Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Beach Maritime Academy

Charter | K-10 | 735 students

We are best known for maritime activities, academics.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2012

I am so disappointed that my husband and I made the decision to send our son to this school. While the building is new, the administration's failure to keep my child safe is appalling. On two occasions he was physically hurt by a peer, told a staff member ( including the nurse) and I was not contacted by anyone. There is no supervision during lunch, the children do not have recess and there are way more than the average number of students in a classroom. The principal is harsh and minimizes major concerns of parents. The aftercare staff is a joke, especially the "director" Natasha. She is rude and does not contribute anything to enrich the students' educational experience. The saving grace has been his teacher Mrs Barry who has been patient, kind and has been the only person to effectively communicate with me. She deserves to work for a much better school!!!! Overall I regret having my son attend this school and he will not return next year. In fact I plan on contacting the district, the media and whoever else it takes to shed light in this horrendous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

My daughter just started 6th grade at PBMA and she just loves it there ! I just love all her teachers and I also love the fact that you can check your child`s grades , homework ect. on their online Jupiter Grades it`s awesome . We are very happy !! By the way she`s straight A`s :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

I do not understand where all this positive rating is coming from. I have never experienced a more disorganized, old and filthy school in my life. There is no creativity in this school. White walls, no pictures or posters. Tiny classroom, dark and cramped. Cafeteria has a section closed off for use as a classroom because they do not have enough space. Teachers are on carts because they dont have their own classroom. Spanish and Music only half hour per week. New move, new building but no improvement. After 13 years they do not have a PTA. The Principal does not go out of her way to keep school open after school hours for parents to volunteer their time for fundraising opportunities for her school. Totally unprofessional manner and behaviour. My daughter started this year she is a straight A student and also I feel terrible doing this to her after school started already, I am pulling her out of Maritime Academy and putting her in one where she will have extra curriculum and sport options. An environment which will stimulate her in a positive way. A school every kid deserves. I can not believe this school is even open. Please do not send your kid to this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I am very greatful my son Isaac has a teacher like Mrs.Rice,And to my Daughter Gennesse, Goodluck to you and the rest of the students,on the FCAT wrighting test today. GO MARITIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The Teachers are caring & the school has a versatile, Close knit Student base & curriculum. Always engaging new topics & learning Advances to improve the Student interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I have two children attending PBMA and a third that will start Kindergarten this year. I think this is an exceptional school and the staff makes a point to know every child attending even if they don't have them in class. My eighth grader did struggle through elementary school at a different school but has excelled at PBMA during his middle school years. I highly recommend this school, especially if you want to partner with the school to get your child the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Palm Beach Maritime Academy is an 'A' rated school dedicated to every student they serve. The faculty and staff have accepted the challenge to use available knowledge and foresight to meet the objective of educating the future generation of citizens who will apply their maritime education in their roles as stewards of the environment. Their goal is clear--to provide every student, regardless of socio-economic background, with an education that prepares them for the finest high schools, colleges and universities bolstered by a keen understanding of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The innovative maritime curriculum ensures that fundamental environmental awareness is based on scientific inquiry, valid information, and siginficant knowledge of both recent discoveries and the work of early scientists. Students paricipate in many hands-on learning activities in the natual 'classroom' that is uniquely available in the coastal region of Palm Beach County. We love Palm Beach Maritime Academy!


Posted April 15, 2010

My son has excelled at the school and loves it there. he enjoys going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I am a parent of two students that have been raised with the PBMA family. Currently my daughter just started Middle School this year and my son graduated into High School. I love the warm environment that my family has experienced. Every teacher and admin member not only personally knows both of my children but take an interest in their wants and needs. The tutoring that the teachers offer after school has been a comfort in preparing my children for FCAT test and such. My son was more than prepared for high school and excels in his new school because of the strong base he was given in the early years. I was thrilled when I did not have to worry about finding a quality middle school for my children. They did not have to go through that rough transition but instead could continue their education with the teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

My child has been attending this school for 3 years. It is a terrible school! The staff is rude to the parents and students. The principle is a women on a power trip and her staff takes her attitude as well. They all act like they hate their jobs and punish everyone around them. The PBMA website states they teach with an emphasis on maritime studies. They do not, unless you consider boating them to Peanut a few times maritime studies. Most of the students that attend here have behavior problems and disrupt the classes. I am amazed by the work my child sends home. I don't even think the teaches look at them. My child has been given high marks on papers that were completely wrong. There is sports or electives like other schools. When reading the reviews please note that all the good ones are from years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Responding to the parent who is upset about 'drama'...As a parent of both a boy and a girl attending PBMA for many years, I have never had this problem or anything like it. I have found through raising teenagers that you sometimes have to let children solve their own problems. I have never found that the school attracts the type of students you say. That is an unfair statement and reflects negatively on my children as well as all the other students there. The students at PBMA have won awards for their academics and for outside activities and are of better character than you'll find at any other middle school. I have always recommended this school to others and will continue with confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

My two children moved into PBMA from a very large and consistently 'A-rated' school in Board County. I felt moving them into a smaller environment would make things easier for them as far as making friends and the learning process. I was wrong. It seems as though children who cannot deal well in the regular public schools often migrate to this one. The school seems to have a pension for the 'dramatic' when it comes to behavior of the students. I do think that most of the teachers are exceptional and are very committed to their students. However, the children that make learning difficult for others and hold back advanced curriculum from being taught can be found in abundance in the classes of these teachers who I believe want to make a difference. My kids were often derailed from the learning process by kids who simply can't do the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

My children have been attending Palm Beach Maritime Academy for the past two years. Their first year went extremely well. They both had amazing teachers who went above and beyond to bring them up to grade level. This year one of my children has ended up with a teacher who has very little tolerance for children with ADHD. The principal apparently doesn't have the time to deal with these type of issues. I also have issues concerning safety of my children at school and on the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

PBMA is a very good alternative to regular district schools. I am pleased with all of the faculty and staff that do a great job with all of the kids. There are some parents that do not realize how lucky we are to have the opportunity to choose a school such as this one. I would like to see more parent involvement next school year. I surprise to hear the school mentioned on the radio. The FCAT scores had gone from C to A. This gives you an idea of how hard the teachers have worked to make our children successful with all of the testing. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

My kids have attended PBMA since they were in kindegarten and I have been nothing but pleased with everything about that school, from staff to curiculum....positivly great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

I would like to give my thanks to the wonderful staff at this school for the help they have given my children. Anytime my kids have a problem the staff are always ready to help. My oldest son had problems with homework, I talked to the teachers about it, and they told me how I could help him to do the work. As a result his grades are improving. Again, thanks for being such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

My neighbor's daughter attends this school and finds it to be top-notch. Her daughter has learned a lot about Marine Studies as well as the basic Academic studies in elemenatry school. A true difference among the plain things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

PBMA has been a secure safe place for my two children to grow up. I love the personal attention that the teacher show my children as well as the idea that the same children follow each other up through middle school. My children have bonded with a great group of friends and have succedded in everything they have tried as a result of a great set of teachers preparing them and helping them build the self esteem needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

I have two children attending this school. I have been impressed with the quality of education my children have received. My son started this school in 6th grade, and he is in his last year. He left elementary making A/B and he has become a straigt A student. This school has qualified and caring teachers and I believe the small class size makes a huge difference. My son has been excepted into two private schools, and IB magnet program. The problem has been choosing from one of the three. My daughter has been at this school for three years. Again, she has excelled and is straight A student. Also, I think is important to know that I have had peace of mind because my kids have been safe at this school. They have strict rules and they don't tolerate any kind of violence. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

I like this school for my child because of its small class size. An the individual attention the teachers have to spend with the students because they don't allow over 25 to a class. So your child is not a number like in public school. The teachers really care about the progress of the students and keep you well informed. The acedemics are no different than going to Public school they have to follow the same guidelines. But they do offer a reading class that will help your child with the FCAT. My child has attended this school for 3 years. I reccommend it to any parent that is looking for the smaller school that has no violence. And a more personal touch to it than public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
White 29%
Black 26%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school The entire county
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High Performing School (2012)
  • Green School of Promise (2013)
  • Principal of the Year National Art Educators (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Community Service (2012)
  • ROV 1st PLace (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 3:15 p.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIE TURCHIARO
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 561-547-3775
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (561) 540-5177

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • high expectations, maritime
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • ROV, Plywood Regatta Competiti
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • ROV/Plywood Regatta Competitio
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • After School Tutoring
  • Art club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Art Honor Society
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer Cafeteria
More from this school
  • Due to small classes in a small school, teachers and administrators know most students by name, and it is much easier to monitor students and troubleshoot problems before they get out of control. Students are expected to adhere to the code of conduct and the dress code, and the safety of our students is primary.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
900
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1000
Students typically come from these schools
The entire county

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
PBC Magnet and regular programs throughout the county
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1518 W. Lantana Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33462
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 547-3775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


South Olive Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL



The Elles School
Lake Worth, FL


Unity for Kids
Lake Worth, FL


Unity For Kids
Lake Worth, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT