Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berean Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 640 students

We are best known for spiritual atmosphere.
 
 

 

Living in West Palm Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2007

I have 2 boys attending BCS. We are thrilled with every aspect of the school, and the families attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I currently have two boys attending BCS. I find the teachers my children have had so far are exceptional. There is a lot of one and one. Teachers have always been happy and willing to carve out time to discuss my kids progress, needs and their overall well being. There are issues at BCS as in any other school, some of the discipline I don't always agree with. However in this day and age I would rather have there discipline than non at all. There are definitely clicks, & issues, however the overall education my boys are getting is wonderful. As long as I am able my boys will always be Bulldogs. Don't just take my word. Check it out for your self. Academics, excellent, discipline is strict, but look at the world we are living in. It is definitely needed. God speed-Always a Bulldog.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

All 3 of my children are in Berean Christian School and I am extremely happy with the spiritual training, academics, sports and leadership skills they are learning. All of these are done in a loving and caring environment. The staff are very accessible and are genuinely interested in my children as individuals. My two oldest children graduated from a public school where they had good AP academics but lacked in all other areas. And I never had the accessibility to staff or felt they genuinely cared about my children. I recommend this school to anyone who is seeking a Christian based education with strong emphasis on academics and personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

My son has attended Berean for several years and we love it. He is getting an excellent, college-preparatory education. There is a variety of elective classes and extra-curricular activities to choose from, and since it's a smaller school the kids can join and excel in more than just one activity at a time. The administrators and teachers are very good, and they really care about the students - lots of individual attention. The school's discipline policy is fair and, unlike at many other schools, actually enforced. I've observed that the students who can't handle the school's discipline policy are usually products of parents who aren't doing their job training and disciplining the kids at home in the first place. Parental involvement and responsibility are always encouraged at Berean. Most important of all, my child is getting spiritual instruction about the Bible and living for Christ. We love BCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I'm the parent of 2 children who attend Berean. I can't say enough about this school! My children have attended since K2, and will remain at Berean until they graduate! The teachers are always giving 110% of themselves. Academics far exceed what is offered elsewhere. Children are encouraged to succeed, disciplined with positive reenforcement, and parent participation is strongly encouraged. This is a team effort, and I can't think of better people to be on my team! We feel like the teachers/staff are part of our extended family. The staff truly love the children. The sports program is tailored for each level (elementary, middle, high), and is ran very efficient. Most importantly, my children are taught the Lord's word. The staff at Berean are some of the most Godly people I have met. You will not be disappointed with Berean. It is a blessing to be a bulldog!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Berean Christian does it right! This Christ centered school focuses on the 'whole' child. My child who is in 7th grade is a living testimony of all that is right in Christian Education. My child has been at BCS since Pre-K and is excelling in some many ways. The teachers at the school are truly dedicated and interested in teaching cutting edge academics even when it is difficult. Berean has established itself as an educator that will not bend to outside influences, but maintain quality that is stretching far beyond the normal realms of education. I plan to keep my child at Berean through high school, because they produce quality citizens and young adults that will make a difference in this world. My oldest daughter will be graduating this year and she has received a Florida bright futures scholarship, and I thank BCS for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My three children have attended Berean Christian School for the last 5 years and I am thrilled with the education and solid biblical training they are recieving! From the vigorous academics to the excellent after school programs and the family-like atmosphere on campus - I couldn't ask for more in a school. We are blessed to be a part of the Bulldog family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

'I think Berean has problems just like any school, but the main thing is they are putting effort in to bring honor and glory to God. There are many new teachers this year, who I've felt have been better for the school. They are pushing in the right direction with their academics, athletics, and spiritual growth. I feel parents can be to nitpicky about the silly things. I want my kids to be somewhere they may feel loved. I feel there is that environment at BCS.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

My daughter attended Berean's K5 program, which I found to be EXCELLENT. So much so that after experiencing public education, for a couple years, we returned both our children to Berean. To my dismay, curriculum, and teacher involvement, are now sub par. More disturbing, I find that their form of discipline is discouraging by any standards, and emphasis seems to be placed on the wrong things. The children are not allowed to be children. Everything little thing they do results in a card turn or a color change. In my opinion, this nit-picking could eventually lead to low self esteem because it is then deemed that they can't do anything right. The teachers don't seem to take the time to notify parents of academic issues until they are too late. And honestly, I'm just disappointed all the way around. My children will not be returning for the 2007-2008 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Both of my children attended Berean Christian for 7 years.In the beginning the school was great with their academics.The last three years were not good at all. My daughter was valedictorian and was penalized for speaking her mind and standing up for underclassmen.My son was overlooked for academic excellent in his subject even though he took top honors for his 8th grade class. When administration found out he would not be returning his 9th grade year, they chose not to award him any subject honor because he was leaving the school. As for the review of there are no cliques, I don't know what this person has seen or heard. They do exist there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

I graduated from Berean in 2006, and time changes things. When I started there in sixth grade, I loved it. The teachers were great and academics were challenging. Time went on and administration changed. Academics became of poor quality and many teachers seemed to have a feigned relationship with God. The AP classes listed on the site here were taken online through Florida Virtual School, as Berean has none on site. I had to take 5 courses online with FLVS to prepare myself for college coursework at UM.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2007

Would have been a great school if they had more supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I had my 2 sons at Berean for two years and have since left. One in their elementary and in in high school. My family was extreamly disapointed with their program. Their accademic standards are set painfuly low. From what I can tell Berean is cutting corners by pushing their sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

The academic programs are good for your students if they listen to the teachers. The teachers and students all have great character and there are no cliques or groups with hate there. The afterschool activities are quickly growing and help the children to get to know eachother
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Black 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school All
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 92% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Central Florida
Palm Beach State College
Florida Atlantic University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Merit Scholar Finalist (2011)
  • National Merit Scholar (2014)
  • Best of the West PrivateSchool (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • William Dupere
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • FACCS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (561) 792-3073

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • AP classes on campus
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag Football
  • Football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • BCS is a ministry of Grace Fellowship, an independent local church that has a heart for people of all nations. Berean Christian School is a college preparatory school that has been serving the western Palm Beach communities with excellence in education since 1964. Berean offers quality education with spiritual emphasis, a strong athletic program, and reasonable tuition. BCS has over 600 students ranging in age from our 2 year old preschoolers to our high school seniors. BCS is fully accredited by ACSI as well as Advanced Ed, is a member of Christian Schools of Palm Beach County, and FHSAA.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
152
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
185
Students typically come from these schools
All

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Florida
Flroida Atlantic University
Out of State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 4%
4 year college - 92%
Military - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8350 Okeechobee Blvd
West Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 798-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Turning Points Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Indian Ridge School
West Palm Beach, FL


The King's Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Conklin International Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Royal Palm Beach High School
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT