year of my schooling thus far. I attended three different schools in so many years and this school was the reason that I began to love learning again. They encourage their students to learn and be cultured at the same time. I graduated in 2011 and the teachers were so supportive of the high schools that we chose to attend. I chose to attend Suncoast High School which is one of the top ranked schools in the nation and I found that I was extremely prepared for the amount of work and rigorous curriculum that was thrust upon me. If your child is interested in the arts at all, I suggest you encourage them to audition because it is truly a wonderful experience. Everyone there is accepting and their Theatre program is fantastic!


Posted October 20, 2012

BAK is AWESOME. We love Mrs. Kennedy, Ms. Souder, Mr B, Mrs B, Mr Barefoot, Ms. Ellrich, Ms.Womble, Ms. Jahn, Mr. Loud, Ms. Rizzo, Mr. Cantor. We just started and so grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

BMSOA is one of the best middle schools in Florida. Private schools lose a lot of their best students to Bak when they enter 6th grade. From top to bottom, no school can compete academically. The arts options are exceptional and the facilities in general are fantastic. Not to mention that every great teacher wants to teach at Bak. The students are bright, engaged and eager to learn. The environment alone is reason enough to want to be there. The only problem with the school is that it is extremely selective. A lot (and I am not exaggerating here) of great, smart and talented students do not get accepted. But I firmly believe that great kids do great things regardless of where they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

My daughter has spent the last 3 years at BAK, and as she gets ready to move on to Suncoast MSE program, I felt it appropriate to review this school. It is absolutely amazing, the students are fun, intelligent and respectful of their teachers, parents and surroundings. The school teaches yet allows the child to evolve as an individual, what a remarkable place to be at. Teachers are so amazing there and the curriculum is integrated to the creative core of the school, my child loves BAK and she is very sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Nothing like it... If your children are interested in the arts, this is the school for them. Academics and arts that are outstanding. Top notch everything. My children love their school. Even the non- arts teachers we've encountered so far have been amazing at giving students various choices in how to do certain projects (example... Turn in a project about a country as a report, as a video, as a travel brochure, a shadow box, etc.). Students are able to access the creative parts of their mind, making learning SO much more fun - and memorable. Kids are kids anywhere you go, and this school is no different. However, my kids HAVE ATTENDED a non - choice middle school and there IS a difference on what is tolerated here. Severe discipline cases are not permitted to return, making it a better learning environment for those who are focused. I could go on for days, but with just over 190 characters remaining? I will simply end with "every day grateful" that my kids have finally been accepted into this school. There IS a difference. This is consistently rated the #1 middle school in the county, and consistently a top 10 in the state. Simply outstanding, no doubt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

BEST SCHOOL EVER!! I'm a seventh grade strings major and LOVE my teachers and friends and the whole family of students.


Posted October 23, 2011

I think this is the most awesome school ever! I'm a seventh-grade vocal major and I absolutely LOVE the teachers! There are great people there and I've made so many great friends. I love everything about the school except the "no music at lunch" rule. Other than that, I wish this school could go to collage :)


Posted September 20, 2011

THIS SCHOOL MAY BE AN "A" RATED SCHOOL AND YES THEY DO SCORE VERY HIGH ON THE FCAT WHICH IS GREAT. HOWEVER I DO NOT LIKE HOW THE TEACHERS SHOW FAVORTISM TO MOSTLY ALL OF THE STUDENTS. FOR EXAMPLE THEIR DRESS CODE IS RIDICULOUS..YET MOSTLY ALL CAUCASIAN GIRLS STILL WEAR THE EVER SO SHORT HOLLISTER AND ABERCROMBIE & FITCH SHORTS AND SKIRTS OR LEGGINGS WITH RIPS IN THEM AND WEAR THEM WITH HIGH STILETTO SHOES. TOTALLY INAPPROPRIATE. NOT TO MENTION IF YOUR STUDENT IS IN INTERMEDIATE STRINGS AND THEY TRY OUT MORE THAN ONCE FOR ADVANCE AND DON'T GET IN BUT PLAYS 1ST CHAIR AND READS AND WRITES AND PLAYS ADVANCED PIECES AND HAS A PRIVATE INSTRUCTOR AS WELL AND PLAYS NOTHING BUT ADVANCE PIECES WITH HER TEACHER..YET WHEN SHE AUDITIONS FOR DREYFOOS AND PLAYS A LEVEL 6 SUZUKI BOOK FOR STRINGS AND DOESNT GET IN I FIND THAT MIND BOOGLING. WHAT IVE LEARNED IS WHO YOU KNOW, DO OR HOW MUCH YOU PAY TO GET IN. I THINK BAK AND DREYFOOS ARE BOTH OVER RATED
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Its the greatest school ever and so much fun to be in! The teachers are fantastic and the arts are amazing!


Posted September 19, 2011

this may be an A rated school but my daughters academics suffered severely during the one year she was there (6th). She came from a private school and was in the "gifted" program and she was bored. Her SAT scores showed the lack of academic training. Also you have to give up a foreign language unless you want to use it as your elective. The theater program is fair. Thank goodness I got my daughter back into private school (Ransom Everglades!) where she not only has a foreign language but drama everyday (which also includes film making). My advice to people is if you can afford private school then keep your kids in private school. Any parent that rationalizes attendance to public schools (at least in Florida) is kidding themselves. Go rent Waiting for Superman. I have experienced the difference first hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

The parents aren't allowed to see their children perform during the audition, so how do they know their child did such a good performance? My son just finished 6th grade at BAK and I love the school. He is very challenged academically, and as a vocal major had the opportunity to sing at Carnegie hall with his chorus group. From the chorus uniform (they dress with jacket and tie), to the way he is expected to behave, and the teachers provided for him, my son is receiving top education. This year he will have private voice lesson at school twice a month. All free. The teachers are amazing. We love Mrs. D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Awesome school. I'm a 6th grade commie and i love it for the most part. It's a very mixed group of teachers. Half are amazing and the other half can sometimes be unorganized. We learn a lot at this school!


Posted May 4, 2011

Don't listen to some of the comments. A lot of people are mad when their children didn't get into this school. How the audition goes, is first the student auditions, and if they are good enough, they get in. If they aren't good enough, which is only a few, they get into the waiting list, which IS a raffle. So "Excellent Students that auditioned got into the waiting pool" are not really excellent when compared to the others. This school is truly awesome. There are so many electives and programs to choose from. There's going to be eight hours next year, instead of seven, giving students much more choices for their activities. If you have a problem with too much homework, choosing Study Hall is a good option. Plus, there are DJ parties, and MANY trips to plays for all the students, especially at the end of the year. You could come to the school early (arrive by bus, is the best choice), and students could hang out in the media center, courtyard, etc. This used to be a high school campus, but modified to prevent flooding for the safety of the student body.


Posted April 17, 2011

Very dissapointed with the way they handled admissions this year. It is not fair to the talented children who worked hard for their auditions. But than again with school budget cuts this year, who knows how long they will be able to continue bettering the art programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

I am currently a visual arts major at Bak and it is the most amazing and fun learning experience for me. Dont listen to the parents and students at other schools because they have never spent a school day here. Everybody that I meet here is really nice and talented. The academic and art teachers both are experts and exiteing too. If there is any student that goes here and hates it (look below, I promise) probably doesn't go here at all. But there is just one thing. Make sure you love the major you're trying out for is one that you are really good at and one that you love with all your heart. If you do, then good luck at BAK.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

433 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Black 14% 23%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%73%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Kennedy
Fax number
  • (561) 882-3879

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1725 Echo Lake Dr
West Palm Beach, FL 33407
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 882-3870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Highridge Family Center
West Palm Beach, FL



Alternative Program Central
West Palm Beach, FL


Renaissance Learning Center
West Palm Beach, FL


Carp
West Palm Beach, FL


Redemptive Life Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT