Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-10
Public charter
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palm Beach Maritime Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a great school. As a parent, I like that students have more individualized attention because the school community is smaller than typical Palm Beach County middle and high schools. The school provides tutoring throughout the school year at no cost to the parent. Discipline is fair and appropriate. Bullying is taken VERY seriously here and students feel safe and valued. Teachers make educating your child their top priority and are quick to discourage classroom disruptions that may interfere with the educational environment. My son, Austin, went to PBMA for 5 years and he had some behavioral issues there. I was so grateful that his teachers didn't just discipline but helped to teach him the correct behavior. It is heartbreaking to see students posting negative reviews simply because they were disciplined.

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a great school. As a parent, I like that students have more individualized attention because the school community is smaller than typical Palm Beach County middle and high schools. The school provides tutoring throughout the school year at no cost to the parent. Discipline is fair and appropriate. Bullying is taken VERY seriously here and students feel safe and valued. Teachers make educating your child their top priority and are quick to discourage classroom disruptions that may interfere with the educational environment. My son, Austin, went to PBMA for 5 years and he had some behavioral issues there. I was so grateful that his teachers didn't just discipline but helped to teach him the correct behavior. It is heartbreaking to see students posting negative reviews simply because they were disciplined.


Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime is a awful school. The teachers are the most ridiculous things at that school. There is teachers that give out detentions And parent notification for the most ridiculous reasons. This school needs teachers that will be there to help them and make them feel comfortable not come home and complain about how they hate school and the teachers unlike. I hope that they take this comment into consideration and let it soak in please and thank you!

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is absolutely terrible. I am a student at this school and can't wait to get out. The teacher's treat most kids like a dog and if there is a bullying issue the APs', teachers', and the principal ignore it. It would be a terrible idea to send your child here. It's more of a prison then a school

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
This is an OUTSTANDING school!! From the security patrol, front desk, cafeteria lady's, teachers, and of course the Big Boss Ms. T. Everyone has a passion to teach, care for the children and most importantly Parents and the concerns they might feel. Ms. G
4 people found this helpful


Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Horrible staff, especially the receptionist, she is very unprofessional and very rude, she does how to do her job, no communication
5 people found this helpful

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
Horrible experience... No communication. I was told my child would be able to enrolled and all paperwork was provided. They invited us to do a tour, talked to the teacher, give us the list of supplies to buy etc... to find out 24 hours before school starts that my chid was on a waiting list. Now she won't be able to start school on time. Not the best way to give a good reputation to a charter school.
3 people found this helpful

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a teacher
PBMA is a great place to work, everyone here is friendly and approachable. You are welcome to share your input and ideas for school involvement. They have a great FCAT rating and overall great program from KG to high school.
2 people found this helpful


Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a teacher
That is correct - we do not let parents volunteer in the classrooms. It is our feeling that students deserve some privacy and I've unfortunately had incidents where parents in the "parking lot" comment on which child doesn't read very well or who got into trouble that day. While many parents wouldn't think of doing something like that, it has happened on several occasions and the children and their feelings, in my opinion, are the ones I need to consider first. As for opportunities to volunteer, parents volunteer for way more than field trips, although they seem to like that the most! We have parents doing Book Fair, Picture Day, Lunch Duty, Graduation, and Fundraisers. We also try not to make too many demands on our parents in terms of time because many have difficulty taking a day off. I hope this helps...
4 people found this helpful

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
Parents are not allowed to do any volunteer work in the classroom. There is no parent involvement allowed except for field trips. Parent pick up is a headache.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palm Beach Maritime Academy
1518 W. Lantana Road, West Palm Beach, FL  33462
(561) 547-3775
Last modified Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palm Beach Maritime Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top