Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Christian School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Palm Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $53,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

My son and daughter have learned a lot here and have earned high SAT scores. The teachers are kind and loving. It has been a wonderful environment for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

Excelente escuela, gran formacion en todos los sentidos de alumnos y maestros. Estoy muy satisfecha de los resultados alcansados por mi hijo junto a su equipo de trabajo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

High school students are offered very few academic choices. Teachers offer very poor communication to parents about progress. One teacher even refused my request for a parent-teacher conference. Preferential treatment is often given to students who have been there for over 10 years. Others are treated as pariahs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

My children go to school here and it is a truly wonderful school, great teachers, great programs, and excellent percentage of kids that continue to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

Very poor choice of teachers. Ready to close because of lack of funds which has been going on for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I have had kids at Summit in the preschool and elementary school. Both of these levels have excellent teachers who love what they are doing and love the kids. The teachers and staff in these areas create a great environment. The academics are challenging and my kids are academically ahead of their friends that are in public school. They have also made some great friends at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

I went to Summit for 9 years. The first few years that I went there, I really liked it. Once I hit 7th grade, I really disliked it. Everyone started changing and becoming really mean to everyone else. I had a lot of problems from that point on going there. The leadership level has rapidly lowered in the past 3 or 4 years, and the discipline is horrible. I never got in trouble for anything, and one mistake I made could get me suspended, while another kid who was super bad could make many mistakes and get away with it with just a "Don't do it again," and then get sent back to class. (The ones who got sent back to class were either spoiled kids with rich parents, or basketball players.) I'm so glad that I left the school. Take my advice, don't send your kids there.


Posted May 23, 2010

My child went there a few years ago. The leadership was poor. The preschool was fantastic from what I heard. Elementary, ok. Middle, mediocre, HS has some decent teachers, but again..poor leadership. Students were so varied. Some were public school left overs and others kids who had parents who paid for grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Preschool is the best... Anything past preschool ...No!!!!. There are a couple of super elementary teachers but thats about it. Very sad that things are changing they way they are. Another thing they don't address 'mean kids'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Summit Christian Because of the Academic Excellence, It's Great and Supportive Teachers and Staff, And for it's Good Values and Groups. This school will always be my favorite, because of all the great friends I made, and I give thanks that I could attend this great school. I know that any student that is welcomed into this school will come out of it a better and more successful person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Summit Christian is a great school! My two boys have gone here since K4 (one is now in 8th grade and the other in 5th) and I have nothing but praise for both the academics as well as athletics! It is not too big so it feels very family oriented and is not too small that it doesn't have a lot of extracurricular opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My child went there from K4 all the way to 5th grade. She received an excellent academic education that carried well into middle school. The only downsides were the school trying to squeeze every penny out of me, the parents can be very close minded or rich types that send their kids there only because it was private. They were very 'cliqu-ee' and as a parent I tried hard to fit in, but always hit a wall. My kids biggest complaint was how can Christian kids be so mean. I was relieved when she decided to go to another school for 6th grade, and she has been happy and socially busy now that she can hang with kids who are not so spoiled or live in a bubble.


Posted June 11, 2008

Awesome! My Daughter went to pre-school and it was the best choice I have made so far! The low classroom ratio and the amount of attention my daughter received both academically and spiritually from the teachers and staff members surpassed all my expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

I have a daughter in the preschool program at Summit Christian School. I absolutely feel very comfortable with the school . The academic program at the preschool level has been very good. I think it's always a good idea to check out the teacher that your child is going to be with. I have been very pleased with all the teachers my daughter has had up until now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I'm not a parent but I will add my comment. I was a student at this school for about 7 years. I enjoyed attending Summit and I hope that someday I will have the joy of sending my children to Summit. The teachers are wonderful. Fellow students will be the best friends you will ever have. You can go to school and know that you will be safe. If you read this and wonder about what school to send your child to, I would strongly suggest that you send your child to Summit Christian School for the best education.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 44%
Hispanic 18% 24%
Black 15% 29%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (561) 640-7613

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4900 Summit Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL 33415
Phone: (561) 686-8081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizons Christian Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Holy Name Of Jesus
West Palm Beach, FL


Berkshire Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Melaleuca Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Forest Hill Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Pine Jog Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT