Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Beach Maritime Academy

Charter | K-10 | 735 students

We are best known for maritime activities, academics.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Horrible staff, especially the receptionist, she is very unprofessional and very rude, she does how to do her job, no communication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

Horrible experience... No communication. I was told my child would be able to enrolled and all paperwork was provided. They invited us to do a tour, talked to the teacher, give us the list of supplies to buy etc... to find out 24 hours before school starts that my chid was on a waiting list. Now she won't be able to start school on time. Not the best way to give a good reputation to a charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

PBMA is a great place to work, everyone here is friendly and approachable. You are welcome to share your input and ideas for school involvement. They have a great FCAT rating and overall great program from KG to high school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2014

That is correct - we do not let parents volunteer in the classrooms. It is our feeling that students deserve some privacy and I've unfortunately had incidents where parents in the "parking lot" comment on which child doesn't read very well or who got into trouble that day. While many parents wouldn't think of doing something like that, it has happened on several occasions and the children and their feelings, in my opinion, are the ones I need to consider first. As for opportunities to volunteer, parents volunteer for way more than field trips, although they seem to like that the most! We have parents doing Book Fair, Picture Day, Lunch Duty, Graduation, and Fundraisers. We also try not to make too many demands on our parents in terms of time because many have difficulty taking a day off. I hope this helps...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2014

Parents are not allowed to do any volunteer work in the classroom. There is no parent involvement allowed except for field trips. Parent pick up is a headache.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

My experience with this school has been okay. I have an eighth grader and I was going to send my twins there next year for kindergarten but am re-thinking that. They are just so un-organized and do not have their act together. I just feel as thought they grew too big too fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Palm Beach Maritime Academy is an excellent school. The children are happy there. The teachers do a great job.I hear from the children how the teachers and even the principal are always there, always around, talking with them, encouraging them. As a parent that makes me feel good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son attended Palm Beach Maritime Academy for the first time last year. After comparing what his new school offers and the organization skills of this brand new charter school all I can say is thank goodness he is out of PBMA. Not all of the teachers show respect to the students as well as the parents. If you complain they will make it worst for you and your child. Some of the outrageous behavior from the teachers is so incredible that I don't know if I wrote it all down anyone would even believe it. There is no accountability so they do whatever they want. There are no sports programs, a terrible after school program and No parent teacher organization. The posts about Jupiter grades and communication to a parent are understatements. Some of the teachers post a whole semester of grades at the very end so if your child is having difficulties its to late to do anything. One teacher told me she has children at home and doesn't have time to do them. If you pick up and drop off your child, that is a whole experience in itself! The traffic getting into the school is incredible. I hope that they make improvements this year but this review is what they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Best school ever. My son is so excited to go back for his 4th year at the school. Teachers, Admins, and staff are all tops. The school releases weekly videos and almost daily updates via facebook and website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

The problems with the school flow from the top down. The administration barely communicates with the teachers and other staff. Often expectations are not shared and therefore unmet. The administration treats each day as though it is a series of emergencies to put out, many of which can be avoided by some careful planning. For example, uniform distribution last year was a joke, because about an hour before open house, someone remembered that parents would expect uniforms, and it became an emergency. There are two levels of customer service: one for the parent whose kids have been there since the early days and a different one for newbie parents. If you are considered problematic, you'll be ignored. The opening of the high school concerns me because I think the problems that exist now will be amplified. All in all, i think this is a good school if your child is a good student, but if you, your child, or your family needs any special consideration, look elsewhere! Oh, and there is no pto or pta, simply because the administrator can't handle working with parents. Teachers may appear disorganized and indifferent but that is a symptom of a larger problem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2013

I would not recommend this school. The teachers do what they want with little accountability to the Administration. They have good systems in place but only a few good teachers follow them. The communication between parents and teachers is lacking greatly. In all fairness there are some good teachers at this school but equally, not so great. There are no programs for sports and getting into and out of the school everyday to pick your child up is a nightmare. They have a good online system with Jupiter Grades so parents can know whats going on with their children but only half of the teachers use it. There are also some bad attitudes from the staff towards the parents that tend to spill over to how your child is treated. Some of the things they say and do are very concerning. I think the school could improve a lot but making all of the teachers accountable and be on one system that the administration puts in place. My child will not be coming back to PBMA and I think that they need to address many issues to be a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

Palm Beach Maritime Academy is an excellent school. The children are happy there. The teachers do a great job. The school has EARNED an excellent academic reputation. I m sorry for the parents who have had bad experiences here. That has not been my experience. This is an excellent school and it is because of the leadership. I hear from the children how the teachers and even the principal are always there, always around, talking with them, encouraging them. As a parent that makes me feel good. I want the school staff to be supportive and attentive to my child. That my daughter receives a good education, feels comfortable, safe and even happy at her school is the best I could hope for. That s what we have here. As someone else mentioned, the tone is set from the top down and in this case the top, the principal has created and maintained a great school. Thank you M s T and Staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I am a parent of a middle school child I cannot begin to express my extreme disappointment in this school. I would NEVER recommend this school to any parent. The communication, as stated numerous times below, well... there is no communication. The principal minimizes major concerns of parents, that is when you do get to finally speak to her or any members of the staff. And as to the comment of weekly letters and video update, what does that have to do with concerns directly related to a child? I waited over a month to get a response from a teacher regarding a missing assignment that was showing up on Jupitergrades. Let's talk about Jupitergrades.. it would be helpful and nice if the teachers actually used it and updated it. One teacher in particular had not updated my child's grade in over a month. There is a homework tab but if the teachers do not utilize it, what's the point? My child will not be going back to this school STAY AWAY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I'm in the 8th grade. I have been a student since 3rd grade. PBMA rocks! Best school ever. What else can I say.


Posted March 9, 2013

I can't believe that someone would site communication as an issue. PBMA provides a weekly letter and Video Update, Monthly Calendar, update website, and my daughter's teach always call back. Don't listen to a hater check out the following links and she what real parents are saying about the school. The school's facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MaritimeAcademy Link to this week's letter and video: http://palmbeachmaritimeacademy.org/pbma/index.php?option=com_content&view=section&layout=blog&id=14&Itemid=83 PBMA has been a blessing for my little girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I use to say this was a great school. However, since they have moved they have become a nightmare. I think the main problem is communication. This school is sadly lacking. You leave a message for administration to call. (they are never available when you call) you never get a call back. Teachers are no better. My son was missing homework. No teacher thought I should know (NO it did not show that on Jupiter grades) until he was missing 70 pages yes 70. The school nurse thinks she knows more than the doctor and gives my child messages to give me instead of picking up a phone and calling me. This school should have stayed small I think they lost something as they grew and now I would not recommend this school to anyone. Infact I am counting the days until my 8th grader is out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

My children attend this school for the 1st year. We have always had our children in charter schools but not in the state of FL. Everything at the school seemed great until i made a complaint about my children stating their after school care teachers were cursing in font of my children and I didn't appreciate paying for my children to hear this language... that we try so hard to keep them away from. My daughter now claims that they are mean to her brother and that the Director Natasha hates him but she loves her. I was so very sad to hear this. My son is such a sweet boy that is now being punished for coming forward with something her heard from this director. Unfortunately no daycare's in the area pick up from the school and we must utilize the aftercare. Its hurts me to make them go but we really love the school teachers...really wish they could do something about the aftercare being a little safer and loose this director that obviously doesn't care for kids :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

My son was so happy with going to school untill the day another student punched him in his stomach more then once in the lunch room and he told one of the employees and they did nothing I went to the school to speak to the princple and can you believe they said she was to busy to speak to me when all she kept doing was walking back and fourth infront of me while i spoke with someone else to give my report then they said they would get back with me but NEVER did so I had to call more then once for someone to tell me they still have to check cameras but if I worked in that school or is friends with someone their I bet they would have done something right away but for anyone else nope Then when I spoke to someone they said they would CALL ME back but guess what still havent recieved a call they had the teacher write a note that SAME child that punched my son CHOKED another child in the same class and they had us read and sighn the HANDBOOK but for what they dont follow it this is what the handbook But which NOTHING was done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

My daughter is in 8th grade and she thinks PBMA is "the Best School Ever!" What else can I say...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I am so disappointed that my husband and I made the decision to send our son to this school. While the building is new, the administration's failure to keep my child safe is appalling. On two occasions he was physically hurt by a peer, told a staff member ( including the nurse) and I was not contacted by anyone. There is no supervision during lunch, the children do not have recess and there are way more than the average number of students in a classroom. The principal is harsh and minimizes major concerns of parents. The aftercare staff is a joke, especially the "director" Natasha. She is rude and does not contribute anything to enrich the students' educational experience. The saving grace has been his teacher Mrs Barry who has been patient, kind and has been the only person to effectively communicate with me. She deserves to work for a much better school!!!! Overall I regret having my son attend this school and he will not return next year. In fact I plan on contacting the district, the media and whoever else it takes to shed light in this horrendous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
White 29%
Black 26%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school The entire county
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High Performing School (2012)
  • Green School of Promise (2013)
  • Principal of the Year National Art Educators (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Community Service (2012)
  • ROV 1st PLace (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 3:15 p.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIE TURCHIARO
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 561-547-3775
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (561) 540-5177

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • high expectations, maritime
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Creole
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • ROV, Plywood Regatta Competiti
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • ROV/Plywood Regatta Competitio
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • After School Tutoring
  • Art club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Art Honor Society
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer Cafeteria
More from this school
  • Due to small classes in a small school, teachers and administrators know most students by name, and it is much easier to monitor students and troubleshoot problems before they get out of control. Students are expected to adhere to the code of conduct and the dress code, and the safety of our students is primary.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
900
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1000
Students typically come from these schools
The entire county

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
PBC Magnet and regular programs throughout the county
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1518 W. Lantana Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33462
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 547-3775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


South Olive Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL



The Elles School
Lake Worth, FL


Unity for Kids
Lake Worth, FL


Unity For Kids
Lake Worth, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT