Advertisement
Advertisement

Cardinal Newman High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Palm Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $48,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2012

Since these reviews reflect on the school, please take a minute to proof read and check your grammar before submitting a comment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

I have been at Newman since freshman year. I love this school. It is a loving environment and a good learning place. As a matter of fact I went to public school for five years and asked my parents to take me out of those schools because I was becoming too lazy, not studying and well hanging out with the wrong crowd. I feel like Newman has brought me back. Yes it is a hard school, but you learn as much as you want to. There are students who do not like to study and they cheat, but if you are not like them, you learn a lot. I have already graduated and really like the school. I enjoyed everything except for my junior year in IB. I was bullied and went to the dean's office. They really helped me out. Now i am trying to get my little sister to go there because she wants to go to a public school, which i have been to and have had a bunch of bad experiences. Now like the poster below said "Sometimes parents don't understand that their kids are growing up and high school is part of their life, drugs and alcohol are in every high school its just whatever crowd your kid is a part of, judging Newman because of things like this is ridiculous."
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2012

I am a student and I have been in private school all my life. Coming in as a freshman isn't easy for anyone no matter what school you go to. The worst that ever happened to me was being called a freshie and there is no freshman friday its not allowed. Now that i am a sophomore I realize how much this school is really preparing me for my life. Its not all that bad and every school has ups and downs but Im learning to make the right decisions here. Sometimes parents don't understand that their kids are growing up and high school is part of their life, drugs and alcohol are in every high school its just whatever crowd your kid is a part of, judging Newman because of things like this is ridiculous. I believe its a school of character and if you kid does their homework and study's the lowest grade you could get in a class is a C. It was hard for me to adjust in the begging but after seeing other schools from sports meets I realize how happy I am to be here. The school itself is pretty old and could use some work but all in all its more the people that matter than appearance. We also have dress down days for fundraising and all though there is a dress code its really not that bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2011

NO idea what former 3 responders are speaking to. I have 1 who graduated CN's IB program (w/a better pass rate than all the local competing schools-private or public) & 1 that's a sophomore entering the IB program. Both very different personalities,both have excelled in ways they never would've if placed in one of these huge, non descript public school mills where students are only known as a number. As an involved parent, neither of my children experienced any bullying, other than normal growing up experiences which i've heard are horrible at most public schools & many of the private schools. Staff @ CN is on top of everything that goes on (sometimes smothering) & very compasionate. In true Catholic manner, they bend over backwards for the underdog. The above comments may have come from a person who's child was a bully or not adhering to CN's morals/values. This is, & has been for 50 yrs, an amazing place for children to get a world class education (if capable) as well as learning compassion, morals & values. Some parents today need to learn problem just might stem from THEIR child. No other school in the area has consistently, for 50 years, produced so many successful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

Sadly, I think the school can't handle its load. Poor academics, poor administration, even poorer ethics. Please talk to other parents about their kids terrifying experiences at CN.


Posted February 12, 2011

As I am using this as a guide for a younger child that will not be attending CN HS. I am hoping more parents post on these websites. Having a senior at this school, I can confirm the previous post, and hope enrollement drops as parents visit this site. I feel a decent education was received, little college guidance was offered. While some teachers are caring and available, most are uninterested. The principal is spineless and has no personallity. Drinking on school property receives an in school suspension or goes unnoticed. Drinking on school trips also goes unnoticed. Teen pregnancy gets rewarded with duel enrollment and graduation accolades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

II honestly feel that there a far better public schools than Cardinal Newman. My daughter was threatened the first week of school by another female student and it happened again on the third week of school. Nothing was done to assist my daughter after these incidents, but she sure got detention after detention for wearing her skirt five inches above the knee instead of four for laughing during mass or appearing to be chewing gum. The Dean s way of reprimanding students is generic, as if she was in robot mode. She doesn t attempt to address the real issues resorting instead to it is in the Handbook responses. The teachers are overworked and unhappy and some of them are unable to effectively discipline their students. In January my daughter was called stupid by her English teacher for giggling when reading out loud. This was a devastating incident witnessed by many students. When confronted, the teacher stated that she said that what my daughter was doing was stupid not that she was stupid. No apology was issued to either my daughter or us. I am not going to wait around for something else to happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My daughter started this year as a freshman. I honestly feel this school is great. It is not easy but it is not impossible. There are many activities to choose from and I love the involvement of the parents. I feel my daughter is safe here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school really prepares kids for college and the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

This school can be good, depending on who you are. if you are looking for a spanking new school with beautiful facilites and never-ending extracurriculars, than this may not be the school for you. academics are very good and the school has some very dedicated teachers, it is just the extracurriculars that leave much to be desired.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

My son is Graduating next month from Newman, and my wife and I are so proud of him and the school. There is a true family atmosphere over a Cardinal Newman that is not present in public high schools. Our daughter will be entering this fall as a Freshman. Go Crusaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

How can this school have such a great rating when it's falling apart. It's a St.Clare Alumni. There are no decent Catholic Schools to chose from. This is it. I would rather move closer to a school that has a more diverse culture. Watch who comes and goes, and if your not wearing Lily Pulitzer, then your not in the'In Crowd'. ( sorry Lily) Thank God, we have stong children that are not followers. If your kids can adapt to that self depricating lifestyle than this school is right up your alley. Many Grads can be found still local,in the bars and the ballfields, that says it all right there! Groom your children so that they may be lucky enough to experience Suncoast or Dreyfoos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

My daughter is a sophomore. We have had a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Outstanding school. Great safe place for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

The academics are rigorous with excellent teachers. There are a wide range of sports available for the students. The parents are very involved at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

Cardinal Newman High School provides a quality education. The academic program is rigorous. The teachers are interested in the individual students and, in our experience, have been willing to go out of their way to be helpful. The schedule the students follow has them going to six out of their seven classes each day. This allows them one day in a cycle to catch up on the subject that is omitted for that day. The only thing I might question is that the students only have homeroom once a week. This does allow for shorter days four days a week but homeroom used to be the pulse of high school - where one forged relationships and were kept aware of what was going on in the school. It seems to work there though and I imagine if the students were asked, they would not want a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 44%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Black 5% 29%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Palm Beach
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

512 Spencer Drive
West Palm Beach, FL 33409
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 683-6266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Leadership Academy West
West Palm Beach, FL


Palm Beach Virtual
West Palm Beach, FL


Renaissance Learning Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Coates Learning Center
West Palm Beach, FL


Worthington High School
West Palm Beach, FL


Poinciana Day School
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT