Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,128 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
I applied for my kids this school year and all I got was the runaround with paperwork, then a letter denying their admittance. The receptionist was clearly unorganized, calling me two weeks AFTER I went in person to drop off every piece of paperwork to tell me that I hadn't. She told me I was missing a page from my kids' physicals. I told her that they were in the packet, that she had copied it when I was down there in person. She was very rude and said 'Well, I must not have copied that page, so you need to bring it back down so I can copy it'. When I called to check on the paperwork, I spoke with her and she said that everything was in for that two weeks (as it was getting closer to the school year to begin and I wanted to make sure my kids were enrolled), then she calls me and tells me I am missing paperwork. She spoke like she didn't remember speaking to me AT ALL and had no idea who I was. Based on this treatment for someone who hasn't even enrolled yet, I can't imagine the headaches we would have had if my kids went there.

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I put my daughter in the elemntery school this year and it has been a terrible experience so far. She went from being ahead of her class to not being on track for promotion now. Her class is way behind the rest of the 3rd graders. They claimed on her report card that she doesn't participate which I know is a total lie. She is very outgoing. Everyday she comes home and says the teaches yell. She has actually come home with a headache. They constantly threaten the kids with detentions and referrals. Her teacher prior to the one she has now speaks inappropriately saying things like "Jesus Christ ... This and that". I thought I was doing my child a favor by putting her in this school. Now, I am worried that if I pull her out and put her in the school we are zoned for she will be too far behind and won't be able to catch up. This school is a joke. The teachers have lost control and respect from the children! I'm beyond disappointed.


Palm Beach Maritime Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
They yell and threaten the kids with detentions and referrals. They are k-5th. They should be setting better examples. They speak to the kids very inappropriately!

Palm Beach Maritime Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Swenson Thank you You have compassion, concern, and empathy for every child who crosses your path!!

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
I have watched my child grow in the 3 years she has been in this school. When I was concerned about an issue I spoke up and discussed it with the appropriate people. They handled the problem. When they deserved a thank you or a great job I did that too!! Become involved in your children's school. Get to know the people that make up this great school. Teaching isn't easy. With parent support it changes everything!!


Palm Beach Maritime Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a great school. As a parent, I like that students have more individualized attention because the school community is smaller than typical Palm Beach County middle and high schools. The school provides tutoring throughout the school year at no cost to the parent. Discipline is fair and appropriate. Bullying is taken VERY seriously here and students feel safe and valued. Teachers make educating your child their top priority and are quick to discourage classroom disruptions that may interfere with the educational environment. My son, Austin, went to PBMA for 5 years and he had some behavioral issues there. I was so grateful that his teachers didn't just discipline but helped to teach him the correct behavior. It is heartbreaking to see students posting negative reviews simply because they were disciplined.

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a great school. As a parent, I like that students have more individualized attention because the school community is smaller than typical Palm Beach County middle and high schools. The school provides tutoring throughout the school year at no cost to the parent. Discipline is fair and appropriate. Bullying is taken VERY seriously here and students feel safe and valued. Teachers make educating your child their top priority and are quick to discourage classroom disruptions that may interfere with the educational environment. My son, Austin, went to PBMA for 5 years and he had some behavioral issues there. I was so grateful that his teachers didn't just discipline but helped to teach him the correct behavior. It is heartbreaking to see students posting negative reviews simply because they were disciplined.

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
Palm Beach Maritime is a awful school. The teachers are the most ridiculous things at that school. There is teachers that give out detentions And parent notification for the most ridiculous reasons. This school needs teachers that will be there to help them and make them feel comfortable not come home and complain about how they hate school and the teachers unlike. I hope that they take this comment into consideration and let it soak in please and thank you!


Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is absolutely terrible. I am a student at this school and can't wait to get out. The teacher's treat most kids like a dog and if there is a bullying issue the APs', teachers', and the principal ignore it. It would be a terrible idea to send your child here. It's more of a prison then a school

Palm Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Horrible staff, especially the receptionist, she is very unprofessional and very rude, she does how to do her job, no communication

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palm Beach Maritime Academy
1518 W. Lantana Road, West Palm Beach, FL  33462
(561) 547-3775
Last modified Palm Beach Maritime Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palm Beach Maritime Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top